• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1 error after 383 loops

headlessgnome

New Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Hi, left Memtest64 overnight and saw that I got an error, does this mean my overclock is bad? And BTW Memtest64 freezes Windows, cursor is responsive but Windows doesn't respond to anything.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
25,160 (3.68/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
And BTW Memtest64 freezes Windows, cursor is responsive but Windows doesn't respond to anything.
Thats normal if you test a lot of memory. Current programs and some Windows components get moved out of memory to the pagefile. When you start interacting with something like start menu or desktop those components will have to be loaded back from pagefile.

Hi, left Memtest64 overnight and saw that I got an error, does this mean my overclock is bad?
Yeah, maybe memory timings are a little bit too tight, or memory frequency is too high.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
17,779 (3.21/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Strix XG27UQR (4K, 144Hz, G-SYNC compatible) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Hi, left Memtest64 overnight and saw that I got an error, does this mean my overclock is bad? And BTW Memtest64 freezes Windows, cursor is responsive but Windows doesn't respond to anything.
Yeah, maybe memory timings are a little bit too tight, or memory frequency is too high.
I had a PC like that once. Just a tad wobbly if stress tested at a particular overclock, but I had to drop it back a few percent to get rid of it. I wanted the extra performance though. Ran Windows and all my games just fine, so I kept it like that.

On your PC, I would still try to stabilise it first, though.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
25,160 (3.68/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
I wanted the extra performance though. Ran Windows and all my games just fine, so I kept it like that.
Happened to me too. It was always fine in Windows and games... and then crashed during 40 man WOW raid in the middle of the boss fight, and everybody just hated me :nutkick:
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
17,779 (3.21/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Strix XG27UQR (4K, 144Hz, G-SYNC compatible) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Happened to me too. It was always fine in Windows and games... and then crashed during 40 man WOW raid in the middle of the boss fight, and everybody just hated me :nutkick:
Oh admit it, someone from the other team messaged you to do Alt+F4 and you fell for it. ;):p
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
18,867 (3.34/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard EVGA X570 FTW Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (4 x 8GB SR Samsung B-Die) @ DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 850W T2
Mouse Steelseries Prime Wireless
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 Keyboard with MX Cherry Green Switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Oh admit it, someone from the other team messaged you to do Alt+F4 and you fell for it. ;):p

Our W1zzard is immune to such shenanigans! Heresy! Heresy!
 
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
1,943 (0.93/day)
Memory module should not produce any errors whatsoever. It should last months or even years of continuous testing if your lucky.
 
Last edited:

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,649 (3.66/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: i5 10400
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: ASUS Prime H570-Plus
Cooling Cryorig M9 :: Stock
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 2133 :: 2x8GB DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Crucial MX500 1TB, 2x1TB Seagate RAID 0 :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, 3x4TB Seagate HDD RAID5
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - Bose Companion 2 Series III :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: EVGA Supernova 550
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
It's unstable yes.
 
Top