Reviews

9.7
Date: Aug 16th 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
ASUS GeForce GTX 660 Ti Direct CU II 2 GB

The ASUS GTX 660 Ti Direct CU II TOP uses the same wonderful cooler we've seen first on the company's GTX 670, which means it is by far the quietest high-performance card you can find on the market - in both idle and load. The card is also overclocked out of the box, which gives it a 5% performance advantage.

9.7
Date: Aug 16th 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
MSI GeForce GTX 660 Ti Power Edition 2 GB

MSI's GTX 660 Ti Power Edition is one of the fastest GTX 660 Ti cards we tested today because it comes with some secret BIOS sauce that enables it to run faster than other cards at lower clocks. This is also confirmed by our overclocking tests where it reaches the highest overclocked performance of all GTX 660 Ti cards.

9.3
Date: Aug 16th 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 660 Ti AMP! Edition 2 GB

ZOTAC's GeForce GTX 660 Ti AMP! Edition comes with a compact footprint, that enables high-performance gaming for smaller cases. Thanks to an overclock out of the box, the card runs around 5% faster than the NVIDIA GTX 660 Ti reference design.

9.5
Date: Aug 15th 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
Point of View TGT GTX 680 Ultra Charged LLS 4 GB

Point of View's GeForce GTX 680 TGT Ultra Charged is the first 4 GB GeForce GTX 680 we review, so we took a close look at what the extra memory brings. The card also has an extremely low noise profile thanks to its triple slot cooler.

Date: Aug 14th 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
AMD HD 7950 Boost Clock BIOS Update

AMD just released a free BIOS upgrade for the Radeon HD 7950, which provides an extra speed boost by updating the company's PowerTune algorithm. We will thoroughly test this update and not only look at performance but also power consumption and heat.

8.1
Date: Aug 13th 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: SSD
OCZ Agility 4 256 GB

OCZ's Agility 4 is positioned as a high-end, mid-range drive based on Indilinx Everest 2 controller technology. Our real-life performance testing will investigate whether this drive is a worthy opponent of the SandForce drives available on the market now.

8.9
Date: Aug 10th 2012
Author: cadaveca
In: Motherboards
ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Champion Intel LGA2011

A Champion has emerged! The ASRock Fatal1ty Champion seeks to beat out all other Intel X79 Express contenders, clad in red and black armor and carrying a loadout of features that is sure to have other boards run and hide. Can the ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Champion live up to its claim?

Date: Aug 9th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Thermaltake Toughpower XT Gold 1375 W

Today we are going to take a detailed look at the 80 Plus Gold certified Thermaltake Toughpower XT 1375 W. Its massive capacity will easily power any system you can imagine and thanks to the semi-passive operation you won't hear any noise when you're not gaming.

Date: Aug 8th 2012
Author: Frederik S
In: Other
Parrot AR.Drone 2.0

Parrot's infamous AR.Drone just got revamped and we take the new and much improved 2.0 version for a spin around the block. The new drone comes with updated on-board hardware and brand new software tricks as well.

9.8
Date: Aug 6th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair AX1200i 1200 W

The Corsair AX1200i was launched today. Based on its specifications and features, it will easily carry on the legacy of its predecessor, the legendary AX1200 and Corsair has very high expectations, so do we.

Date: Aug 3rd 2012
Author: cadaveca
In: Motherboards
Gigabyte B75M-D3H Intel LGA 1155

Gigabyte sent me one of their entry-level products to check out, called the B75M-D3H. Yet make no mistake, just because this product is value-oriented, does not mean it by any means cheap! What makes Gigabyte's B75M-D3H so great? We'll find out in our review.

9.4
Date: Aug 2nd 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
KFA² GeForce GTX 680 LTD OC 2 GB

KFA² has revamped the GTX 680 PCB design, picked a sexy white PCB color and added a large triple fan cooler to their GTX 680 LTD OC. As the name suggests, the card is heavily overclocked, which gives it a real-life performance boost of 8% over the GTX 680 reference design.

Date: Jul 31st 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
Gigabyte HD 7970 Super OC 3 GB

Gigabyte's HD 7970 SOC introduces a new cooling concept. Instead of placing the fan(s) on the large surface of the heatsink like on all recent graphics cards, the company chose to position five small fans along the top edge of the card. Our review will investigate whether the card will be too noisy and too big, or if it can truly provide some benefit.

Date: Jul 30th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair HX850 V2 850 W

The Corsair HX850 has been in production for many years. Its successor has many improvements to show, including Gold efficiency and a new look similar to the HX1050 unit. Fan noise is also under control, the unit will go passive at low loads.

9.3
Date: Jul 27th 2012
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Silverstone Fortress FT03 Mini

Silverstone has taken the already compact FT03 and successfully shrunk it to fit a Mini-ITX board, while still allowing for long graphics cards to be used. Has Silverstone managed to find the perfect balance between compact dimensions and compatibility, or does the shrink go too far?

9.5
Date: Jul 26th 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
Club3D HD 7850 Royal Queen 1 GB

Club3D's HD 7850 RoyalQueen comes with a modest 1 GB of memory, which is half that of a typical HD 7850. Nevertheless we got some interesting results in our testing. The card is just as fast as the 2 GB HD 7850, at full HD resolutions and below. Coming at a more than reasonable $195, the card is also one of the most affordable choices on the market.

Date: Jul 25th 2012
Author: Frederik S
In: Mice
Gigabyte Aivia Krypton Gaming Mouse

Gigabyte's first real high-end gaming mouse gets put to the test. It features an 8200 DPI laser sensor and a wealth of buttons to boot. The design is ambidextrous which makes it a great mouse for lefties as well!

Date: Jul 24th 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: SSD
Corsair Force GS 240 GB

Corsair's new Force GS SSD introduces toggle mode NAND flash, which promises increased performance at similar pricing. In our testing we see excellent real-life performance results from this SandForce based drive.

Date: Jul 23rd 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Rosewill Fortress 550 W

Rosewill decided to join the Platinum party with a brand new PSU series, called Fortress. All units of this line use a non-modular cabling system, probably in an effort to restrict production cost thus making them more appealing to budget oriented users.

Date: Jul 20th 2012
Author: cadaveca
In: Motherboards
ASRock Z77 Extreme9 Intel LGA 1155

ASRock's Z77 Extreme9 is equipped with a PLX PCI-Express bridge chip, which adds additional PCIe slots to the board, for a total of six x16 slots. This will be a godsend for all users who want to run CrossFire or SLI with more than two cards. ASRock has also delivered a very usable BIOS implementation to maximize overclocking potential.

9.7
Date: Jul 19th 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: SSD
OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB

Today we have on our testbench OCZ's 256 GB Vertex 4 SSD, using the latest version 1.5 firmware. In our testing we see excellent performance from this Indilinx based drive. OCZ also brought the price of the SSD down to $210, which makes it one of the most affordable drives on the market both in terms of performance per Dollar and GB per Dollar.

Date: Jul 18th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS212j

Today we are testing the Synology DS212j, an entry level NAS that comes at an attractive price of $199. Even at that price, the NAS is equipped with a huge list of features and offers good power savings potential since it needs only 17.6W in operation.

Date: Jul 18th 2012
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Cubitek Magic Cube AIO

Cubitek has entered the market last year with their Tank series of cases, which were quite an affordable alternative to Lian Li cases. The latest unit from the Magic Cube family, simply called AIO or All In One, carries a similar price tag as Lian Li alternatives. Will an interesting interior layout and the fact that it is apparently the smallest EATX chassis out there be enough to sway users to the new player in the market?

Date: Jul 17th 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
Sapphire HD 7950 Flex 3 GB

Sapphire's HD 7950 Flex adds the capability to run three DVI monitors without active DisplayPort adapter. It also comes with increased clock speeds out of the box, which gives the card a 6% performance advantage over the reference design.

Date: Jul 16th 2012
Author: Frederik S
In: Keyboards
CM Storm Quick Fire Pro Mechanical Gaming Keyboard

CM Storm's full sized Quick Fire Pro keyboard is the bigger brother of the original Quick Fire gaming keyboard. The pro version features user selectable switches and has partial backlighting. At only $99.99 the Quick Fire Pro is one of the cheaper full sized mechanical gaming keyboards with backlight.