Reviews

9.6
Date: Apr 10th 2008
Author: t_ski
In: Watercooling
EK Water Blocks EK Supreme

Today we take a look at EK Water Block's EK Supreme. This CPU waterblock features a universal mounting plate, as well as a clear acrylic top that can be lit up with two 3mm LEDs. Performance is excellent on the EK Supreme, making it truly worthy of the name "Supreme".

9.4
Date: Jan 31st 2008
Author: t_ski
In: Watercooling
Danger Den MPC-975X Chipset Waterblock

With the redesigned MC-TDX CPU waterblock, Danger Den has also released some new chipset blocks based on the same pin design. The new MPC series chipset blocks feature 225 heat-dissipating columns in the typical copper base. We take a look at the MPC-975X chipset block, which is designed to work with the Intel 975X chipset.

9.0
Date: Jan 18th 2008
Author: t_ski
In: Watercooling
Danger Den MC-TDX Waterblock

Danger Den redesigned the TDX to improve its performance on multiple-core CPUs. This new version, dubbed the MC-TDX, features 240 pins above the CPU core area to help dissipate heat. The rest of the design is classic TDX, with its offset outlet barb, acrylic top and simple mounting hardware.

8.8
Date: Sep 24th 2007
Author: t_ski
In: Watercooling
Thermaltake Bigwater 760i

Thermaltake's new BigWater 760i watercooling kit is an affordable and compact solution to users who are are afraid of the cost or the complexity of a full kit. It is easy to install, so even less experienced people can get their feet wet with watercooling.

9.5
Date: Aug 13th 2007
Author: Mandelore
In: Watercooling
Danger Den DD-29XT HD 2900 XT Waterblock

Danger Den is considered to be one of the best companies around when it comes to high performance watercooling hardware. Taking a similar approach used on their previous Tyee waterblock, Danger Den designed a full coverage waterblock for the Radeon HD 2900 Series, the DD-29XT. The waterblock and can cool both the GPU, Memory and Voltage Regulators efficiently and promises dramatic results.

8.0
Date: Jul 6th 2007
Author: djbbenn
In: Watercooling
GIGABYTE 3D Galaxy II

Are you looking to get into water cooling, but are not quite sure where to start, or want something a little more than a pre-built cooler? Well we may have a solution for that - The GIGABYTE 3D Galaxy II Water Cooler. Today we will take a look at GIGABYTE's new water kit and put it to the test.

9.2
Date: Jun 27th 2007
Author: D_o_S
In: Watercooling
Swiftech Apogee GT

Trends in waterblock design don't change often. Until recently, it was thought that jet-impingement was the best way to go for achieving the lowest temperature when cooling a processor. Then came along quad-core CPUs, and it became evident that we must look at other ways of cooling these beasts – their core surface is very large, so waterblock designers were forced to return to old-school, large surface area waterblocks. The Apogee GT is one of the first blocks that attempts to offer jet-impingement performance from a block relying on a simple array of copper pins – can it succeed?

7.9
Date: May 9th 2007
Author: djbbenn
In: Watercooling
CoolIT Freezone

The only way to get cooler temperatures than with air coolers is to use water cooling. But how do you get cooler than a water cooler without using some form of complicated exotic cooling? The answer is not very easily, until now. CoolIT has come up with a new cooler that utilizes a means of exotic cooling, yet it's designed for ease of use for the average end-user. Today we take a look at this new cooler from CoolIT and see if it really is better than any other cooler out there.

9.5
Date: Feb 23rd 2007
Author: t_ski
In: Watercooling
Danger Den Tyee GPU Waterblock

Danger Den is one of the most established players in the watercooling business. Their new Tyee GPU Waterblock has been designed specifically for the ATI Radeon X1800/X1900 Series and can cool GPU, Memory, Voltage Regulator and CrossFire Encoder Chip with just one block. Even though its installation is a bit complex, it shouldn't be a problem for more experienced users.

8.7
Date: Feb 21st 2007
Author: D_o_S
In: Watercooling
Xigmatek AIO S80DP

Xigmatek is a new company churning out computer cooling components. We took a look at one of their heatsinks not so long ago, and now, we have their S80 on our testbed. This is not a normal HSF by any means - it is a fusion of both air and water cooling, using dual 80 mm radiators and a 72 l/hr pump to cool your CPU. How does such an interesting concept perform? Can watercooling packed into such a small form factor be any better than standard air cooling?

9.6
Date: Jan 5th 2007
Author: D_o_S
In: Watercooling
Danger Den Maze 5 GPU waterblock

The Danger Den Maze 5 is a waterblock that fits most ATI and NVIDIA video cards. It is engineered for optimum performance and flow rate. Danger Den has years of experience in designing water blocks, which you can see in this product. In our testing we saw an increase of maximum stable GPU clock by over 70 MHz compared to the ATI stock cooler.

8.6
Date: Nov 19th 2006
Author: D_o_S
In: Watercooling
Thermaltake Orchestra

Passive cooling without fans is the holy grail of cooling because it does not add annoying fan noise to your system. While this is almost impossible using air cooling, Thermaltake has engineered an external watercooling solution that can keep a modern CPU cool without any fans. Thermaltake's Orchestra is very easy to install, even for novices, and comes with everything included to get you up and running.

8.5
Date: Nov 13th 2006
Author: djbbenn
In: Watercooling
Thermaltake Silent Water II

Some people would love to get into a water cooled setup, but aren't quite sure where to start, or don't really want to get into anything too complex. Thermaltake has a solution for this - The Silent Water II. Coming pre-built and ready to go, it's just a matter of mounting this cooler to reap the benefits of watercooling without the hassle of setting up pipes, leak testing, and the other aspects of building a water cooled system.

8.0
Date: Sep 24th 2006
Author: D_o_S
In: Watercooling
Thermaltake Aqua RX R-1

Thermaltake's Aqua RX R-1 is a waterblock for memory modules. Overclocking the memory, in most cases, is unavoidable when you want to reach a higher CPU speed. Sometimes, the memory might limit your CPU overclock, and that's when you start thinking about cooling your memory, to achieve even higher clocks. Watercooling memory is still in its infancy, but products capable of cooling the memory well are slowly making their way to the market.

8.3
Date: Sep 6th 2006
Author: D_o_S
In: Watercooling
Thermaltake W3

Watercooling a CPU or a graphics card is nothing out of the ordinary these days. With the arrival of Core 2 Duo, people have started to put emphasis on cooling their chipset too, in order to achieve higher overclocks. As if Thermaltake was expecting this, they released a new chipset block, the Aqua Brazing W3, designed to cool almost any chipset on today’s market.

7.6
Date: Aug 12th 2006
Author: D_o_S
In: Watercooling
Thermaltake W2 GPU waterblock

Watercooling is becoming very popular these days due to several reasons. With water you can cool just about anything in your PC. People usually start with watercooling their CPU, then move on to GPU, through chipset watercooling and may end at memory or MOSFET cooling. On our testbed today is the Thermaltake W2 waterblock. If you are in search of silence, and need a GPU waterblock, then read on!

8.0
Date: Jul 17th 2006
Author: D_o_S
In: Watercooling
Thermaltake Aquabay M6

Thermaltake, established in 1999, has a large portfolio of products ranging from HDD enclosures to water cooling kits for experienced PC users. Today, we take a look at the Thermaltake Aquabay M6, an extraordinary reservoir with functions unlike any other. How many times have you wondered how much water you have left in your reservoir? Have you ever pondered about the temperature of the water circulating in your water-cooling loop? If so, then this might just be the product for you. Read our review to find out more about this unique reservoir!

8.5
Date: May 31st 2006
Author: DanTheBanjoman
In: Watercooling
Thermaltake Symphony Mini

The Thermaltake mini is a watercooling system with an interesting new design. The external radiator looks like a speaker and is 80 cm tall, two pumps are integrated there as well. As we know from Thermaltake installation is exceptionally easy. In our testing we check out how well it cools an overclocked Celeron and an Intel Xeon hot head.

9.2
Date: May 14th 2006
Author: Urlyin
In: Watercooling
Thermaltake Aquabay M4

Thermaltake with its well known Aquabay series has added a HDD water cooler to its list of offerings for their water cooling kits. The new cooler is dubbed the M4 which is the next number in line for the Aquabay series. With the addition of this new HDD water cooler it opens a new debate as well "Do I really need to water cool my HDD?" We'll try to answer that question as we review the Thermaltake Aquabay M4.

9.1
Date: Jan 1st 2006
Author: Urlyin
In: Watercooling
Thermaltake Big Water 745

Thermaltake introduces its new Big Water 745 kit with single and dual radiators. Adding an improved water block and a move to 3/8" tubing Thermaltake takes the Big Water to a new level. Also included is a beefed up pump with larger reservoir. We'll check the new parts inside and out while testing it against its predecessor.

8.8
Date: Nov 19th 2005
Author: //mAr
In: Watercooling
MIPS RAM Freezer

MIPS Computer is a manufacturer of specialized high-performance water cooling solutions for overclockers. Their products offer excellent build quality made in Germany. This time we test the RAM Freezer which is a water cooling device for DDR1/DDR2 memory. We saw great testing results with Winbond UTT, Samsung TCCD and Winbond BH-5 memory - up to 25 MHz faster without any additional fan noise is very impressive.

8.9
Date: Oct 17th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Watercooling
Thermaltake Tide Water

Thermaltake has engineered a completely new video card cooling concept. A self-contained water cooling unit which is mounted into two PCI slots keeps the GPU cool. People who think watercooling requires a lot of maintenance or leaks easily will be proven wrong. The installation is also remarkably easy. What makes this unit even more attractive is its competitive price. Powercolor liked it so much, that they use it on their X800 GT EVO series.

7.9
Date: Sep 8th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Watercooling
Thermaltake Aquabay M3

Thermaltake's Aquabay M3 watercooling reservoir is mounted in one 5.25" drive bay. It has a water level indicator and comes with all accessories required for installation. It was designed to go with Thermaltake's watercooling, but works with other systems as well. Its incredible price of about $25 makes it a great accessory for watercooling owners.

7.8
Date: Aug 28th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Watercooling
Thermaltake Aquabay M1

Watercoolers often wonder: "How much water do I have in the system?", "Is my flow rate ok?". Thermaltake's Aquabay M1 watercooling reservoir with fill level and flowrate indicator will help you answer this question. It is mounted into two 5.25" drive bays and is compatible with any watercooling system.

7.9
Date: Apr 19th 2005
Author: //mAr
In: Watercooling
DFI Lanparty Freezer

The DFI Lanparty Freezer is a chipset waterblock, made by german company MIPS-Computer. It is the only chipset cooler on the market which can cool the DFI Lanparty's NForce4 chipset, even when there are two video cards installed in SLI mode.