• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD motherboard replacement!

bengraham

Anyone please??
i am new to tech stuff. I used to work on an AMD system built by a friend of mine. I usually like to do audio and video editing. So audio quality is important for me. Are there any recommendations for an upgrade?

I dont mind the price though the quality should pay off!

System Name Machine XV
Processor Dual Xeon E5 2670 V3 Turbo unlocked
Motherboard Kllisre X99 Dual
Cooling 120mm heatsink
Memory 64gb DDR4 ECC
Video Card(s) RX 480 4Gb
Storage 1Tb NVME SSD
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case ATX
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme USB
Power Supply 800W
Software Windows 10
Is it connectivity your looking for or just better sound?

If its just audio quality. I use is the SB0770 XFi extreme OEM PCI This is card can be found real cheap on eBay and has the bonus of optical in and out plus a standard HD audio front panel connector (dell version has different front panel connector but HD version can be soldered on).

Connectivity won't come cheap your then looking at professional audio cards that cost big bucks.

Last edited:
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite AX V2
Cooling Dark Rock 4
Memory G Skill RipjawsV F4 3600 Mhz C16
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 3080 Ventus 3X OC LHR
Storage Crucial 2 TB M.2 SSD :: WD Blue M.2 1TB SSD :: 1 TB WD Black VelociRaptor
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case Fractal Meshify C
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
You need to give us more than that. Are you upgrading your current system? If so, what are the specs on it? Or are you looking to build an entire new system and just want some advise on what parts to buy? If so, what is your budget?

bengraham

new system