Reviews

9.5
Date: Jul 28th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic Platinum Series 1200 W

Seasonic recently added a new high-end model to their arsenal, a 1200 W unit with Platinum efficiency, extraordinary performance, semi-passive operation, and a fully modular cabling design. This PSU is one of the best we ever tested and teaches manufacturers a lesson in how to push analog circuits to their limits.

8.8
Date: Jul 21st 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Rosewill Capstone Modular 1000 W

Rosewill built up a solid reputation over the last few years, especially for PSUs, where things are tough because of the strong competition. In this review, we will evaluate the Capstone series' flagship model. It features 1 kW capacity, a semi-modular design, and a nice price tag. Our expectations are high because the unit is based on a Super Flower platform.

9.1
Date: Jul 15th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Silverstone Nightjar 520 W

Silverstone has been offering fanless PSUs for quite some time; however, they hadn’t released a relevant product for some years now, which changed recently as their Nightjar fanless series now includes the NJ520 with Platinum efficiency, a fully modular cabling design, and a promise of total silence.

9.2
Date: Jul 7th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Antec High Current Pro Platinum 850 W

We are testing the smallest member of the Antec HCP family with 850 W capacity and Platinum efficiency. The unit promises very high build quality, top-notch performance, and high efficiency, so stay tuned to find out more.

8.7
Date: Jun 25th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Deepcool Quanta DQ1250 1250 W

Another high-end Platinum PSU, this time by Deepcool, the DQ Series 1250 W unit uses a high-end platform with incredible performance, Platinum efficiency, and low noise output. Especially the latter is something not often seen in such a strong PSU, so stay tuned if you want to learn more about this product.

9.3
Date: Jun 17th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 850 W

We already tested its smaller brother, and it performed incredibly well, so it is nigh time for the SuperNOVA G2-850 to be put to the test, to show what EVGA has in store for this very hot market segment. Like all other G2 units, this one is based on Super Flower's Leadex platform, offers Gold efficiency, and comes with a fully modular cabling design.

8.7
Date: Jun 10th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
XFX XTR Series 650 W

We evaluate the XTR-650 of XFX’s fully modular XTR series in today's review. This PSU is Haswell compatible and comes with Gold-certified efficiency, and its hybrid fan operation has it operate quietly. Using quality components, it also promises to perform incredibly well while being very reliable.

9.9
Date: May 26th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair AXi Series 1500 W

Corsair is first to release an 80 Plus Titanium-certified PSU, which is the flagship of their top-notch AXi line. The AX1500i is the best PSU we ever tested, and at 1.5 kW, it is strong enough for an incredibly powerful system with a four-way SLI or Crossfire configuration.

8.8
Date: May 14th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic G Series V2 550 W

Seasonic decided to silently update their G-550 model to add Haswell support. The company did not change the model number, but did add a Haswell-ready badge to the box. The G-550 is an affordable product for users on a tight budget who, want a reliable PSU with great performance for a mid-level system.

9.5
Date: May 5th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Cooler Master V Series Platinum 1200 W

Cooler Master decided to unleash a big beast onto the PSU market by again teaming up with Seasonic and releasing their V series flagship, the V1200. It not only comes with a high capacity, but also sports Platinum efficiency, a fully modular design, and a hybrid fan mode option that turns this unit into a silent beast at low loads.

8.3
Date: Apr 30th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Bitfenix Fury Gold 750 W

Bitfenix decided to enter the PSU market, and today, we have the chance to look at the flagship of their Fury series. It has a capacity of 750 W, is 80 Plus Gold certified, and features individually sleeved cables of high quality and stunning looks.

8.6
Date: Apr 23rd 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
SilentiumPC Supremo M1 700 W

SilentiumPC is a fresh Polish company that was established in 2007. Today, we will take a look at their first Platinum PSU, the Supremo M1-700 with high efficiency, semi-passive operation for lower noise output, and a semi-modular cabling design.

9.3
Date: Apr 14th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750 W

EVGA is expanding their high-end SuperNOVA G2 series by releasing two mid-capacity units with 750 W and 850 W maximum output power. Today, we will evaluate the G2-750 with Gold efficiency, a fully modular cabling design, and selectable semi-passive operation, which renders it totally inaudible at lower loads.

9.6
Date: Apr 9th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Super Flower Leadex Platinum 1200 W

The Leadex Platinum 1200 W will hit our test bench today. It features 80 Plus Platinum efficiency, a fully modular cabling design, and promises to perform wonderfully while producing hardly any noise by utilizing an excellent platform and a semi-passive operation user can swap to by flipping a switch.

8.7
Date: Apr 2nd 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic S12G 450 W

Seasonic is one of the best PSU OEMs and has lately been trying to improve its presence in the mainstream and lower-end segments by releasing affordable products. Today, we will evaluate the S12G 450 W which is essentially a G series PSU without modular cables.

7.7
Date: Mar 21st 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Silverstone Strider Essential ST60F-ESB 600 W

Silverstone offers many different PSUs and has lately enriched its portfolio with several new units, including two Strider Essential ones. We will put the ST60F-ESB to the test: It, in an effort to be as affordable as possible, is 80 Plus Bronze certified and comes with nothing but native cables that have mostly been left unsleeved.

8.8
Date: Mar 14th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
be quiet! Power Zone 850 W

be quiet! has gained a good reputation among noise-sensitive users who also treasure reliability and high performance. We will review the Power Zone 850 W: It is the second strongest of its line, offers a fully modular design, and sports Bronze efficiency. This PSU is also equipped with a high quality SilentWings fan.

9.5
Date: Mar 7th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Antec High Current Pro Platinum 1300 W

Antec, a major player when it comes to PSUs, recently reinforced its flagship High Current Pro series with a new unit, the HCP-1300. The Bitcoin mining craze probably contributed to the release of this 1300 W PSU that is Platinum certified, fully modular, and backed by a seven year warranty.

9.3
Date: Feb 27th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Super Flower Leadex Gold 750 W

Super Flower is hammering the PSU market with incredibly interesting products, and they have now sent us a mid-capacity unit based on the excellent Leadex platform. The Leadex Gold 750 W unit features Gold efficiency, a fully modular cabling design with the crystal-cube connectors particular to the series, and the option for a semi-passive operation.

8.6
Date: Feb 19th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Xigmatek Vector P Series 700 W

It has taken Xigmatek some time to release their fresh Vector P line, having two members with Platinum efficiency. Today, we will take a look at the P700: It features a semi-modular cabling design, promises ultra-silent operation, and exploits the Reverse Thrust Fan technology to avoid internal dust build up.

8.6
Date: Feb 7th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Antec TruePower Classic Series 750 W

Today we are taking a look at Antec's TruePower Classic 750 W unit. The strongest of the series, its efficiency is Gold-certified. It also utilizes a non-modular cabling design to be as affordable as possible.

8.5
Date: Jan 20th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Silverstone Strider Gold S Series 750 W

Silverstone has a rich portfolio of PSU offerings and recently released a new line, the Strider Gold S series, which includes the world’s smallest fully modular ATX PSUs. We will take a look at the ST75F-GS unit, having Gold efficiency and Silverstone's great look.

9.5
Date: Jan 13th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Super Flower Leadex Gold 1300 W

Super Flower raised the bar even higher than before with their new Platinum and Gold Leadex PSUs. We will take a look at their strongest PSU offering, the Leadex Gold 1300 W. This unit features a fully modular cabling design with LED lit connectors, a single +12V rail, and a selectable semi-passive operation for completely silent operation at low loads.

8.9
Date: Jan 2nd 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
be quiet! Power Zone 1000 W

Today, we will test the strongest member of be quiet!’s latest series, the Power Zone line. With 1000 W capacity and six PCIe connectors, it will easily handle a high-end gaming system. The PSU can even power and thermally control up to three case fans, which contributes to the quiet operation of your entire system.

8.6
Date: Dec 23rd 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair CS Series Modular 650 W

Corsair recently added another line, the CS-M, to their rich portfolio. Today, we will evaluate the CS650M: it features compact dimensions and a semi-modular cabling design. The PSU is also 80 Plus Gold certified and has a single +12V rail that can deliver up to 51 A of current.