• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I just switched to Linux Mint (latest beta release) I AM FREAKING IN LOVE!!! TAKE CARE WINDOWS 10 and 11 LMAO

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is libreoffice the same thing as openoffice or different names. I've been using open-office for many years.
LibreOffice is a fork of OpenOffice. They are similar, but LibreOffice is more feature rich as it has a lot more community support. OpenOffice is still being actively developed however and is still worth using if you already know it's detailed functionality.

I personally keep it installed because it can open some documents perfectly where LibreOffice has a few problems. These are generally older MSOffice formats that LibreOffice struggles with. The Document Foundation has focused on future modern and future document format options and have left past compatibility behind. I have to work with older documents from time to time so compatibility is important and OpenOffice provides that. For that reason alone it's worth having both installed and kept up to date.

Linux on the desktop: an infinite source of pain.

Don't believe anyone who says otherwise - you can try it of course and then run away with third-degree burns.

I wonder why this topic keeps getting updated.
Interesting article if you're looking to validate the opinion of Linux not being a good desktop OS. It has some very serious flaws, both contextual & technical, and misses the point of many reasons Linux is built the way it is. Not a very good citation for your apparent statement. If you do not understand the topic of this thread and the point of discussing it, then perhaps this thread is not a good place for you.

Put another way, please keep your Linux bashing comments to yourself or the mods will be asked to remove you from the thread. Thank You.

tabascosauz

Supporter
Staff member
System Name ab┃ob
Processor 7800X3D┃5800X3D