Reviews

Date: May 28th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Huntkey X-MAN 90 W

In today's review we are going to evaluate Huntkey's latest notebook adapter which features a highly reduced footprint, compared to normal power bricks and can deliver up to 90W of power. Also it is compatible with most notebooks on the market and includes also a 5V-2A USB charging port.

Date: May 22nd 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Xilence XQ Series 850 W

Xilence decided that it was high time to refresh their PSU offerings, so lately they enriched their XQ series with three new members, two with Platinum efficiency and the last one with Gold. In this review we will fully test the 850W model which besides the highest possible efficiency rating features a fully modular cabling design and a unique look which differentiates it from all other PSUs.

9.2
Date: May 9th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Super Flower Golden King 650 W

Today we have the Golden King with 650W capacity on our test bench. Like all other Golden King PSUs this one has platinum efficiency and features a semi-modular design along with semi-fanless operation. In our testing we see excellent stability at 12V and very low noise emitted.

8.9
Date: May 2nd 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Rosewill Capstone Modular 750 W

Today we will test the newest PSU offering from Rosewill, Newegg's house brand. The Capstone Modular 750W features Gold efficiency and promises a really interesting review since the OEM behind the new modular Capstone units is Super Flower.

8.7
Date: Apr 23rd 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Enermax Revolution87+ 850 W

Enermax's latest line of PSUs is called Revolution87+, which consists of five members with capacities ranging from 550W to 1000W. All are 80 Plus certified, utilize a semi modular cabling design and are equipped with a twister bearing fan. Today we will evaluate the 850W model which can power up to three high-end VGAs along with other power hungry components.

7.9
Date: Apr 18th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Akasa Venom Power 550 W

Akasa's new Venom Power PSU has 550W capacity, utilizes a semi-modular cabling system and features a single +12V rail. With its affordable price it is one of the cheapest modular units in its segment, which will also help with price/performance.

9.4
Date: Apr 13th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Antec High Current Pro Platinum 1000 W

Antec finally released a new flagship PSU: the High Current Pro Platinum 1000W. The previous generation HCP-1200 was the favorite PSU of most extreme users and overclockers. Its outstanding performance helped to breal many records. Now the new HCP-1000 has to carry on the tradition and prove its worth.

9.1
Date: Apr 10th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Super Flower Golden King 500 W

Today we are going to rigorously test another Super Flower product, the Golden King 500W; a non modular PSU which combines top performance, 80 Plus Platinum efficiency and an affordable price. The cherry on top is the super quiet operation. At low temperatures it can even go fanless.

8.8
Date: Apr 4th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
OCZ FATAL1TY Series 1000 W

OCZ decided to work with the famous gamer Johnathan "Fatal1ty" Wendel to develop a high-end PSU that will meet the specific needs of all gamers in performance, stability and ease of installation. The outcome was the Fatal1ty series 1000W PSU which differs from the rest of the bunch mainly because it features individually sleeved cables.

9.0
Date: Mar 28th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Kingwin Absolute Platinum 550 W

Kingwin's most recent Platinum PSU comes at only $99. Making it the most affordable choice out there if you want to power a typical system the green way, with little power wasted in the PSU. Thanks to a great component design we see record low power consumption, even at just 40W, which is important for systems that are lightly loaded all day.

8.5
Date: Mar 16th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Cooler Master Silent Pro M2 1000 W

Recently Cooler Master decided to update their Silent Pro M series and what better name to choose than Silent Pro M2! The new series includes six new semi-modular PSUs with capacities ranging from 420W to 1000W. All are made by CM's favorite OEM, Enhance electronics, feature a single +12V rail and come with a five year warranty. Today we will evaluate the strongest of the M2s with 1 kW capacity.

9.2
Date: Mar 6th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 1000 W

Kingwin is a company located in the U.S. with presence only in this region. Their product's portfolio includes many noteworthy PSUs with the flagship being the Lazer Platinum Series which consists of five units with Platinum efficiency and top notch performance. In today's review we will test the strongest member of this series, the LZP-1000 which like all LZPs is built by Super Flower, a company that continues to amaze us with their products.

7.7
Date: Mar 2nd 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Thermaltake SMART 730 W

The new Thermaltake SMART series is a value series so it consists of budget units that according to Thermaltake incorporate high-tech components with Eco-friendly credentials. The capacities of the SMART units range from 430W to 730W and in this review we will test the strongest model with 730W capacity.

8.2
Date: Feb 25th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Thortech Thunderbolt Plus 1000 W

In this review we will evaluate Thortech's Thunderbolt Plus 1000W which shares the same cable configuration with its big 1200 W brother, that we recently reviewed. This PSU features a unique aspect, a device called iPower which mounts in a 5.25" bay to display vital statistics like power, current, voltage and efficiency.

8.5
Date: Feb 21st 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Antec HCG-620M 620 W

Antec recently added three new units to their High Current Gamer series. The main difference between these new PSUs and the older ones is that the first utilize a semi-modular cabling design, becoming this way the first members of this series to incorporate this feature. Today we will test the HCG-620M with 620W capacity.

8.2
Date: Feb 16th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Thortech Thunderbolt Plus 1200 W

Thortech's Thunderbolt Plus 1200W is a high-powered 80PLUS Gold certified power supply. One of its unique features is the inclusion of a little 5.25" bay device that displays voltage, power, current and efficiency among others. The unit also has compact dimensions for a 1200W PSU, which means it will fit in all cases.

8.0
Date: Feb 9th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Spire BlackDragon 400 W

Most of you probably know Spire from their cooling solutions and maybe their enclosures. However, the fact is that Spire actually has a rich portfolio of PSU products with capacities ranging from 400W to 1200W (RockIT II). Recently they released a new PSU series, called BlackDragon and they were kind enough to send us the 400W model for review.

8.9
Date: Feb 1st 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Enermax Platimax 1200 W

Here we are again, testing another high-end Enermax unit from the Platimax series. The innovative platform of this unit offers huge power along with Platinum efficiency. Also we find top quality components used along with great build quality.

8.4
Date: Jan 27th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Antec EarthWatts Platinum 650 W

Antec finally decided to enter the Platinum efficiency club with the new EarthWatts Platinum series. These units address all users that just need a high efficiency PSU, with no bells and whistles. This new series creates a new mainstream class of PSUs and is placed between the EarthWatts Green and the High Current Gamer series.

9.5
Date: Jan 24th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Super Flower Golden King 1000 W

Despite the name, the Super Flower Golden King PSUs are 80 Plus Platinum certified. Today we will test the 1000 W flagship model to find out if it has the potential to claim the throne for the best, high capacity, Platinum PSU and put the excellent Seasonic SS-1000XP in second place.

9.3
Date: Jan 20th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
XFX ProSeries 1250 W

XFX is well known for their graphic cards but for quite some time they are also into the PSU market with two series called classic and Pro. Today we will test the flagship unit of the Pro series which with 1250W capacity will easily power even the most demanding systems.

8.6
Date: Jan 16th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Silverstone Strider Gold Evolution 1000 W

Silverstone recently updated their PSU offerings with a new series, called Strider Gold Evolution. Besides the various internal component upgrades, which provide a small boost to efficiency and offer better performance, the new Striders are equipped with Silverstone's Air Penetrator fan which features increased cooling along with lower noise output.

7.8
Date: Jan 11th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Gigabyte Sumo Power Silver 900 W

Almost everybody knows Gigabyte from their VGA and motherboard products, but the company also makes power supplies. Their newest PSU series is called Sumo, which consists of two high power PSUs with 80 Plus Silver certification. Today we test the smaller one with 900W capacity and find out how it performs.

9.0
Date: Jan 9th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Enermax Platimax 1500 W

The fight for the top spot in the 80PLUS Platinum category is raging, especially now that many OEMs started offering platinum units with over 1 kW capacity. At this time Enermax probably has the most complete Platinum series, called Platimax. Today we will test its strongest model which features monstrous 1500W capacity.

9.2
Date: Jan 4th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair Professional Series Gold AX 650 W

Corsair's Professional Gold series consists of four PSUs with the most recent addition being the AX650, which as its name implies has 650W capacity. Since more and more users finally find out that they actually need a mid-wattage unit to power their systems, Corsair decided to offer a high quality PSU which addresses all the enthusiasts who defy cost and seek the best possible performance along with top efficiency.