• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Render Farm

System Name FumoffuFumoffu
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X -UD3H
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon HD 7970 OC
Storage 1- WD 500GB 1- Samsung F2 1.5TB 1- Crucial M4 128GB SSD 1-256GB ADATA XPG SX900 ASX900S3 SSD
Display(s) Hanns-G HZ281HPB 27.5'' 3ms Full HD 1920x1200 WideScreen LCD Monitor
Case Corsair Graphite Series 600T
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX 750W Gold
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
I am looking at building a render farm for use with Cinelerra (which requires Linux). I want to spend the least I can but still get the most bang for buck. i am looking at like maybe 5 systems chained together. i want to loan it to my University's Broadcasting Lab for use with their FinalCut Pro lab. I used to be a Broadcasting student and the amount of time i spent rendering was sad especially when there was a mistake and i had to start all over again. Please help me select the proper hardware. REMEMBER, it needs to be Linux compatible hardware wand work with cinelerra as well. http://cinelerra.org/

I dont want to go above $2k

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
So ... $400 per system? That seems a little skinny to me for rendering machines.

Processor Intel i7 4770K
Cooling Corsair H100i
Storage 1- WD 500GB 1- Samsung F2 1.5TB 1- Crucial M4 128GB SSD 1-256GB ADATA XPG SX900 ASX900S3 SSD
Well i did say maybe 5 systems (or less) i can go more $ but i dont want to have to. Remember i will be using something like Ubuntu or Fedora as the OS so knock off the cost of MicroShaft. Basically im looking for a good spec out to go by for the first clients and then be able to expand at a later date with identical systems.

System Name Vengeance-C
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Asrock B450M Pro4 mATX
Cooling BeQuiet Shadow Rock TF2