• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

¿is there a gigabit internet speed test available to test my new internet connection? they all cap at 350mbit

Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
587 (0.17/day)
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2013
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory 64GB DDR3 1333mhz 16x4
Video Card(s) Ati HD5770 1GB DDR5 with Massive Heatsink and 120mm fan
Storage Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB sata3 + Samsung SSD sata3 860 500GB + 1TB SSD NVME PCIE 2.0
Display(s) Spectre 27"
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply EVGA 500W
Mouse Chinese gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech corded keyboard
Software Windows 10
hi I just got century link fiber optic and they showed me they tested internet in my house and it says is 940mbit up and down. but when I try it myself not with their machines and servers I only get a max of 600mbits at best using google fiber optic servers in los angeles I tried other servers websites and I get less cause their testing system is even more capped. Is there someone here from utah with gigabit internet to do a simple speed test of uploading and downloading from like a ftp server I'll set up myself? or is there a public website for testing that is fast and preferably in utah?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_2020-11-30 Screenshot.png
    Screenshot_2020-11-30 Screenshot.png
    30.7 KB · Views: 107

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
656 (2.28/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop/2 Laptops/1 Netbook
Processor AMD Athon X2 64/Intel Pentium 997/Intel Pentium 4/Intel Atom
Motherboard EpoX ATX motherboard/Samsung/Toshiba/Lenovo
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB/4 GB/2 GB/2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti/Intel HD Graphics/GeForce 4MX/Intel GMA
Storage 6+ TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch 1024x768@60Hz 4:3 Aspect Ratio CRT Monitor
Case None
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt & VenomRX 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man Wireless Mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless Keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
Try checking with these websites to see what speed you are really getting & post your results with a screenshot in this thread.


 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
587 (0.17/day)
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2013
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory 64GB DDR3 1333mhz 16x4
Video Card(s) Ati HD5770 1GB DDR5 with Massive Heatsink and 120mm fan
Storage Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB sata3 + Samsung SSD sata3 860 500GB + 1TB SSD NVME PCIE 2.0
Display(s) Spectre 27"
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply EVGA 500W
Mouse Chinese gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech corded keyboard
Software Windows 10
1606779926810.png
1606779954172.png
1606780124271.png
1606780146301.png
1606780351846.png

I can't reach 600mbit anymore even temporarily like that time with google test. My internet settings say is at top speed. And technician showed me a screen with close to 940mbit streams from his own test.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
2,159 (0.47/day)
System Name Budget AMD System
Processor Threadripper 1900X @ 4.025Ghz (100x40.25 @ 1.325V)
Motherboard Gigabyte X399 Aorus Gaming 7
Cooling EKWB X399 Monoblock
Memory 4x8GB GSkill TridentZ RGB 12-12-13-32 CR1 @ 3200
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX Vega₆⁴ Liquid @ 1,800Mhz Core, 1100 HBM2
Storage 1x ADATA SX8200 NVMe, 1x Segate 2.5" FireCuda 2TB SATA, 1x 500GB HGST SATA
Display(s) Vizio 22" 1080p 60hz TV (Samsung Panel)
Case Corsair 570X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X Series 850W KM3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
View attachment 177610View attachment 177611View attachment 177612View attachment 177613View attachment 177614
I can't reach 600mbit anymore even temporarily like that time with google test. My internet settings say is at top speed. And technician showed me a screen with close to 940mbit streams from his own test.

He was likely doing an internal test. Like out to the node and back. I've heard of that being done. I know our ISP says its 1Gbps but if during peak usage 7-10pm.. you may drop to around 400-600Mbps.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
868 (0.20/day)
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory 32 GB Ballistix Elite DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) XFX 6800 XT Speedster Merc 319 Black
Storage Sabrent Rocket NVMe 4.0 1TB
Display(s) ASUS MG278Q
Case Corsair Carbide 600Q
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Are you testing on a hard wired connection or WiFi?
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
587 (0.17/day)
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2013
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory 64GB DDR3 1333mhz 16x4
Video Card(s) Ati HD5770 1GB DDR5 with Massive Heatsink and 120mm fan
Storage Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB sata3 + Samsung SSD sata3 860 500GB + 1TB SSD NVME PCIE 2.0
Display(s) Spectre 27"
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply EVGA 500W
Mouse Chinese gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech corded keyboard
Software Windows 10
Are you testing on a hard wired connection or WiFi?
wire, I got gigabit speeds I know, I tested the speed doing file transfer with my laptop on the same switch and the switch is connected to the switch from centurylink and that switch to the modem with a cable. Ive used this setup to connect to my pc on another room that goes through a third switch from this pc and I got gigabit speed too from that computer that's 3 switches away. It might be as Flyordie says that the internal test doesn't go trough traffic so it gets clear and full speed... I'm starting to get disapointed although... I'll test again at like 1am when no one's around and see if I get higher.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
1,021 (0.89/day)
Location
Arizona
System Name Space Heater MKIII
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-PLUS WiFi
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate, 5x Cryorig XF140 fans
Memory 2x16GB Team T-Force Dark Z DDR4-3600 C18 1.35V (running 3200MHz C16)
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1070 Gigabyte G1 Gaming
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 2x1TB Crucial MX500 (striped array), 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Monoprice 35" 3440x1440p 100Hz
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 750 B3, CyberPower CST135XLU
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Google has another speed test. Try that.

 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
587 (0.17/day)
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2013
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory 64GB DDR3 1333mhz 16x4
Video Card(s) Ati HD5770 1GB DDR5 with Massive Heatsink and 120mm fan
Storage Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB sata3 + Samsung SSD sata3 860 500GB + 1TB SSD NVME PCIE 2.0
Display(s) Spectre 27"
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply EVGA 500W
Mouse Chinese gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech corded keyboard
Software Windows 10
1606782639919.png

I have no choice but to find someone in the US preferably close to Utah to set up a ftp test with someone also using gigabit internet, that way I know is not a server cap or extra traffic lag.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
1,021 (0.89/day)
Location
Arizona
System Name Space Heater MKIII
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-PLUS WiFi
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate, 5x Cryorig XF140 fans
Memory 2x16GB Team T-Force Dark Z DDR4-3600 C18 1.35V (running 3200MHz C16)
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1070 Gigabyte G1 Gaming
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 2x1TB Crucial MX500 (striped array), 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Monoprice 35" 3440x1440p 100Hz
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 750 B3, CyberPower CST135XLU
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Another thing you could try is downloading a Linux distro or something via BitTorrent. One of the advantages of BT is the potentially very high transfer speeds.

And no, BT is not illegal. It all depends on what you use it to download. Linux distros and other FOSS things are fine.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
587 (0.17/day)
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2013
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory 64GB DDR3 1333mhz 16x4
Video Card(s) Ati HD5770 1GB DDR5 with Massive Heatsink and 120mm fan
Storage Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB sata3 + Samsung SSD sata3 860 500GB + 1TB SSD NVME PCIE 2.0
Display(s) Spectre 27"
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply EVGA 500W
Mouse Chinese gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech corded keyboard
Software Windows 10
Another thing you could try is downloading a Linux distro or something via BitTorrent. One of the advantages of BT is the potentially very high transfer speeds.

And no, BT is not illegal. It all depends on what you use it to download. Linux distros and other FOSS things are fine.
oh yea lol that's the first thing I did to test speed when tech was here, he said that depends on the server or something when I couldn't get too high, I'll try although before I reach 250mbit the download may end but I'll look deep for a fat bittorent
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
1,995 (0.72/day)
Location
Serbia
Processor Ryzen 3200G
Motherboard X570 I Aorus Pro
Cooling Noctua L12S + Kryonaut
Memory HyperX Fury 2 x 8GB 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) RX 470 Nitro+ 4GB
Storage SX8200 Pro 512 / 860 Evo SATA 250GB
Display(s) 24G2U
Mouse G703
Keyboard Apex m500 (red)
Software W10
I found Steam servers to be pretty representative of max continuous download speed. Try that with a large enough game.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
1,021 (0.89/day)
Location
Arizona
System Name Space Heater MKIII
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-PLUS WiFi
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate, 5x Cryorig XF140 fans
Memory 2x16GB Team T-Force Dark Z DDR4-3600 C18 1.35V (running 3200MHz C16)
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1070 Gigabyte G1 Gaming
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 2x1TB Crucial MX500 (striped array), 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Monoprice 35" 3440x1440p 100Hz
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 750 B3, CyberPower CST135XLU
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
oh yea lol that's the first thing I did to test speed when tech was here, he said that depends on the server or something when I couldn't get too high, I'll try although before I reach 250mbit the download may end but I'll look deep for a fat bittorent
Maybe grab a bunch of Linux torrents and run them together.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,854 (4.93/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I did a speed test with my Gigabit connection all the way from Chicago to the Centralink server in Salt Lake City and got these results:


Sorry to break it to you, but it sounds like they are saying you are getting 1Gb/s, but are only really giving you ~300Mb/s.
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
656 (2.28/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop/2 Laptops/1 Netbook
Processor AMD Athon X2 64/Intel Pentium 997/Intel Pentium 4/Intel Atom
Motherboard EpoX ATX motherboard/Samsung/Toshiba/Lenovo
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB/4 GB/2 GB/2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti/Intel HD Graphics/GeForce 4MX/Intel GMA
Storage 6+ TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch 1024x768@60Hz 4:3 Aspect Ratio CRT Monitor
Case None
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt & VenomRX 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man Wireless Mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless Keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
What I would do to test realistic bandwidth speed is to use a download manager that can saturate the bandwidth such as Free Download Manager, then download any 1 gigabyte size file from a reputably fast server & then look at the graph to see how fast the file is downloading. To me, this is the best method to see how fast my internet is, as it is indicative of my real world scenario. This might apply to you guys or it might not, depending on what you guys usually do on the internet.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
587 (0.17/day)
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2013
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory 64GB DDR3 1333mhz 16x4
Video Card(s) Ati HD5770 1GB DDR5 with Massive Heatsink and 120mm fan
Storage Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB sata3 + Samsung SSD sata3 860 500GB + 1TB SSD NVME PCIE 2.0
Display(s) Spectre 27"
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply EVGA 500W
Mouse Chinese gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech corded keyboard
Software Windows 10
let's do it newki, wanna set up an ftp connection? and no I got at least 600mbit cause... I was running torrents for like 30min with multiple fat ubuntus and they maxed most of what I was expecting but I'm still not sure... wanna try? Log in using filezilla or whichever to 67.2.254.8 speed/speed
server is configured with no speed limit and you can write to my drive D if you want to.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
49,822 (8.21/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO | Custom 280mm EK loop
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz) - EK ARGB block
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
No one is going to trust you to do an FTP link and direct file transfers, and that will NOT be an accurate test of anything.

Wire something gigabit direct to your modem/router, and do a speedtest. If your devices dont have gigabit support, buy something that does or stop wasting money on gigabit fiber.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
12,093 (3.56/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Full Size Wireless Apple Magic Keyboard
Software MacOS 10.15.7
The numbers you're showing looks like you're trying to use a gigabit ethernet adapter over USB 2.0.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,555 (1.58/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
One thing to remember is your service contract surely says something like, "speeds up to XXXMbps".
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
587 (0.17/day)
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2013
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory 64GB DDR3 1333mhz 16x4
Video Card(s) Ati HD5770 1GB DDR5 with Massive Heatsink and 120mm fan
Storage Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB sata3 + Samsung SSD sata3 860 500GB + 1TB SSD NVME PCIE 2.0
Display(s) Spectre 27"
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply EVGA 500W
Mouse Chinese gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech corded keyboard
Software Windows 10
I got 900mbit now with a direct cable cat5e to my laptop. Gonna buy a cat6 and see if i get 980 or moar!
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,854 (4.93/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I got 900mbit now with a direct cable cat5e to my laptop. Gonna buy a cat6 and see if i get 980 or moar!

You won't, cat6 won't improve speed any. Cat5e is good for 10Gbps.
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
656 (2.28/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop/2 Laptops/1 Netbook
Processor AMD Athon X2 64/Intel Pentium 997/Intel Pentium 4/Intel Atom
Motherboard EpoX ATX motherboard/Samsung/Toshiba/Lenovo
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB/4 GB/2 GB/2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti/Intel HD Graphics/GeForce 4MX/Intel GMA
Storage 6+ TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch 1024x768@60Hz 4:3 Aspect Ratio CRT Monitor
Case None
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt & VenomRX 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man Wireless Mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless Keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
You won't, cat6 won't improve speed any. Cat5e is good for 10Gbps.
I agree but no point in telling him that. It'll just make him want to get those cable even more cuz that's just the way he is. Something I know as I have been seeing alotta his post these past 3 days. So did you make a direct ftp connection with him or not?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
12,093 (3.56/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Full Size Wireless Apple Magic Keyboard
Software MacOS 10.15.7
I got 900mbit now with a direct cable cat5e to my laptop. Gonna buy a cat6 and see if i get 980 or moar!
If the same cable is giving you gigabit on your laptop but not on your tower, then it's not the cable.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
1,778 (3.94/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x with optimus sigV2 & 10900k with optimus foundation & Q9550 with EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) Titan Xp & 1080ti ftw3 & evga 980ti gaming
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply evga 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 & CyberPower-GX1325U
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G910 & G710+x2
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
hi I just got century link fiber optic and they showed me they tested internet in my house and it says is 940mbit up and down. but when I try it myself not with their machines and servers I only get a max of 600mbits at best using google fiber optic servers in los angeles I tried other servers websites and I get less cause their testing system is even more capped. Is there someone here from utah with gigabit internet to do a simple speed test of uploading and downloading from like a ftp server I'll set up myself? or is there a public website for testing that is fast and preferably in utah?
Hi,
Seems they are using different terms normal is mbps not mbit.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rei
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
11,514 (2.05/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
7,458 (2.86/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
Hi,
Seems they are using different terms normal is mbps not mbit.
That's OP getting them mixed up. ISP' places always go by megabits, not bytes.
 
Top