• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1 long beep, 3 short beeps. No signal.

Biggy1337

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I have AMI BIOS and I looked up the meaning of this, it means I have bad RAM. I tried all combinations and even tried different RAM that works on another computer and still no luck. The RAM is used is supported by my motherboard. Is there anything I can do to fix this problem other than buying a new motherboard? My motherboard is a M2R32-MVP, and I am using CorSair DDR2 800 RAM (1.8V). I tried 667 RAM(1.8V), and there was no luck with that either.
Thanks
 
Last edited:

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.18/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#2
Try running the ram at higher voltages FIRST, 2.2 volts is what works for my ram, nothing less! Run Memtest if problem is not resolved.
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#3
I had the same thing once... Volted the ram upto 2.1 and worked like a charm :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,202 (9.53/day)
Likes
13,685
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
boot the system with one stick of ram, then manually set voltages and timings.

I dont know that motherboard model, but if its an AMD the memory controller is inside the CPU - so an unsupported CPU (or a faulty one) can also cause the memory beeps.
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#5
Couldn't of worded that better myself Mussels... (obviously) haha.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,573 (1.41/day)
Likes
1,171
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#6
1 long and 3 short = mem issue. clear bios and reseat the mem and then try.

only long beep means the cpu went south.
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#7
suraswami... Did you read the opening post?

He knows he has a problem with the memory.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
415 (0.12/day)
Likes
40
Location
Pakistan
System Name Mean Machine
Processor Intel Core i5 2400 at 3.1 GHz
Motherboard Asus can't remember the model
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 103
Memory Kingston 4GB 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850 1 GB
Storage WD Cavier SEII 3200AAKS 320 GB and Seagate 500 GB
Display(s) HP X22 LED
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy
Power Supply Cooler Master Real Power Pro 650W
Software Pro/E, Delcam Powermill, These things just for work.
#8
The kind of beeps are related to the memory, try 1 module at a time or swap the modules. Keep memory setting at auto.

Note: I think beep signals may differ from manufacturers to manufacturers of BIOS.
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#9
Are you guys not seeing what i see in the opening post???? He knows it's a mem issue, Mussels & PVT has already told him what he should do... have a little paitiance... lets see what he has to report back with shall we :)
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
415 (0.12/day)
Likes
40
Location
Pakistan
System Name Mean Machine
Processor Intel Core i5 2400 at 3.1 GHz
Motherboard Asus can't remember the model
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 103
Memory Kingston 4GB 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850 1 GB
Storage WD Cavier SEII 3200AAKS 320 GB and Seagate 500 GB
Display(s) HP X22 LED
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy
Power Supply Cooler Master Real Power Pro 650W
Software Pro/E, Delcam Powermill, These things just for work.
#10
Sorry dexter, sorry for being impatient. By the way Nintendo is on the right place.
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#11
Sorry, i was a little tired n kept seeing the similar post everywhere. So i thought i would just save you n a few others from repeating even more :)

Yen Nintendo is the right place... on the back end of things... haha.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,573 (1.41/day)
Likes
1,171
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#12

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#13
Ok, sorry, you did tell him to clear his bios :)

Which if it is a mem issue (not enough Voltage) then Bios should be reset and then on the first boot after the reset get straight into Bios n then change the voltage.

Some people do usully have a stick of ram for things like this - they'd simply put the stick that they know will work at stock into the machine then change the settings, but i've found just resetting the Bios and going straight into bios works for me :)
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
42 (0.01/day)
Likes
10
System Name my rig
Processor C2D E6750@3,6 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KC
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 LED, 2X120mm,5X92mm,2X70mm,1X40mm ;)
Memory Supertalent KIT 2x1+2x2 = 6GB DDR-2, 900Mhz, CL4 Oc 900 Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7770 GHz Edition OC 1GB GDDR5 Core 1100mhz, mem. 1250mhz
Storage 2X Hitachi 500GB + 1X1TB, SerialATA2, 7200, 16MB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 931BF, Digital
Case Chieftec CA-01B-B-SL 530x205x650 mm
Audio Device(s) Integrated on Mobo
Power Supply Cooler Master B600
Software Win 7 x64
#14
@ Biggy1337
My mobo is also Asus with AMI bios and the usur manual said: "1long - 3 short beeps - No VGA detected". I've faced the same problem couple of times and always was the VGA. Maybe it loosen itself. Try to push it gently to the PCI-E slot and check the power cables. It works fine for me all the time. Or try other VGA if you have.
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#15
I've just looked it up aswel,

1 Short Beep One beep is good! Everything is ok, that is if you see things on the screen. If you don't see anything, check your monitor and video card first. Is everything connected? If they seem fine, your motherboard has some bad chips on it. First reset the SIMM's and reboot. If it does the same thing, one of the memory chips on the motherboard are bad, and you most likely need to get another motherboard since these chips are soldered on.

2 Short Beeps Your computer has memory problems. First check video. If video is working, you'll see an error message. If not, you have a parity error in your first 64K of memory. First check your SIMM's. Reseat them and reboot. If this doesn't do it, the memory chips may be bad. You can try switching the first and second banks memory chips. First banks are the memory banks that your CPU finds its first 64K of base memory in. You'll need to consult your manual to see which bank is first. If all your memory tests good, you probably need to buy another motherboard.

3 Short Beeps Basically the same thing as 2 beeps. Follow that diagnosis above.

4 Short Beeps Basically the same thing as 2 beeps. Follow that diagnosis above. It could also be a bad timer

5 Short Beeps Your motherboard is complaining. Try reseating the memory and rebooting. If that doesn't help, you should consider another motherboard. You could probably get away with just replacing the CPU, but that's not too cost-effective. Its just time to upgrade!

6 Short Beeps The chip on your motherboard that controls your keyboard (A20 gate) isn't working. First try another keyboard. If it doesn't help, reseat the chip that controls the keyboard, if it isn't soldered in. If it still beeps, replace the chip if possible. Replace the motherboard if it is soldered in.

7 Short Beeps Your CPU broke overnight. Its no good. Either replace the CPU, or buy another motherboard.

8 Short Beeps Your video card isn't working. Make sure it is seated well in the bus. If it still beeps, either the whole card is bad or the memory on it is. Best bet is to install another video card.

9 Short Beeps Your BIOS is bad. Reseat or Replace the BIOS.

10 Short Beeps Your problem lies deep inside the CMOS. All chips associated with the CMOS will likely have to be replaced. Your best bet is to get a new motherboard.

11 Short Beeps Your problem is in the Cache Memory chips on the motherboard. Reseat or Replace these chips.

1 Long, 3 Short Beeps You've probably just added memory to the motherboard since this is a conventional or extended memory failure. Generally this is caused by a memory chip that is not seated properly. Reseat the memory chips.

1 Long, 8 Short Beeps Display / retrace test failed. Reseat the video card.
 

Biggy1337

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#16
Hey, thanks for all the information and fast response times. I would have responded faster but I was sleeping lol.
Anyways I have been trying to fix this problem for a long time. Its very annoying because I can only get to the Bios once. If i don't fix it and I try restarting my computer or turning it off and on, my screen says no signal and even though i am pretty sure my computer turns on I don't get a picture. I have to wait 3+ hours with my computer off before I can turn my computer on again and get a signal. And yes, I have tried clearing my CMOS, and tried to drain the capacitors. Still no luck. I am going to try to force my DDR2 RAM to 1.8V instead of it being auto right now. I will try to force it to 1.9V next if 1.8 doesn't work. I will tell you if that works. ( sorry for the wrong information my ram was 1.8V and not 2.1V, )
Thanks again for all of the information
 
Last edited:

Biggy1337

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#17
@ Biggy1337
My mobo is also Asus with AMI bios and the usur manual said: "1long - 3 short beeps - No VGA detected". I've faced the same problem couple of times and always was the VGA. Maybe it loosen itself. Try to push it gently to the PCI-E slot and check the power cables. It works fine for me all the time. Or try other VGA if you have.
Thanks for the info, I am really starting to think that is what the problem is.
About a month ago I swapped out my X1650 Pro for my Radon Sapphire X1900 GT.
 

Biggy1337

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#18
I've just looked it up aswel,
1 Long, 3 Short Beeps You've probably just added memory to the motherboard since this is a conventional or extended memory failure. Generally this is caused by a memory chip that is not seated properly. Reseat the memory chips.
I have reseated my memory plenty of times and it seems like it works well. I even tried different memory and still no luck. I will have to try and use a program to see if something is wrong with my RAM. If nothing is wrong with the RAM, then will start trying to figure out more problems with my video card.
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#19
...........
1 Long, 3 Short Beeps You've probably just added memory to the motherboard since this is a conventional or extended memory failure. Generally this is caused by a memory chip that is not seated properly. Reseat the memory chips.

1 Long, 8 Short Beeps Display / retrace test failed. Reseat the video card.
It's a RAM issue, not graphic related.

I thought you would of noticed that when i backed up your thought about it (notice the highlighted parts above in the quote).

Try the following steps i mentioned before aswel - With the sounds of it your half way there and you know what your doing, So basically once you get into Bios for the first time after Bios reset change the voltage, I don't suggest 1.8v like you said though, It should be fine at 2.0.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
155 (0.04/day)
Likes
9
#20
What PSU to you have? I had similar problems and it was actually related to my PSU.

Do you have another one lying around?