Reviews

8.9
Date: Feb 15th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Fractal Design NEWTON R3 1000 W

Today, we will look at Fractal Design's fresh Newton R3 1000 W power supply. The press loves their cases, but Fractal PSUs haven't knocked anyone's socks off yet. Can their first Platinum efficiency unit change things for the better?

8.7
Date: Feb 11th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Aerocool GT-SG 700 W

Aerocool enters the high-end PSU market with their fresh GT-SG PSU series. It offers great looks, Gold efficiency, modular cables, and quiet operation. In this review, we will take a detailed look at the GT-SG unit with a capacity of 700 W - Aerocool's medium capactiy member of the series.

8.3
Date: Feb 4th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
SilverStone Strider Plus ST60F-PS 600 W

Silverstone has a rich portfolio of PSU products, which became even richer with the addition of the Strider Plus 600 W unit: one of the shortest ATX PSUs available on the market. This one exploits a fully modular design, which greatly simplifies the installation process, something many users will appreciate.

8.9
Date: Jan 28th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
PC Power & Cooling Silencer MK III 750 W

PC Power & Cooling decided to enrich their Silencer MK3 line with two new units of 750 W and 850 W capacity. Today, we will fully test the 750 W unit featuring a semi-modular cabling design, Gold efficiency, selectable hybrid fan operation and a nice white color.

8.9
Date: Jan 2nd 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Rosewill SilentNight 500 W

Rosewill just introduced their first passive cooling PSU: the SilentNight 500 W made by Super Flower. It offers Platinum efficiency, high performance, and noise output at close to zero levels because of the absence of a cooling fan. This unit goes up against some strong competition, but has many interesting features.

9.3
Date: Dec 27th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic X Series 750 W

Despite having new Platinum PSUs available, Seasonic decided to keep some Gold units in their arsenal to provide an alternative to users that want an affordable high-end PSU at competitive pricing. In this review, we will evaluate the Seasonic X-750 that utilizes the company's latest KM3 platform.

9.6
Date: Dec 20th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair AX 860 W

Corsair is hitting the high-end category hard with their excellent AXi and AX units. In a recent review we evaluated the AX760, which amazed us with its features and the performance it registered. Now, the time has come for its stronger sibling, the AX860, to prove its worth against our loaders.

8.0
Date: Dec 14th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Fractal Design Integra R2 750 W

Fractal Design is making a strong re-entry into the PSU market, and their fresh Integra R2 series addresses the budget-oriented users. In this review, we will evaluate the strongest Integra R2 unit; it manages to combine enough power with compact dimensions, since its length is restricted to 140 mm, so it will fit into an extra-small chassis.

8.1
Date: Dec 10th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
EVGA SuperNOVA NEX750G 750 W

After the super expensive NEX1500 Classified, EVGA caught us off-guard by enriching the SuperNOVA series with two budget oriented PSUs featuring Gold efficiency and a fully modular cabling design. Today, we will evaluate the NEX750G with half the capacity of the NEX1500 at a quarter of the price.

9.1
Date: Dec 4th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Rosewill Tachyon 1000 W

Rosewill recently introduced their flagship series named Tachyon, which lists four Platinum efficiency PSUs made by Super Flower. The Tachyon 1000 W is the strongest unit of the series and supports up to three high-end VGAs, thanks to its powerful +12V rail and to the six PCIe connectors it is equipped with.

9.5
Date: Nov 30th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair AX Series 760 W

Corsair's new AX power supplies bring a long awaited refresh to the series. The fresh Corsair AX860 and AX760 PSUs are based on Seasonic's Platinum platform, and we will evaluate the 760 W unit in this review.

Date: Nov 26th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Kingwin Power Force 850 W

A new PSU series, named Power Force, was just added to Kingwin's portfolio. It currently includes only one member with 850 W capacity. The PF-850 features a semi-modular cabling design and Bronze efficiency. With a price tag a little above 100 bucks, it targets the budget oriented user.

Date: Nov 20th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Silverstone Zeus 1350 W

Silverstone decided to bring back their top of the line power supply series named after the "Father of Gods and men". The new Zeus ZM1350 is currently the flagship of Silverstone's PSU offerings, and it promises top of the line performance with 1350W continuous power at 50°C.

Date: Nov 16th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
In Win Commander III 600 W

In Win recently released the third version of their combat PSUs, the Commander III. The new series consists of three members, and today we will take a look at the smallest of them whith 600 W capacity, Gold efficiency, a modular design, and a unique, tactile finish!

9.3
Date: Nov 14th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic Platinum Series Fanless 520 W

Seasonic has decided to upgrade the platforms of their smaller PSU models, which includes the fanless ones. The fresh SS-520FL features Platinum efficiency, increased capacity, and promises sky high efficiency. Read our review to find out how good this new Seasonic PSU is.

9.6
Date: Nov 12th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair AX860i 860 W

A couple of days ago we reviewed the Corsair AX760i, which impressed us with amazing performance. Today we'll evaluate its bigger brother, the AX860i, which should perform equally as good and offer the same features with a little higher capacity.

9.5
Date: Nov 7th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair AX760i 760 W

Corsair's new AX860i and AX760i promise to blow away the competition with their performance and digital (DSP) control. The smaller of the two will be the test subject of this review, and we are eager to see how it will perform on our test bench.

Date: Oct 30th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Silverstone SFX Series ST45SF-G 450 W

With the successful ST45SF counting more than two years in production, it was about time for Silverstone to release its successor, the ST45SF-G. The latter is the strongest SFX PSU and on top of that is the only one in its category that features Gold efficiency and a fully modular cabling.

8.3
Date: Oct 15th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Akasa Venom Power 850 W

Akasa enriched their Venom Power PSU series with two new models, featuring Gold efficiency. Today we will take a detailed look at the Venom 850 W which utilizes semi-modular cable design and has a strong +12V rail that can deliver up to 70 A of current, making it suitable for systems equipped with two high-end VGAs.

Date: Oct 5th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Enermax MAXREVO 1500 W

Recently Enermax enriched their high-end MAXREVO series with the addition of a 1500 W unit. The new MAXREVO 1500 W uses almost the same platform as the Platimax 1500 W and LEPA 1600 W PSUs, so it easily achieves high efficiency throughout all load range along with tremendous power levels.

8.8
Date: Oct 1st 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic G Series 550 W

In this review we will utilize our shiny new Chroma loaders and the Seasonic G-550 will have the honor to be the first PSU tested on them. The G-550 offers Gold efficiency, a semi-modular design, long warranty and promises very good performance. The best part is that all above won't cost you a fortune.

Date: Sep 14th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
In Win GreenMe 650 W

In Win's GreenMe 650 Watt power supply comes with 80PLUS Bronze certifcation and a white paint job. That's about all it offers in unique features, but it provides solid clean power at an extremely competitive price.

Date: Sep 10th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
EVGA SuperNOVA NEX1500 Classified 1500 W

EVGA's new SuperNOVA NEX1500 power supply packs a great deal of features with the most fascinating being its enormous capacity, reaching 1500 W and up to 1650 W, when overclock mode is enabled. Combined with software monitoring and control, the fully modular design and the sleeved cables this is a PSU enthusiast's dream come true.

Date: Sep 5th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
FSP AURUM 92+ 650 W

The FSP AURUM 92+ series was first revealed at CeBIT 2012 and is an update to the successful AURUM series, with the most noteworthy upgrade being the Platinum efficiency. Today we have in our hands the strongest of the AURUM 92+ line, which has 650 W capacity and features a semi-modular design with low profile flat cables.

Date: Sep 3rd 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
LEPA G850-MAS 850 W

Today we will test the strongest PSU of the newly enriched LEPA G Series, which has 850 W capacity and offers 80 Plus Gold efficiency. The G850-MAS also comes with DC-DC converters for the minor rails generation and uses only Japanese-made caps for enhanced reliability.