• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU blown?

scottishminer

Hi all. I'm a noob miner, so please excuse anything stupid/basic below.

About 6 weeks ago I bought a used rig running 5 RX580 Sapphire 8gb cards. It was running fine (no crashes, reboots etc) using HiveOS to mine ETH up until a few days ago. The rig started rebooting out of the blue, at intervals between 2 hours and 15 mins. After multiple reboots it would power up, but the cards were not running. I turned it off manually for a few minutes then powered up again and it all started fine, but with the same rebooting after a while. I tried making some adjustments to the mining settings, but nothing seemed to make a difference.

After a couple of days of this, the circuit breaker in the house tripped. I turned it back on and everything was back to normal (still with rebooting though). The following day the breaker tripped again and when I turned it back on there was a loud pop from the rig, I think from the PSU but not 100% sure. A visual inspection does not give any clues to where the pop came from, but I am wary of trying to power it up again.

The PSU is a Corsair HX1000i and the cards were pulling around 405w according to HiveOS. It is about 2 years old.

I am assuming that the PSU has blown, but I am right assuming this?

Can anyone recommend any solid PSUs to replace it with?

When doing research I found that the TPD of the cards is 185w each, so the rig would have a TPD of around 1025w. Do I need to go for a 1200-1300w PSU when it was previously running around 500w?

Thanks for reading and any input you can give is most welcome!

System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD Ryzen 7800X3D
Motherboard ASUS TUF gaming B650
Cooling Artic Liquid Freezer 2 - 420mm
Memory G.Skill Sniper 32gb DDR5 6000
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 4070 ti super 16gb
Storage Samsung EVO 500gb & 1Tb, 2tb HDD, 500gb WD Black