• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Figuring out whats wrong with these R9 380 cards

Status
Not open for further replies.

istblob

Hello there, I hope you guys are doing well.

I have a couple R9 380 one is MSI and the other is Sapphire both are still with 4GB until now :D

I'm new to fixing up this kind of stuff, but I'm into learning new things. So i managed to get one card to my machine and did some initial software inspection I got to the conculsion that I have a bad RAM (three chips apparently are faulty) on the MSI which is a Hynix based one,

Bash:
Memory vendor info in vbios: Vendor HYNIX, Rev 6, P/N H5GC4H24AJR
GDDR5 Information (149M/299E):
CH C0: VID=0x0b0b6666 HYNIX H5GC4H24AJR Rev:0x6 Density:4096Mb FIFO:6 <45'C
CH C1: VID=0x66660b0b HYNIX H5GC4H24AJR Rev:0x6 Density:4096Mb FIFO:6 <45'C
CH A0: VID=0x0b0b6666 HYNIX H5GC4H24AJR Rev:0x6 Density:4096Mb FIFO:6 65'C
CH A1: VID=0x66660b0b HYNIX H5GC4H24AJR Rev:0x6 Density:4096Mb FIFO:6 <45'C
CH D0: VID=0xaffebfff MICRON  Rev:0xa Density:4096Mb FIFO:7
CH D1: VID=0x08080808 Invalid data
CH F0: VID=0x08080808 Invalid data
CH F1: VID=0x0b0b6666 HYNIX H5GC4H24AJR Rev:0x6 Density:4096Mb FIFO:6 <45'C

on the other hand I can control many aspects of the card, like voltage/clock/fan speed etc, but of course with a bad RAM i won't be able to see anything on the screen expect a black screen with some random stripe that is of pinkish/yellowish based color, I dont know if replacing these CH D0/D1/F0 would actually fix the problem of this card or not but i think for the learning experience its worth the trial, I do know that its not an easy peasy job.

or maybe all of what i figured out does make no sense at all and someone can shed some more light.