• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dell G5 5590 - Throttlestop undervolt not applying

Ardjin

Hi,

First time posting, and sorry it's to potentially ask a silly question, but I really can't figure this out.

Specs, just in case:

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-9300H CPU @ 2.40GHz
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1650
RAM: 8GB DDR4

I've been using Throttlestop for a few months now, because the G5 does seem to run quite hot, reaching the mid 90 degrees celsius quite easily. I put an undervolt of 134.8 on the cpu and cache, which was quite stable, and dropped thing to about 75 - 80 degrees for most games. I also limited the boost clock to 3.9, as it was shooting up to 4.2 and staying there regardless of a damn thing.

There was a BIOS update a few days ago though, and I noticed the temperatures spiked, so I investigated a bit, and saw the undervolt does not apply anymore. Or doesn't seem to, at least. As the only thing that changed was the BIOS, I rolled it back one patch to where I know it worked, and it simply does not anymore now.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Ardjin

Attachments

• Throttlestop 1.jpg
    Throttlestop 1.jpg
    235.8 KB · Views: 3,793
  • Throttlestop 2.jpg
    Throttlestop 2.jpg
    130.7 KB · Views: 3,653

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
The latest Dell BIOS updates disable undervolting. Even going back to the previous BIOS will not get undervolting working.

After going back, some user had success by going into the BIOS and selecting the reset option. Maybe that will work on your laptop. Sad times ahead for many laptop owners.

Here is the reason why laptop manufacturers are doing this.

Edit - The turbo ratio limits are also locked after this microcode update is installed.

Ardjin

Great, so they take away any agency from the consumer and melt our laptops in the process...