• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI xpress 1100 question

Spc_Gunter

Ok, I am very new to integrated video cards. I used to be very afraid of them(sarcastically). But about 5 months ago I bought this laptop with the xpress 1100 in it. I was surprised on how much of a leap technology had made in just a few years on how the integrated cards worked. Anyway, I know that they run off of the computers ram, or atleast that is what I have always thought. Well I have 2, 512 sticks in this laptop, and my video is at 128 mg. If I pull the 2, 512 sticks of ram and put in 2, 1gig sticks will that up my video ram? Its probably a stupid question, but I just really dont know, Its not going to disappoint me if It doesnt but If it does then I am going to try it. I am in Iraq right now, so a laptop is really the only choice you got for computer play, or I would just get a desktop and a pcie card. anyway, any ideas would be gratefully appreciated. Oh, and are there any ideas on optimizing this card at all, not just overclocking, but any tips on getting the most performance out of it. Thanks, SPC Gunter

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
hi and welcome to the forums
a x1100 is decent, but not for gamming (at least 2 year old or newer games)
adn more than 128mb on it will prob make 0 difference, but the rest of the putter will enjoy the 2gb
for gaming a desktop is a must have :)
for optimizing i don't know much, you will have to wait for other posts

System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A