Reviews

8.9
Date: Aug 8th 2013
Author: W1zzard
In: SSD
Plextor M5 Pro 256 GB SSD

Plextor's M5 Pro is the company's current flagship SSD, based on a Marvell flash controller and Toshiba 19 nm NAND flash. In our testing, we see solid results that can easily compete with other high-end drives. The included five year warranty is another bonus.

9.5
Date: Aug 7th 2013
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
CaseLabs Merlin SM8

CaseLabs is known for their modular cases because they allow for the most intricate water-cooling setup without compromising on quality. While their cases have been quite large in the past, the Merlin series offers smaller, more traditionally sized enclosures. We take the SM8 for a spin to see how it fares.

9.5
Date: Aug 6th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Super Flower Leadex Platinum 1000 W

Super Flower hits the competition really hard with their new Leadex series units utilizing a fresh platform, promising Titanium efficiency levels with 230 VAC input. Today, we will test the Leadex Platinum 1000 W unit. How will it perform against the high-end competition?

9.1
Date: Aug 5th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS713+

Synology specializes in high-performance NAS servers with good price/performance ratio. Today, we will take a look at the DS713+ offering reliability and performance along with scalability to business environments, since it can be easily hold up to 28 TB with the Synology DX513 expansion unit.

7.8
Date: Aug 1st 2013
Author: cadaveca
In: Motherboards
ASRock Z87 Extreme6/ac (Intel LGA 1150)

I take my first look at ASRock's Z87 products with the Z87 Extreme6/ac. Packed full of connectivity options, it definitely has Extreme connectivity, but is it perhaps also an Extreme disappointment?

8.5
Date: Jul 31st 2013
Author: W1zzard
In: Graphics Cards
PowerColor HD 7870 Devil 2048 MB

The PowerColor HD 7870 Devil is a highly overclocked custom design that comes with a triple fan cooler and software voltage control. Priced at $240, it sits right in the sweet-spot segment of cards that provide a decent gaming performance without breaking the bank.

8.9
Date: Jul 30th 2013
Author: Frederik S
In: Speakers
ASUS U7 USB Sound Card

ASUS manufactures many sound cards but only a few great USB solutions. In order to correct that, they launched a wide variety of USB-powered products, and we will now take a close look at the U7, a 7.1 sound card powered via USB only, keeping cable clutter at an absolute minimum.

8.8
Date: Jul 29th 2013
Author: crazyeyesreaper
In: CPU Coolers
Raijintek Ereboss

Raijintek, being a newcomer to the PC DIY market, seeks to flex its cooling muscles with the launch of the Ereboss CPU cooler. It features a massive single tower design with six 6 mm heatpipes and a 140 mm x 13 mm fan. Add it all up and you get a design that will turn more than a few heads.

8.9
Date: Jul 26th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
QNAP TS-421 & QTS 4.0

QNAP recently released a major upgrade of their operating system, the QTS 4.0, and they were kind enough to send us a 4-bay NAS for testing, the TS-421, which comes with their latest operating system pre-installed. The TS-421 is a mid-level NAS best suited to home and SOHO environments.

8.9
Date: Jul 25th 2013
Author: Frederik S
In: Mice
Mionix Naos 8200 Gaming Mouse

Mionix's biggest breakthrough came with the Naos 5000 mouse launched three years ago. The Naos model has been beefed up and now features the newest 8200 DPI sensor from Avago. That, combined with market-leading ergonomics, could make this mouse the best from Mionix yet.

8.3
Date: Jul 23rd 2013
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Spire X2 6019B

X2 is the newly established brand from Spire, geared specifically at the gamer. One of the brand's first chassis, the 6019B, may not look like anything out of the ordinary at first, but it does bear a few very pleasant surprises, making it a really viable choice to the market's big players.

7.8
Date: Jul 22nd 2013
Author: crazyeyesreaper
In: CPU Coolers
Zalman CNPS14X

The Zalman CNPS14X continues Zalman's trend of offering unique and varied products. The dual-tower design makes use of six 6 mm heatpipes and offers support for up to three fans, but is that truly enough to take on the competition?

Date: Jul 21st 2013
Author: Sin
In: Interviews
Interview: Christoph Katzer / be quiet!

We had a nice long chat with Christoph Katzer, a well-known figure to PSU enthusiasts and in the industry. We spoke about his over 18-month experience of working with be quiet!, makers of silent air-cooling and PSUs.

8.9
Date: Jul 19th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
High Power Astro GD 750 W

Today, we will have the chance to test a High Power retail product for the first time. The Astro GD 750 W utilizes both analog and digital components to deliver very good performance and is also equipped with a power meter.

8.9
Date: Jul 18th 2013
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
CM Storm Scout 2 Advanced

The CM Storm Scout 2 Advanced comes with no visible changes when compared to the basic variant, but has a total of three pre-installed fans instead of one. Will this be enough for the Advanced version to stand out?

9.0
Date: Jul 17th 2013
Author: cadaveca
In: Memory
G.SKILL TridentX 2933 MHz C12 2x 4 GB kit

G.Skill's F3-2933C12D-8GTXDG kit is a weapon for the seasoned overclocker and Haswell-based systems. Clad in black and red, it is a complex kit that, once quenched and hardened, proves to be valuable to any serious overclocker.

8.7
Date: Jul 16th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Antec High Current Gamer Modular 850 W

We previously evaluated the Antec HCG-750M, and it left us with a good impression. We will now review its bigger brother, the HCG-850M. Sharing the same features with the aforementioned unit and having been made by the same OEM, Seasonic, we have pretty high expectations, too.

9.5
Date: Jul 15th 2013
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Antec GX700

The Antec GX700 is the first of the new series aiming to offer a stylish chassis with a few very cool visual- and functional details at an affordable price point. Clearly going for a military theme, we will see if this chassis can defend itself in the $50 case category or if it shoots nothing but blanks at the competition.

9.4
Date: Jul 15th 2013
Author: cadaveca
In: Motherboards
ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO (Intel LGA 1150)

New to the ASUS ROG line-up, the ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO is for those looking to get that high-end ROG "GENE" experience in a full ATX format, but does stretching the GENE also stretch the HERO's ability too thin, or has the ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO come to save the day?

8.2
Date: Jul 15th 2013
Author: Frederik S
In: Headphones
Sunrise Ray DA-P1 Headphone amplifier & DAC

Sunrise Audio's newest DAC / amp gets put to the test. The Ray DA-P1 is built with Android devices in mind and works with devices that feature USB Audio in the kernel. It is also a very capable small form factor DAC / amp that won't give you any problems with Windows.

9.3
Date: Jul 11th 2013
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 1000 W

EVGA decided to dive deeper into the PSU market by recently releasing some new models, including the Super NOVA G2 1000W, which we will test today. The SuperNOVA G2 1000 W can easily be classified as a high-end unit, and considering its features, its price also looks very good.

8.6
Date: Jul 11th 2013
Author: cadaveca
In: Memory
Crucial Ballistix Sport XT 1866 MHz C10 2x 8 GB

Crucial expanded their line-up a short while ago at Computex by introducing the Ballistix Sport XT product for mainstream users and those who know how to tweak their memory. We take a look at the high-end 1866 MHz C10 model, which carry a few surprises.

9.2
Date: Jul 10th 2013
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Fractal Design Arc Midi R2

The Fractal Design Arc Midi R2 is the second generation of the water-cooling friendly Arc series, and it brings many more or less obvious improvements along for the ride. Will these be enough to make an even better impression than the original?

8.2
Date: Jul 9th 2013
Author: crazyeyesreaper
In: CPU Coolers
NZXT Respire T40

The NZXT Respire T40 packs a punch with four 8 mm heatpipes and 48 aluminum cooling fins. As an "easy to install" and "easy on the wallet" option, it could be a force to be reckoned with in the budget cooling arena.

9.5
Date: Jul 8th 2013
Author: W1zzard
In: Graphics Cards
MSI GTX 780 TwinFrozr Gaming 3 GB

MSI's GeForce GTX 780 GAMING is a factory overclocked custom design of the GTX 780. It is the quietest GTX 780 we tested so far, making it a great choice for gamers who want low noise levels. With a price of $650, it is just $10 more expensive than the reference design, a reasonable price increase.