• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is this a good gaming pc spec?

Processor AMD-FX-4100
Motherboard gigabyte technologies M68MT-S2
Memory 8GB DDR3
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD 6700 series
Hi all , I bought my pc over 2 years ago and its struggling to run the recently released 'DayZ standalone' in any decent settings without very poor FPS. Im currently using a 'AMD Radeon HD 6700 series'.

Im looking at buying the 'MSI Radeon R9 270 2GB' link below.
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/2gb-...-900mhz-boost-975mhz-1280-streams-dp-dvi-hdmi

Do you guys think ill see a big improvement if I upgrade to this card ? Also is there a better card around the same price range anyone can recommend ?

I purely use my pc for gaming so thats all I care about :)

Also my processor is a AMD-FX-4100 ,3.6Ghz quad-core , think thats sufficient ?

Thanks guys , im not too good at this stuff , wish I knew more.

From UK by the way :)

the54thvoid

Intoxicated Moderator
Staff member
Processor Ryzen 7800X3D
Motherboard MSI MAG Mortar B650 (wifi)
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 32GB Kingston Fury
Video Card(s) Gainward RTX4070ti
Storage Seagate FireCuda 530 M.2 1TB / Samsumg 960 Pro M.2 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Asus Prime AP201
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply be quiet! Pure POwer M12 850w Gold (ATX3.0)
Software W10
I recently got my dad a 270X to replace his old HD5850 (COD Ghosts didnt like the old card). The 270 should do fine. The processor is a bit weak though.

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu_lookup.php?cpu=AMD FX-4100 Quad-Core&id=255

It might slow you down and at some point with newer games.

Oh and BTW, the DayZ standalone is an alpha game - don't expect any reasonable graphics optimisations yet.

Processor AMD-FX-4100
Memory 8GB DDR3