• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Ultimate Realtek HD Audio Driver Mod for Windows 10

vexa

Hi, I simply want a little improvement over my dull, plain realtek onboard soundcard, yet there are too many files and tutorials here and for a total newbie like me, it's kinda confusing to choose which one to install and how to get them work. I just can't "try each one of these and if it doesn't work, reinstall ur windows, lol". This is my work PC, I can't reinstall them. I see UWP, APO, what are those? are there any link that contains all information regarding this topic? is there any AIO installer to install any APO, UWP, etc?
Sorry if I sound stoopid, I'd like to learn more but I don't have time to scroll through 60 pages is there a FAQs somewhere?

My current situation: i've uninstalled my realtek driver, so it's now on windows audio driver. I want to try some enhancements like SB720, maybe? What files are needed and where can I get those? Do I still need to reinstall realtek driver alongside these mods? Too many questions.

setup:
MSI H61M-P31 G3 (ALC887)
old 2.1 speaker and some cheap over ear headphone.
Windows 10 RS5

System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)