Reviews

9.3
Date: Apr 21st 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Cooler Master V Series 1000 W

Cooler Master teamed up with Seasonic to make a strong entry into the high-end category where it faces competition using the same OEM (Seasonic). The new V series consists of three models. Today, we will test the strongest one featuring a capacity of 1 kW, a fully modular cabling design, Gold efficiency, and a single +12V rail.

7.8
Date: Apr 15th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Silverstone Strider Essential ST50F-ES 500 W

Silverstone has a rich variety of PSU offerings to cover all market segments and every user's needs. Today, we will take a look at one of their budget PSUs: the Strider Essential ST50F-ES promising good and reliable performance without any extra bells and whistles in order to be as affordable as it gets.

8.1
Date: Mar 25th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Cougar PowerX 550 W

Today, we test our first Cougar PSU, the PowerX-550 that belongs to the mainstream category. It addresses the budget-oriented user looking for a reliable PSU that will get the job done. This unit doesn't include many bells and whistles, but promises a high price/performance ratio.

8.3
Date: Mar 19th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Enermax Triathlor FC 550 W

Enermax, one of the major power supply unit manufacturers, recently introduced their Thriathlor series consisting of mainstream budget-orientated units. This review will look at the entry level modular Thriathlor PSU with 550 W capacity to figure out how it performs against our load testers.

8.2
Date: Mar 13th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Silverstone Strider Gold ST65F-G 650 W

According to Silverstone, the Strider Gold series represents the perfect balance of performance, efficiency, and quality. We will take a look at the mid-level member of the series, the ST65F-G. It can deliver 650 W of power, utilizes a fully modular cabling design, and has an extra small footprint.

9.1
Date: Mar 6th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic Platinum Series Fanless 460 W

Seasonic upgraded their smaller fanless units with the new KM3 platform. Not only does it offer better performance than the KM2 platform, but it also offers the highly sought after Platinum efficiency certification. Today, we will take a look at the fresh fanless unit with 460 W capacity and Platinum efficiency.

9.1
Date: Feb 25th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
NZXT HALE90 V2 1000 W

NZXT released the successor of their flagship HALE90 series, the HALE90 V2. The latter includes three members that retain the same efficiency – Gold - while the competition has already jumped on the Platinum wagon, but it has many interesting features and looks great. In this review, we will look at the HALE90 V2 1000 W.

8.9
Date: Feb 15th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Fractal Design NEWTON R3 1000 W

Today, we will look at Fractal Design's fresh Newton R3 1000 W power supply. The press loves their cases, but Fractal PSUs haven't knocked anyone's socks off yet. Can their first Platinum efficiency unit change things for the better?

8.7
Date: Feb 11th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Aerocool GT-SG 700 W

Aerocool enters the high-end PSU market with their fresh GT-SG PSU series. It offers great looks, Gold efficiency, modular cables, and quiet operation. In this review, we will take a detailed look at the GT-SG unit with a capacity of 700 W - Aerocool's medium capactiy member of the series.

8.3
Date: Feb 4th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
SilverStone Strider Plus ST60F-PS 600 W

Silverstone has a rich portfolio of PSU products, which became even richer with the addition of the Strider Plus 600 W unit: one of the shortest ATX PSUs available on the market. This one exploits a fully modular design, which greatly simplifies the installation process, something many users will appreciate.

8.9
Date: Jan 28th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
PC Power & Cooling Silencer MK III 750 W

PC Power & Cooling decided to enrich their Silencer MK3 line with two new units of 750 W and 850 W capacity. Today, we will fully test the 750 W unit featuring a semi-modular cabling design, Gold efficiency, selectable hybrid fan operation and a nice white color.

8.9
Date: Jan 2nd 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Rosewill SilentNight 500 W

Rosewill just introduced their first passive cooling PSU: the SilentNight 500 W made by Super Flower. It offers Platinum efficiency, high performance, and noise output at close to zero levels because of the absence of a cooling fan. This unit goes up against some strong competition, but has many interesting features.

9.3
Date: Dec 27th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic X Series 750 W

Despite having new Platinum PSUs available, Seasonic decided to keep some Gold units in their arsenal to provide an alternative to users that want an affordable high-end PSU at competitive pricing. In this review, we will evaluate the Seasonic X-750 that utilizes the company's latest KM3 platform.

9.6
Date: Dec 19th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair AX 860 W

Corsair is hitting the high-end category hard with their excellent AXi and AX units. In a recent review we evaluated the AX760, which amazed us with its features and the performance it registered. Now, the time has come for its stronger sibling, the AX860, to prove its worth against our loaders.

8.0
Date: Dec 14th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Fractal Design Integra R2 750 W

Fractal Design is making a strong re-entry into the PSU market, and their fresh Integra R2 series addresses the budget-oriented users. In this review, we will evaluate the strongest Integra R2 unit; it manages to combine enough power with compact dimensions, since its length is restricted to 140 mm, so it will fit into an extra-small chassis.

8.1
Date: Dec 9th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
EVGA SuperNOVA NEX750G 750 W

After the super expensive NEX1500 Classified, EVGA caught us off-guard by enriching the SuperNOVA series with two budget oriented PSUs featuring Gold efficiency and a fully modular cabling design. Today, we will evaluate the NEX750G with half the capacity of the NEX1500 at a quarter of the price.

9.1
Date: Dec 4th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Rosewill Tachyon 1000 W

Rosewill recently introduced their flagship series named Tachyon, which lists four Platinum efficiency PSUs made by Super Flower. The Tachyon 1000 W is the strongest unit of the series and supports up to three high-end VGAs, thanks to its powerful +12V rail and to the six PCIe connectors it is equipped with.

9.5
Date: Nov 30th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair AX Series 760 W

Corsair's new AX power supplies bring a long awaited refresh to the series. The fresh Corsair AX860 and AX760 PSUs are based on Seasonic's Platinum platform, and we will evaluate the 760 W unit in this review.

Date: Nov 25th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Kingwin Power Force 850 W

A new PSU series, named Power Force, was just added to Kingwin's portfolio. It currently includes only one member with 850 W capacity. The PF-850 features a semi-modular cabling design and Bronze efficiency. With a price tag a little above 100 bucks, it targets the budget oriented user.

Date: Nov 20th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Silverstone Zeus 1350 W

Silverstone decided to bring back their top of the line power supply series named after the "Father of Gods and men". The new Zeus ZM1350 is currently the flagship of Silverstone's PSU offerings, and it promises top of the line performance with 1350W continuous power at 50°C.

Date: Nov 16th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
In Win Commander III 600 W

In Win recently released the third version of their combat PSUs, the Commander III. The new series consists of three members, and today we will take a look at the smallest of them whith 600 W capacity, Gold efficiency, a modular design, and a unique, tactile finish!

9.3
Date: Nov 14th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic Platinum Series Fanless 520 W

Seasonic has decided to upgrade the platforms of their smaller PSU models, which includes the fanless ones. The fresh SS-520FL features Platinum efficiency, increased capacity, and promises sky high efficiency. Read our review to find out how good this new Seasonic PSU is.

9.6
Date: Nov 11th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair AX860i 860 W

A couple of days ago we reviewed the Corsair AX760i, which impressed us with amazing performance. Today we'll evaluate its bigger brother, the AX860i, which should perform equally as good and offer the same features with a little higher capacity.

9.5
Date: Nov 7th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair AX760i 760 W

Corsair's new AX860i and AX760i promise to blow away the competition with their performance and digital (DSP) control. The smaller of the two will be the test subject of this review, and we are eager to see how it will perform on our test bench.

Date: Oct 30th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Silverstone SFX Series ST45SF-G 450 W

With the successful ST45SF counting more than two years in production, it was about time for Silverstone to release its successor, the ST45SF-G. The latter is the strongest SFX PSU and on top of that is the only one in its category that features Gold efficiency and a fully modular cabling.