• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

It done borked, but what and why?

streetfighter 2

So last night I turned off my computer, and early this morning I turned it on. Amazing right? ;)

Well, I didn't think so either, except the computer didn't turn on correctly. Everything turned on, the monitor switched on, the mobo's LED_OK lights turned on, but the only thing that appeared on the screen was the bottom 1/16th of the screen would flash on for about 0.3 seconds every 3-5 seconds (years of gaming and video encoding have made my ability to judge tiny intervals of time exceptional :D). I could tell that the computer was operating correctly because when I pressed F1 the intermittent portion of the screen turned blue (god bless the BIOS for using blue instead of black like POST does).

Since I am a professional I wasn't particularly upset about the whole affair, and I got busy trying to fix it. So here's how it went down . . .
1) Seeing as how it was a display related problem I swapped the graphics card out with one that I know works. [Result: No change]
2) I moved the graphics card to the second PCI-E slot. [Result: No change]
3) I removed the graphics card and used onboard. [Result: No change]
4) I reset the CMOS. [Result: No change]
5) I pulled the battery and replaced it. [Result: No change]
6) I removed the memory and replaced it with a working stick from another system. [Result: No change]
7) I replaced the power supply with one that I know is working. [Result: No change]
8) I tested the monitor with a backup computer that hooked up to the monitors VGA port. [Confirmed: Monitor works (or does it? :wtf:)]
9) I got a cup of coffee. [Result: No change, but I'm happier]
10) I replaced the computer with my backup workstation, which is a 2600K system and a huge step up from my actual workstation :laugh:. Here's where it gets silly though . . .