• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need guidance undervolting i7 9750H with ThrottleStop

System Name Lenovo Legion Y540
Processor Core i7 9750H
Memory 32GB 2666MHz DDR4 Kingston HyperX Impact (Dual Channel)
Video Card(s) GTX 1660 Ti
Storage 1 TB Micron NVMe SSD, 2 TB Western Digital HDD
Dear TechPowerUp denizens,

This is my first time attempting to undervolt. So please bear with me and my lack of knowledge. I bought a Lenovo Legion Y540 running a Core i7 9750H with a GTX 1660 Ti about 6 months ago. Initially I used XTU (but I didn't change or tinker any settings) just to monitor the temps as I wasn't confident yet with my limited knowledge. Whenever i played Dota 2, I noticed every now and then temps would spike to 92-94C. This was at stock factory settings. So I decided to repaste both the CPU and GPU with Arctic MX4. After the repasting I noticed I didn't get any spikes on temp to 94C. At most it would be around 88C. It did spike to 91C maybe once every 2-3 days.

After watching countless Youtube vids (especially Bob of all Trades), reddit threads and TechPowerUp threads (especially Unclewebb's comments), I decide to give undervolting a go. With the combined advice from all those sources, I used a Core undervolt = -150mV, Cache undervolt = -125mV, Speed Shift = 0, Disabled and Locked Turbo Power Limits, Disabled BD PROCHOT, set my Turbo Long = 70, Turbo Short = 90 and PP0 Current Limit = 140. I only managed to use TS Bench stress test on 12 threads set to Normal, size 768MB and MHz Fixed and it's already Thermal and EDP throttling And the temps are spiking to crazy 94-95C on most cores!! I got freaked out and decided not to tinker any further or use any other stress tests before consulting the experts here.