• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

10875h never decrease max core frequency

EGD

Hi,

First, excuse my english, i'm french :)
Second, excuse me cause i'm a total noob regarding CPU working /overclocking :)

I own a MSI Raider GE75 with Intel 10875h (2,3Ghz / 5,1Ghz turbo max) and RTX 2070 for 10 months now.
I did not payed attention at first, but CPU temperature seems wrong since the beggining...Fans are often on on a medium flow, and simple web task make temperatures grow till 90-95°C.
I opened it and repaste it with arctic silver (only old paste I owned at the moment), and temperatures went a bit down (also cause fans were already obstructed with dust (although i'm working on a clean desk))
I recently monitored my CPU with Intel XTU, and was surprised to see that my Max Core Frequency is on an almost constant 4,2 Ghz or so, even when i'm on Idle...
I tried to change Windows power profile, but without any changes. I assume MSI Dragon Center override it in his software, which propose 4 scenarios ( extrem, balanced, silent and super battery). My max core frequency only decrease on the super user battery mode, but XTU show me that this mode set a constant Power Limit Throttling...
I can't tune values in XTU because they are all pretty much greyed out.
I'm also suprised not to see Max Core Frequency reching it's highest possible (5,1Ghz) on a stress test...Is it normal?

I don't know where to look to have a CPU working as it should in a balance energy mode...
Thanks in advance for who could help!

D

Deleted member 185158

Performance over power savings I always say.
You're not going to save much energy, and these usually just run hot.

System Name MSI GP76
Processor intel i7 11800h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 3070
Storage x2 PNY 8tb cs2130 m.2 SSD--16tb of space
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 240Hz
Power Supply 280w laptop power supply