Reviews

8.9
Date: May 8th 2014
Author: W1zzard
In: VGA Coolers
Raijintek Morpheus

Rajintek's new Morpheus VGA cooler is compatible with the Radeon R9 290X and GTX 780/Ti. It provides excellent temperatures and whisper-quiet noise levels, which will be a godsend for users of the Radeon R9 290X reference design who are plagued by high temperatures and noise.

9.8
Date: May 7th 2014
Author: cadaveca
In: Motherboards
ASUS MAXIMUS VI IMPACT (Intel LGA1150)

We end our look at mITX Z87/Haswell boards with none other than the ASUS MAXIMUS VI IMPACT. After many requests from users all over the world for ASUS to make a tiny ROG board, those requests have finally been answered. Is the MAXIMUS VI IMPACT worth the wait?

8.3
Date: May 6th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS214se & DSM 5.0 Overview

Synology knows how to create good and affordable products like the DS214se we will evaluate today. Along with it, we will also take a detailed look at the company's new DSM 5.0 operating system that introduces many new, interesting features and upgrades over its predecessor.

9.5
Date: May 5th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Cooler Master V Series Platinum 1200 W

Cooler Master decided to unleash a big beast onto the PSU market by again teaming up with Seasonic and releasing their V series flagship, the V1200. It not only comes with a high capacity, but also sports Platinum efficiency, a fully modular design, and a hybrid fan mode option that turns this unit into a silent beast at low loads.

9.0
Date: May 2nd 2014
Author: Frederik S
In: Mice
Mionix NAOS & AVIOR 7000

Mionix's newest version of the NAOS and AVIOR designs get put to the test. Both feature the newest IR-LED sensor from Avago, the ADNS-3310. We take them for a spin to see how they perform in comparison to their previous versions!

8.3
Date: Apr 30th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Bitfenix Fury Gold 750 W

Bitfenix decided to enter the PSU market, and today, we have the chance to look at the flagship of their Fury series. It has a capacity of 750 W, is 80 Plus Gold certified, and features individually sleeved cables of high quality and stunning looks.

8.8
Date: Apr 29th 2014
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Xigmatek Nebula

Xigmatek's Nebula is a compact Mini-ITX chassis that utilizes an interesting mixture of materials and comes with the ability to hold a fully sized ATX PSU and dual-slot graphics card. But will it look as elaborate on the inside as it does on the outside, or is this Nebula not hiding any secrets of the universe?

Date: Apr 28th 2014
Author: cadaveca
In: Motherboards
MSI Next-Gen GAMING 5 Preview

New products from Intel are on their way, and today, we take our first look at what the next-gen Intel platforms have to offer, starting with MSI's Next-Gen GAMING 5. This 3rd-generation GAMING design by MSI takes all the best of past GAMING products and adds new features to solve some of the problems users ran into with past products, all with a new take on what motherboards have to offer.

8.6
Date: Apr 23rd 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
SilentiumPC Supremo M1 700 W

SilentiumPC is a fresh Polish company that was established in 2007. Today, we will take a look at their first Platinum PSU, the Supremo M1-700 with high efficiency, semi-passive operation for lower noise output, and a semi-modular cabling design.

8.9
Date: Apr 22nd 2014
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
MSI Radeon R9 290X Lightning 4 GB

The $700 MSI R9 290X Lightning is MSI's latest flagship card geared toward overclockers and enthusiasts. It comes with a large overclock out of the box, higher than any other custom R9 290X available today. The board is cooled by a large triple-slot, triple-fan cooler that yields excellent temperatures.

8.9
Date: Apr 21st 2014
Author: Frederik S
In: Headphones
BitFenix Flo Headset

BitFenix's first headset is a feature-packed, lightweight construction made for gaming. It features 40mm dynamic drivers, a detachable microphone, and a highly ergonomic design. We put it to the test to see how it fares against headsets from more established brands!

9.1
Date: Apr 17th 2014
Author: crazyeyesreaper
In: CPU Coolers
be quiet! Dark Rock 3

be quiet!'s Dark Rock 3 is a great single-tower cooler as it offers up stylish looks with the performance to back it up. Take into consideration its exceptional build quality and warranty and you have a cooler that might just be best in class.

9.1
Date: Apr 16th 2014
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
NZXT H440

The NZXT H440 aims to make the new and revamped H series part of the mid-tower market. Offering no external drive bay is either gutsy or naïve, but let us take a closer look to figure out whether NZXT managed to gun for the glory among silent mid-tower cases this time around.

8.7
Date: Apr 15th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Asustor AS-204TE

Asustor is hard at work to establish itself as a good name on the NAS scene, and they are on the right track. Today, we will take a look at the AS-204TE, which Asustor says to be the best multimedia and storage-center solution for your home because it comes equipped with all typical NAS functions, an HDMI port, and XBMC support.

9.3
Date: Apr 14th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750 W

EVGA is expanding their high-end SuperNOVA G2 series by releasing two mid-capacity units with 750 W and 850 W maximum output power. Today, we will evaluate the G2-750 with Gold efficiency, a fully modular cabling design, and selectable semi-passive operation, which renders it totally inaudible at lower loads.

9.5
Date: Apr 11th 2014
Author: Frederik S
In: Speakers
Creative Sound BlasterAxx 200 Axx

Creative's new SoundBlasterAxx series is rapidly expanding. Today, we take a look at the 200 Axx which packs a lot of unique features and great sound quality to boot. Priced at $149, it should be very competitive.

8.8
Date: Apr 10th 2014
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Cooler Master HAF Stacker

Cooler Master is joining the fray of extra large cases, but is making things modular in the process. With that in mind, the HAF Stacker was born. Will it show others how it is done, although late to the game? We take the HAF Stacker and shuffle its parts around a few times to see what it has to offer over offerings by other brands.

9.6
Date: Apr 9th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Super Flower Leadex Platinum 1200 W

The Leadex Platinum 1200 W will hit our test bench today. It features 80 Plus Platinum efficiency, a fully modular cabling design, and promises to perform wonderfully while producing hardly any noise by utilizing an excellent platform and a semi-passive operation user can swap to by flipping a switch.

8.6
Date: Apr 8th 2014
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
AMD Radeon R9 295X2 8 GB

Today, AMD is launching their Radeon R9 295X2, a dual-GPU card based on two fully unlocked, fully clocked Hawaii graphics processors. As a result, the card delivers impressive numbers in 4K and EyeFinity. But with a price of $1500, it is certainly not cheap, no matter how you look at it.

8.0
Date: Apr 3rd 2014
Author: Frederik S
In: Media Players
VidaBox OpenSqueeze Network Players

VidaBox's new media player, dubbed the OpenSqueeze, fills the gap left by Logitech's Squeezebox devices. The OpenSqueeze is powered by an open source OS and comes with the same functionality as the original Squeeze products.

8.7
Date: Apr 2nd 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic S12G 450 W

Seasonic is one of the best PSU OEMs and has lately been trying to improve its presence in the mainstream and lower-end segments by releasing affordable products. Today, we will evaluate the S12G 450 W which is essentially a G series PSU without modular cables.

9.0
Date: Apr 1st 2014
Author: W1zzard
In: SSD
Crucial M550 512 GB

Crucial's new M550 SSD is based on an updated version of the Marvell controller, which means it no longer uses overprovisioning: you get to use the whole capacity. In our real-life testing we also see a slight performance improvement, which is great, especially considering the M550's competitive pricing.

9.4
Date: Mar 31st 2014
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Corsair Graphite 760T

The Obsidian 760T is essentially a 750D with a lot more "oh" and "ah". Flashier on the outside, it sports a more elaborate look, a choice of two colors, a huge window, and a bit more lighting. It even comes with a fan controller right out of the box.

8.7
Date: Mar 27th 2014
Author: cadaveca
In: Motherboards
Biostar Hi-Fi A88W 3D (AMD FM2+)

We take our first look at AMD's FM2+ platform with a value-oriented product from Biostar that boasts some upgraded audio abilities. The Biostar Hi-Fi A88W 3D comes with the focus and feature set that has become Biostar's calling, as the company has its own take on entry-level enthusiast designs.

8.9
Date: Mar 25th 2014
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Corsair Obsidian 450D

The Corsair 450D is the smallest of the Obsidian family, but it offers the same cool and clean look and a potent feature set at a price tag of 120 USD - which is 20 dollars less than the 550D, but 20 dollars more than the 350D. Is there enough room for the 450D to fill such a gap?