Reviews

8.0
Date: Jul 1st 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Scythe Chouriki 2 Plug-In 850 W

Most of you will probably know Scythe from its cooling products, but the company also has several power supplies in its arsenal. Today we will test the second strongest PSU from the Chouriki 2 Plug-In line, which has 850 W capacity and is 80 Plus Silver rated. All Chouriki 2 Plug-In PSUs use a semi-modular cabling design and are backed up by a five-year warranty.

8.9
Date: Jun 24th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair Professional Series HX1050

At Computex 2011 Corsair revealed a new model for the Professional HX series, the HX1050 which will replace the successful HX1000. The OEM remained the same, Channel Well Technology, the capacity increased by 50 W and efficiency remained at 80 Plus Silver. It seems like this PSU has what it takes to be a cost-effective alternative to the Corsair AX1200.

8.0
Date: Jun 22nd 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Cooler Master GX 650W Bronze

Recently, Cooler Master released their new GX Gold Series. The two most significant improvements of the new models are the change of the OEM from Seventeam to Enhance and the upgraded efficiency from 80 Plus to 80 Plus Bronze. The test subject of today’s review will be the CM GX650W Bronze, which offers similar specs as the previous model but sports the popular 80Plus Bronze certification.

8.6
Date: Jun 20th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Be Quiet! Straight Power E8 400 W

Be Quiet's Straight Power E8 400W is a non-modular power supply coming at a very aggressive price point. According to the manufacturer it boasts an impressive 89% efficiency, also the unit is very quiet - no surprise, given the company name.

8.3
Date: Jun 15th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Club 3D CSP-X1200CS 1200 W

Club 3D has recently entered the PSU market. Their new CSP-X1200CS is a high-end 1200 W model which addresses users with up to three graphics cards. Compared to the CSP-X1000CS the CSP-X1200CS, offers more power and better efficiency with its 80PLUS Silver certification.

9.5
Date: Jun 14th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Kingwin LZP-550 Lazer Platinum 550 W

The Kingwin Lazer Platinum LZP-550 is based on Super Flower's platinum platform (Golden King 550W) and according to the manufacturer achieves over 92% efficiency. The power supply's fan will only spin beyond a certain temperature, so the PSU will emit no noise at low loads. In our review we find that this power supply is the best model available in its power range at this time.

7.7
Date: Jun 6th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
RASURBO Real & Power 550 W

We are always thrilled to see new companies enter the PSU market because this leads to more choice for the end users and competition gets tougher, reducing prices. Today we will take a look at RASURBO's Real&Power 550 W, which is 80 PLUS certified, utilizes a semi modular cabling scheme and comes with attractive pricing.

8.9
Date: May 24th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Antec HCP-750 High Current Pro 750 W

Antec's High Current Pro 750 W is the smallest member of the High Current Pro Series which is Antec's flagship line of PSUs. The mighty HCP-1200 is well known for being one of the best power supplies on the market, so we wonder if the 750 W version can impress too.

8.7
Date: May 23rd 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
OCZ ZX Series 850 W

OCZ recently introduced the new ZX PSU series, which consists of three Gold efficiency members with 850 W, 1000 W and 1250 W capacities. Today we have the 850 watt model on our testbench to check if it shows the same usability, quality and price/performance we saw on the 1250 W model that we reviewed a while ago.

8.8
Date: May 20th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair Builder CX430 V2 430 W

Corsair has a wide range of products that address enthusiasts. However the company does not forget Average Joe who just wants to power his low end system. For these users Corsair offers the Builder Series which promises great price/performance ratio. The new Corsair Builder CX430 V2 will be the test subject of today's review.

8.8
Date: May 18th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
NZXT HALE90 750 W

NZXT made a big step into the PSU market with the HALE90 series of PSUs. With capacities ranging from 550W to 1000W these Gold efficiency units address the needs of every gamer that seeks for a strong, efficient and reliable PSU to feed his system. In today’s review we will test a HALE90 750W and see how it performs in our ultra tough tests.

9.4
Date: May 13th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic X-460FL 460 W

Seasonic's X-460FL is one of the few fanless power supplies on the market. This zero-noise approach makes the unit a prime candidate for a quiet media PC, office or light gaming system. With 460 W of high-quality power it can easily handle a typical single graphics card system - without any added noise from the power supply.

9.2
Date: May 9th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair AX850 850 W

Corsair's AX850 is an 80Plus Gold certified 850 watt power supply that aims to be the highest-quality model in its segment. It is fully modular and shows excellent performance characteristics in our demanding test suite. With a price of $180 it is not cheap but quality has its price.

8.2
Date: May 6th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Silverstone Strider Plus ST50F-P 500 W

The Strider Plus ST50F-P is a compact size, single rail and highly versatile PSU thanks to the fully modular design that it utilizes. On top of that is equipped with a quiet 120 mm fan and is 80PLUS Bronze certified. Without any doubt it will be an interesting product for users that want a PSU to power a single graphics card in a not so demanding system.

8.0
Date: May 3rd 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Chieftec Nitro SPS-750C 750 W

Chieftec recently made a new addition to their product series with the inclusion of the Nitro 88+ line. The new PSUs are 80PLUS Silver certified and promise efficiency that surpasses 88%. They also utilize a semi-modular design and their OEM is Channel Well (CWT), a respectable manufacturer.

8.3
Date: Apr 29th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Zalman ZM1000-HP Plus 1000 W

It's a common truth that high wattage PSUs and low noise levels do not get along very well, so many users are forced to buy lower wattage PSUs that cannot support a powerful system with two or three hi-end VGAs. To address this, Zalman's ZM1000-HP Plus 1000 W uses heatpipes to lower the fan's RPMs and minimize noise.

8.5
Date: Apr 27th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Zalman ZM850-HP Plus 850 W

Zalman, a company that is well known for its low-noise products, recently freshened up their PSU range with two new models, the ZM1000-HP Plus and the ZM850-HP Plus. Today we are testing the ZM850-HP Plus, which utilizes a dual heatpipe system to improve cooling of the internal components for reduced heat and noise levels.

9.1
Date: Apr 26th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 760 W

PC Power & Cooling is a legendary company in the PSU market with many years of experience and plenty of innovations. Their products traditionally focus on industrial and professional power users and the Silencer 760 W that we test today is no exception. Silencer 760W is a non-modular PSU that can deliver 760 W continuously at 50°C and power two hi-end VGAs with up to 90% less noise per Watt.

8.5
Date: Apr 25th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair Gaming Series GS800 800 W

Corsair's Gaming Series consists of three single rail PSUs that are made for gamers. Even more average users with a mid-range system will appreciate the reliable and cheap PSU from a company with a very good reputation. We test the 800 W model, which is the most powerful of the series and are impressed by its voltage regulation and efficiency.

8.9
Date: Apr 21st 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
OCZ ZX Series 1250 W

OCZ recently released a new line of hi-end PSUs in order to keep up the pace with the competition, since the Z series counts many years in production. The new ZX series consists of three 80Plus Gold and fully modular PSUs that feature a single +12V rail and boast that they are designed with maximum performance in mind. The ZX 1250 will be the test subject of today’s review.

8.7
Date: Apr 20th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair TX750 V2 750 W

Corsair recently updated their modular enthusiast TX PSU series and presented the TX V2. With a quick look at the specifications the most noticeable difference between the old and the updated models is the efficiency upgrade, from plain 80Plus to 80Plus Bronze. Under the hood, we spotted an OEM change from CWT to Seasonic.

8.5
Date: Apr 19th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Club 3D CSP-X1000CB 1000 W

Club 3D is one more graphics card manufacturer that decided to follow the latest trend and present a PSU series. In this review we will evaluate their strongest model, which with its 1000 W is able to support up to three VGAs. Our only concern is that it's only 80Plus Bronze certified.

8.3
Date: Apr 14th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Antec High Current Gamer 620 W

The High Current Gamer series, according to Antec, manages to combine high power and increased efficiency with low pricing. As the naming scheme reveals, HCG PSUs are intended for users that want to feed their precious PC with lots of power, but are on a tight budget.

8.2
Date: Mar 27th 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Jou Jye BITWIN BW-B430JL 430W

In the last PSU review we tested the middle member of the BITWIN series. Now it’s high time for the smallest to confront our vicious load tester. Besides the BW-B430JL we will also present to you detailed information regarding the Multi Link feature, as we are going to link two BITWINs together and gather interesting data (e.g. efficiency at normal and low loads).

8.3
Date: Mar 23rd 2011
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Jou Jye BITWIN BW-B520JL 520W

Jou Jye's new BITWIN Series is 80 PLUS certified and the models are specially designed for gaming and overclocking since they can work continuously at full load with ambient temperatures up to 40°C. A new and interesting feature is the multi-link connector which lets you install more than one PSU into the system and combine their power output.