• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New build for XP replacement

jamesa917

I'm planning to build my parents a new PC to replace their old Windows XP machine (AMD Athlon XP 3000+, ASUS K8N motherboard, 2GB RAM, 1TB Western Digital HDD, Radeon X800 GTO, Corsair HX520 PSU). I haven't built a PC in over five years so I wanted to check I'm not missing anything/making any bad choices.

My parents will probably want to keep this computer for as long as possible, so I want it to be future proof, but they only use it for web browsing, occasional video streaming and their photos (Google Picasa), so it doesn't need an amazing graphics card etc.

Here's what I was planning:
...which comes in at £420 + buying Windows 8.1 (hopefully I can get that cheap as I'm a student).

What do people think/anything at all I've missed? (I think the motherboard comes with a couple of SATA cables and I'll get a few screws). I'm planning to use the integrated HD4600 for now as I can always add discrete graphics in future if necessary - I'm assuming this motherboard/CPU combination will work for that? Things like front & back USB 3.0 are good for keeping it future proof.

I considered reusing the current HDD but that's getting a bit old too so probably best to replace. Thanks for any advice.

System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
Sometimes Amazon isn't always cheapest. As a UK member, I recommend you check PCPartPicker UK, as well as:
OCUK, Aria, Novatech, Dabs, Ebuyer, Scan, CCL Online

As for the main topic, I recommend a lesser version of that i5, which is cheaper. The extra 100mhz won't make much difference to web browsing. You could also consider a Kaveri FM2+ system.

@ne6togadno @BarbaricSoul