• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Throttlestop] [i7_4700MQ] [Utilization] [Non Turbo Ratio]

yb-ressap

Hi,

I'm a newbie here. I started using Throttlestop to improve my laptop's temps, and utilize my CPU's capabilities.

FIVR.png

TPL.png

Unfortunately, I'm having trouble getting the i7_4700MQ to turbo boost to 3.00 GHz (all-core.)

If I start the "TS Bench" without changing any settings, the CPU will go upto 2.4 GHz (base clock speed) only.

TS Bench.png

I can only get the CPU to boost by ticking the "Set Multiplier" box. Alternatively, changing the "Non Turbo Ratio" to "1" in "FIVR" [default value is "0"] allows turbo boost as well.
However, when I do either of these changes I see "Utilization" lighting red in "Limit Reasons" under "Core."

Set Multiplier.png

Non Turbo Ratio.png

"Utilization" is gone during "TS Bench"
TS Bench (Multiplier).png

What does this "Utilization" indicate exactly?

What are the values that I can enter in "Non Turbo Ratio"? I thought this would be "24" as in 2.4 GHz base clock speed.

All tests were done while plugged in. If I perform these tests on battery, results are worse-- in terms of clock speeds.

I use this laptop for everyday use; nothing heavy; documents, web browsing, watching videos.

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
I started using Throttlestop to improve my laptop's temps
What is wrong with your temps? Intel CPUs do a fantastic job looking after themselves. Your CPU is rated to be able to run reliably up to 100°C. Your CPU will automatically thermal throttle and slow down if it ever reaches that temperature. No user intervention is required.

If I start the "TS Bench" without changing any settings, the CPU will go upto 2.4 GHz (base clock speed) only.