Reviews

8.5
Date: Jul 28th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
OCZ EL DDR PC-3500 Gold GX

If you ask an overclocker "Best memory chips ever?" you will most probably get the reply "Winbond BH5". Unfortunately Winbond stopped production some time in 2003 and supply of these chips was running dry pretty fast. Now Winbond is back with their BH5 UTT and OCZ has built the PC-3500 Gold Gamer Extreme modules with it. The modules run at aggressive timings of 2-2-2-5 and offer a lifetime warranty for up to 3.1V memory voltage.

9.5
Date: Jul 24th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: VGA Coolers
Arctic Cooling ATI Silencer 5 Rev. 2

Video card cooling specialists Arctic Cooling have listened to the user's reports and released the ATI Silencer 5 Revision 2. This VGA cooler, which is designed to fit on ATI's X800 and X850 PCI-Express was built with high-performance in mind, while keeping sound levels at an acceptable level. We test the cooler against an X850 Pro which already has a big fan, a copper base and cools memory as well.

8.3
Date: Jul 20th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Motherboards
ECS KN1 SLI Extreme

At this year's Computex in Taiwan, ECS announced the big brother of the successful KN1 Extreme Motherboard - the ECS KN1 SLI Extreme. It is based on NVIDIA's nForce4 SLI chipset and aims at delivering an affordable SLI motherboard, while still having features like Dual Ethernet and IEEE1394. During all our testing the KN1 SLI showed excellent performance, but can it deliver the overclocking the enthusiasts want?

9.5
Date: Jul 15th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Motherboards
DFI LanParty UT NF4 Ultra-D

The DFI LanParty series is legendary among overclockers. We haven't seen any other board offer that many overclocking features. For example, being able to your run your memory at voltages of more than 3.3V is pretty unique. A well thought out components layout and little on-board switches make overclockers happy.

8.7
Date: Jul 8th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Motherboards
Albatron K8SLI

The Albatron K8SLI is a budget oriented Socket939 motherboard based on NVIDIA's nForce4 SLI chipset. While it has been designed with cost in mind, performance has not been left out. Innovative features like second BIOS on an external add-in card and automatic SLI switch make this board easy to use. Overclocking possibilites are good as well, we managed to reach a maximum FSB of 390 MHz.

7.4
Date: Jun 30th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
OCZ EL DDR PC-3200 Titanium

OCZ is known as a memory manufacturer who produces high-end enthusiast memory. The recently released Titanium Line is more focused on stability of operation, than for overclockers. It features OCZ's Lifetime PowerSwap Warranty which is a unique feature to the Titanium Series. If your memory breaks at any time, you call up OCZ and they will send out a replacement via Fedex on the same day. Once you got your system up and running you ship the defective memory back to them within two weeks.

8.0
Date: Jun 13th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Motherboards
Albatron PX925XE Pro-R

Albatron has built a competitively priced motherboard, which is based on Intel's high-end i925XE chipset. It comes completely passive cooled, only the CPU fan is producing noise, making it a good Media PC motherboard.

9.0
Date: Jun 7th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Motherboards
ABIT Fatal1ty AA8XE

Abit, one of the top manufacturers for enthusiast motherboards, has asked the Pro-Gamer Jonathan Fatal1ty Wendel for ideas on making a top-notch gaming board. The Fatal1ty AA8XE is an awesome overclocking motherboard for Intel Pentium 4 LGA775, it offers loads of features geared towards the hardware enthusiast and gamers. We could overclock our P4 CPU by over 50% for a final clock of 4514 MHz @ 323 FSB.

Date: May 24th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Other
Sapphire Factory Tour

We had the honor to be the first journalists to visit Sapphire's factory where most ATI video cards are produced. This report will take you through all stages of video card production and show many interesting details on how a video card is build.

7.5
Date: May 20th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Power Supplies
Thermaltake TWV500

Thermaltake has put together a nice package consisting of a PSU with modular cables, a 5.25" drive bay real-time Watts Viewer and an additional 120mm case fan.

9.0
Date: May 17th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
OCZ DDR2 PC2-5400 Platinum EB

Right now, DDR2 is only available to the Intel Platform. The biggest drawback people are complaining about, is that DDR2 is running at slower timings than traditional DDR. That is why OCZ, who have always been designing products with the enthusiast in mind, came up with a memory that can run at 667 MHz but at tighter timings than the standard JEDEC Spec. The maximum clock we could get out of the memory at 2.4V was DDR726 at Timings of 4-2-2-8.

8.3
Date: May 15th 2005
Author: //mAr
In: Processors
AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice

AMD has released a new revision of their Athlon64 S939, the code name is Venice. Venice is produced in 90nm, has 512KB Cache and is clocked betwen 1.8 GHz and 2.4 GHz. We test it against the Winchster and two Pentium4 systems.

9.0
Date: May 12th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Other
Arctic Silver ArctiClean

ArctiClean is a non-toxic solvent which helps you clean your heatsinks to a new level. It is very easy to use and produces outstanding results. We even tasted it.

7.5
Date: May 9th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: VGA Coolers
Jetart JACSH1

Jetart has built their own VGA cooler - a pretty full copper design with a blue LED. Can they compete with the other coolers in terms of performance as well?

8.9
Date: May 7th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: VGA Coolers
Zalman VF700-Cu

One month ago we reviewed the Zalman VF700-AlCu. Now we test the VF700-Cu which is a full copper design. The performance difference is definitely there and users who have the choice should go for the copper version.

9.1
Date: Apr 29th 2005
Author: //mAr
In: Memory
TwinMOS Twister PC3200 BH-5

TwinMOS is returning the legendary Winbond BH-5 chips to the market. We could run these competetively priced modules at speeds of over DDR500.

9.5
Date: Apr 23rd 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: VGA Coolers
Arctic Cooling ATI Silencer 4 Rev. 2

Arctic Cooling is the first video card cooler manufacturer to use a heatsink base manufactured from copper. The ATI Silencer 4 just does awesome on all settings. If you are looking for a good cooler for your X800 you must definitely consider the ATI Silencer 4. Its cooling performance is excellent no matter what the fan speed is. Memory cooling works pretty well and gives you a bit more overclocking headroom.

7.9
Date: Apr 20th 2005
Author: //mAr
In: Watercooling
DFI Lanparty Freezer

The DFI Lanparty Freezer is a chipset waterblock, made by german company MIPS-Computer. It is the only chipset cooler on the market which can cool the DFI Lanparty's NForce4 chipset, even when there are two video cards installed in SLI mode.

Date: Apr 19th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Other
Sapphire TRIXX Preview

Today we bring you a world-exclusive Preview of Sapphire TRIXX. This is Sapphire's new overclocking utility which is shipping this month. It boasts many new and exciting features, like maximum overclock detection.

8.0
Date: Apr 18th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Power Supplies
Fortron Sparkle ZEN

Today we have a very special PSU on the test bench - it is completely passive. Fortron trusts their design so much that they say a backup fan is not needed. I was surprised to see the Fortron Sparkle ZEN power our demanding test platform without any load problems. While the electrical noises were definitely annoying, they are only noticable on higher power systems.

9.0
Date: Mar 27th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: VGA Coolers
Date: Mar 19th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Tradeshows
Cebit 2005 - Day 5

This time we cover the video card manufacturers Club3D and Sapphire.

Date: Mar 17th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Tradeshows
Cebit 2005 - Day 4

News from AOpen, Foxconn, S3 and Soltek. Also in this report you will find all R520 and ATI's SLI info we could get.

Date: Mar 16th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Tradeshows
Date: Mar 15th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Tradeshows