• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

10 Gigabit Won't Work

Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
697 (0.13/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 4690K
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme4
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) R9 Nano
Storage 256GB SATA SSD 2TB WD Blue
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master Elite 130
Power Supply CX650M
Software Argh, Windows 10. I hated Windows 7. I hate Windows 10 more. Give me back XP!!!
I bought a Netgear 10 Port switch that has 2 10G ports.

I bought this switch.


I needed a new switch so I figured I'd get one with 10G ports.

I also bought 2 10G network cards for my computers.

These are the network cards I bought.


I've connected my main computer and my media server to the 10G ports with the 10G cards.

The problem is that it seems like my connection is limited to about 3 Gigabits.

It says 10G in windows but when I try to run iperf between the two computers I only get about 3G.

And transfering files is also a lot slower than 10G.

I'm scratching my head now trying to figure out the problem.

Any suggestions?
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2020
Messages
315 (1.11/day)
Location
::1
Are you running NVMe SSDs on your mediaserver?
Because SATA will cap out well below 10,000BASE speeds and bottleneck your network.
 
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
616 (1.74/day)
System Name Main PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi)
Cooling EKWB X570 VIII Hero Monoblock, 2x XD5, Heatkiller IV SB block for chipset,Alphacool 3090 Strix block
Memory 4x16GB 3200-14-14-14-34 G.Skill Trident RGB (OC: 3600-14-14-14-28)
Video Card(s) ASUS RTX 3090 Strix OC
Storage 500GB+500GB SSD RAID0, Fusion IoDrive2 1.2TB, Huawei HSSD 2TB, 11TB on server used for steam
Display(s) Dell LG CX48 (custom res: 3840x1620@120Hz) + Acer XB271HU 2560x1440@144Hz
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD599, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MK2
Software Windows 10 Pro 20H2
Are you running NVMe SSDs on your mediaserver?
Because SATA will cap out well below 10,000BASE speeds and bottleneck your network.
iperf doesn't use storage, it sends only network packets. If iperf is reporting sub ~10gbit, it's a connection issue.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
22,096 (3.56/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Did you enable jumbo frames on all equipment?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,010 (1.33/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
I have pretty much the same setup. Got the EMX version of the switch though and two cards from Aquantia.
Not having any of the issues you're seeing. Not using Jumbo Frames, as there's zero speed difference enabling at 10Gbps.
I obviously don't get exactly 10Gbps either, but it's a lot faster than what you're seeing.
Check the settings so one card isn't set to 5Gbps or something like that. The link lights on the switch should both be green on the 10Gbps ports.
I also presume both machines are at least PCIe 2.0 (ideally PCIE 3.0) and that you're using a x4 slot for the cards? Anything else and you won't get 10Gbps.

1618930894152.png

screencapture-192-168-1-2-homepage-html-2021-04-20-23_14_09.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,555 (1.58/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
What about your cables?

CAT5e has a maximum bandwidth of 1Gbps. CAT6 can go up to 10Gbps up to 55meters (~180 feet). But note that is under ideal conditions. Cheap connectors, bad crimps, even the number and radius of the bends (as in kinks) in the cable can affect the effective bandwidth.

Ethernet cables are cheap, flimsy, easily damaged, but critically important network devices. I always recommend making your own cables. For one, if I need a 13 foot, or a 15 inch cable, I can make them instead of buying a 25 foot and a 3 foot cable.

But I learned long ago it is important to "invest" in a quality crimper. Cheap (as in low budget) crimpers provide cheap (as in poor quality) crimps. Same with the connectors. And investing in a decent cable tester reduces (or at least does not raise) blood pressures and hair loss.

But there is a skill involved so practice makes perfect. Be ready to sacrifice some cable and a few connectors.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
697 (0.13/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 4690K
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme4
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) R9 Nano
Storage 256GB SATA SSD 2TB WD Blue
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master Elite 130
Power Supply CX650M
Software Argh, Windows 10. I hated Windows 7. I hate Windows 10 more. Give me back XP!!!
Did you enable jumbo frames on all equipment?
I tried enabling jumbo frames, it made no difference.
I have pretty much the same setup. Got the EMX version of the switch though and two cards from Aquantia.
Not having any of the issues you're seeing. Not using Jumbo Frames, as there's zero speed difference enabling at 10Gbps.
I obviously don't get exactly 10Gbps either, but it's a lot faster than what you're seeing.
Check the settings so one card isn't set to 5Gbps or something like that. The link lights on the switch should both be green on the 10Gbps ports.
I also presume both machines are at least PCIe 2.0 (ideally PCIE 3.0) and that you're using a x4 slot for the cards? Anything else and you won't get 10Gbps.

View attachment 197516
View attachment 197517

This is what I get with iperf. I'm not even getting 3G now.

Both cards say they are connected at 10G in Windows.

Both cards are in 3.0 x4 slots.

iperf.jpg

Are you running NVMe SSDs on your mediaserver?
Because SATA will cap out well below 10,000BASE speeds and bottleneck your network.
I have a SATA SSD in my computer and a pair of RAID0 hard drives in the server.

That I guess explains why I'm not getting full 10G during file transfers but I think it should be faster.

And it doesn't explain the crap iperf results.

What about your cables?

CAT5e has a maximum bandwidth of 1Gbps. CAT6 can go up to 10Gbps up to 55meters (~180 feet). But note that is under ideal conditions. Cheap connectors, bad crimps, even the number and radius of the bends (as in kinks) in the cable can affect the effective bandwidth.

Ethernet cables are cheap, flimsy, easily damaged, but critically important network devices. I always recommend making your own cables. For one, if I need a 13 foot, or a 15 inch cable, I can make them instead of buying a 25 foot and a 3 foot cable.

But I learned long ago it is important to "invest" in a quality crimper. Cheap (as in low budget) crimpers provide cheap (as in poor quality) crimps. Same with the connectors. And investing in a decent cable tester reduces (or at least does not raise) blood pressures and hair loss.

But there is a skill involved so practice makes perfect. Be ready to sacrifice some cable and a few connectors.
I have store bought 6ft Cat5e cables.

I read Cat5e can handle 10G up to 40m or something like that.

So the cables shouldn't be a problem.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
937 (2.41/day)
Try a direct connection without the switch.

I find it unlikely that the switch is the problem, but the fewer things you're testing, the better. I've heard that 10Gbit can overheat some switches (causing slowdowns). Again, I don't think that's happening in your case, but might as well cross that issue off the list by just doing direct connections (for test purposes).
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,555 (1.58/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,010 (1.33/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Are you sure the cards are getting the correct bandwidth? That is 2.5Gbps speed, which suggests some setting is wrong.
Could very well be the Cat 5e cables, not all cables are the same, so there's no guarantee it'll work, as Cat 5e was not designed for 10Gbps speeds at all. Yes, it can work on a short length of cable, but no way 40m. At least try getting a couple of Cat 6 cables, as they can do 10Gbps up to 55m.

1618938432876.png


Try a direct connection without the switch.

I find it unlikely that the switch is the problem, but the fewer things you're testing, the better. I've heard that 10Gbit can overheat some switches (causing slowdowns). Again, I don't think that's happening in your case, but might as well cross that issue off the list by just doing direct connections (for test purposes).
It's not the switch, I've had mine for a couple of years and I have never had any issues with it. It's on 24/7/365.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
937 (2.41/day)
No. That is wrong. As I noted, CAT5e only supports up to 1Gbps. This is easily verified with our friend Bing Google.

"Supports" is not a concept that works very well in the physical world.

CAT5e is designed for 1Gbps. But in practice, you'll see speeds in excess of 1Gbps if you put equipment on them (or less, depending on local conditions). As a physical device, you can affect the speed of a connection by twisting or stepping on cables sometimes. CAT6 is designed for 10Gbps. That means its noise characteristics are low enough that 10Gbps can be "heard" through to the other side.

Ethernet (including 10Gbit Ethernet) is designed to auto-negotiate. At the beginning of any connection, there's a period where the computer tests what speed its able to get to. If its able to get to 2.5 Gbps, then it will use that (even if its a 10Gbit card). The physical wire may be too noisy. Even a CAT6 cable could be installed wrong and perform poorly. Twist the cable the wrong way, and the stress/strain on the copper inside the cable can degrade the signal (so now its "too noisy" for 10Gbps, but maybe 5Gbps or 1Gbps will work). Or twists / kinks in the wire, or maybe broken shielding, or poorly installed heads.

In contrast, if you really baby the cable: keep it short, have high quality connections, do a good job installing the head... then even CAT5e can do 10Gbps (even though its not designed for it). In any case, working with higher quality cables (ex: CAT6) would help remove one possible issue.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2020
Messages
155 (0.82/day)
System Name Dusty
Processor 8700k - delid - 5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus X Hero
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Corsair Vengence LPX 32GB
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3070 Gaming X
Storage yes
Case Fractal Design Define R6
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w
"Supports" is not a concept that works very well in the physical world.

CAT5e is designed for 1Gbps. But in practice, you'll see speeds in excess of 1Gbps if you put equipment on them (or less, depending on local conditions). As a physical device, you can affect the speed of a connection by twisting or stepping on cables sometimes. CAT6 is designed for 10Gbps. That means its noise characteristics are low enough that 10Gbps can be "heard" through to the other side.

Ethernet (including 10Gbit Ethernet) is designed to auto-negotiate. At the beginning of any connection, there's a period where the computer tests what speed its able to get to. If its able to get to 2.5 Gbps, then it will use that (even if its a 10Gbit card). The physical wire may be too noisy. Even a CAT6 cable could be installed wrong and perform poorly. Twist the cable the wrong way, and the stress/strain on the copper inside the cable can degrade the signal (so now its "too noisy" for 10Gbps, but maybe 5Gbps or 1Gbps will work). Or twists / kinks in the wire, or maybe broken shielding, or poorly installed heads.

In contrast, if you really baby the cable: keep it short, have high quality connections, do a good job installing the head... then even CAT5e can do 10Gbps (even though its not designed for it). In any case, working with higher quality cables (ex: CAT6) would help remove one possible issue.
Worth adding is that the IEEE states that cat5e is a "reliable medium for support of 2.5Gbps and 5Gbps" for up too 100m
Crosstalk and interference in general however could still cause problems.

10.1109/IEEESTD.2018.8457469
126.7.2

I have also seen a lot of people over the years successfully running 10Gbps over cat5e up to 50 meters, although results vary depending on environment and quality of cable.

Point being, cat5e can without a doubt handle more than just 1Gbps.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,555 (1.58/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
CAT5e is designed for 1Gbps. But in practice, you'll see speeds in excess of 1Gbps if you put equipment on them

The specs for CAT5e state it supports up to 1Gbps. The OP has already shown where he is getting 3Gbps - so we know it can happen. But he has a 10Gbps switch and NICs and is looking to get, and rightfully so, at least close to 10Gbps.

While faster speeds with CAT5e are possible, that is with ideal conditions - good cable, good connectors, good crimps, short distances, no kinks and minimum to no EMI/RFI.

It should also be pointed out that other factors can limit over all speeds too - such as the speed of the drives you are copying to and from.

Regardless, since we are not talking about pulling new cables threw walls, I would replace those CAT5e with CAT6 and then you know your cables are not your bottleneck.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,010 (1.33/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
"Supports" is not a concept that works very well in the physical world.

CAT5e is designed for 1Gbps. But in practice, you'll see speeds in excess of 1Gbps if you put equipment on them (or less, depending on local conditions). As a physical device, you can affect the speed of a connection by twisting or stepping on cables sometimes. CAT6 is designed for 10Gbps. That means its noise characteristics are low enough that 10Gbps can be "heard" through to the other side.

Ethernet (including 10Gbit Ethernet) is designed to auto-negotiate. At the beginning of any connection, there's a period where the computer tests what speed its able to get to. If its able to get to 2.5 Gbps, then it will use that (even if its a 10Gbit card). The physical wire may be too noisy. Even a CAT6 cable could be installed wrong and perform poorly. Twist the cable the wrong way, and the stress/strain on the copper inside the cable can degrade the signal (so now its "too noisy" for 10Gbps, but maybe 5Gbps or 1Gbps will work). Or twists / kinks in the wire, or maybe broken shielding, or poorly installed heads.

In contrast, if you really baby the cable: keep it short, have high quality connections, do a good job installing the head... then even CAT5e can do 10Gbps (even though its not designed for it). In any case, working with higher quality cables (ex: CAT6) would help remove one possible issue.
I mean, it was designed for 1Gbps, but as has been proven, it works perfectly fine for 2.5Gbps, as that is what the 2.5GBASE-T standard was designed to use.
If you have some good cables, it can also work for 10Gbps. I was using that for a while, by mistake, but it was a 2 metre run.

As for Cat 6, that's only up to 55m of 10Gbps and now 100m of 5Gbps, but you need Cat 6A for longer runs at 10Gbps.

Worth adding is that the IEEE states that cat5e is a "reliable medium for support of 2.5Gbps and 5Gbps" for up too 100m
Crosstalk and interference in general however could still cause problems.

10.1109/IEEESTD.2018.8457469
126.7.2

I have also seen a lot of people over the years successfully running 10Gbps over cat5e up to 50 meters, although results vary depending on environment and quality of cable.

Point being, cat5e can without a doubt handle more than just 1Gbps.
Actually, 5Gbps needs Cat 6 to reach 100m, but it will work with Cat 5e up to 55m.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,555 (1.58/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Everybody is talking about "in theory" and while that may be right, it is not helping the OP who is working in the real world - a place where "in theory" frequently does not jive with reality.

He need to try CAT6 cables, designed for his switch and NICs, and see what happens.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
2,007 (0.47/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
Processor R9 5950x
Motherboard Asus x570 Crosshair VIII Formula
Cooling EK 360mm AIO D-RGB
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 2x16gb (CL16@3800MHz)
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce RTX 3090 24GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB NVMe | Intel 660p 2TB NVMe
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 Curved IPS 3440x1440 G-Sync | Oculus Rift
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Objective2 Amp/DAC | AKG K612PRO | Beyerdynamic DT880 (600-ohm) | Blue Yeti Mic
Power Supply Corsair AX 850w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite V2
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB "Cherry MX Brown"
Software Win 10 pro
If you gonna spend money on 10g connection why cheap out on cable? :shadedshu:

as already mentioned get cat6 cables
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
1,128 (0.64/day)
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard ASRock X570 Taichi
Cooling Le Grand Macho
Memory 32GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Too much
Display(s) Acer 144Hz 1440p IPS 27"
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) JDS labs The Element II, Dan Clark Audio Aeon II
Power Supply EVGA 850w P2
Mouse G305
Keyboard iGK64 w/ 30n optical switches
As others have stated, swapping cables should be your first option.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
697 (0.13/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 4690K
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme4
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) R9 Nano
Storage 256GB SATA SSD 2TB WD Blue
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master Elite 130
Power Supply CX650M
Software Argh, Windows 10. I hated Windows 7. I hate Windows 10 more. Give me back XP!!!
No. That is wrong. As I noted, CAT5e only supports up to 1Gbps. This is easily verified with our friend Bing Google.

Cat5e vs. Cat6 (cablematters.com)

How to Choose an Ethernet Cable | Digital Trends
Ok.

I will buy new cables and see if that helps.

If you gonna spend money on 10g connection why cheap out on cable? :shadedshu:

as already mentioned get cat6 cables
It was just the cables I already had.

Since I read from several places that Cat5e works with 10G just fine I figured I wouldn't bother replacing them.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2021
Messages
30 (0.27/day)
If you could plug those two computers together and run iperf, I think you will be able to tell for sure if your cables are the problem or it is something else.
Like someone mention earlier, try working your way up to the problem. Direct connection then add other hardware once you confirm it works the way it should be.
I think is ideal to figure the problem and then you can decide on the purchase.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,555 (1.58/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Since I read from several places that Cat5e works with 10G just fine I figured I wouldn't bother replacing them.
Well, CAT5e does "work with" 10Gbps. But it is the same as USB 2.0 devices "work with" USB 3.0. Or slower RAM "works with" faster RAM.

But as is the case with many things, the "weakest" or in this case, the "slowest" link sets the performance limit for the entire system.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2014
Messages
2,433 (0.96/day)
I have store bought 6ft Cat5e cables.
Assuming these are in excellent physical condition, these shouldn't be the problem.
If you haven't already, try hooking up one cable directly between the machines (as suggested by others), if you still only get 2.5G with two or three different Cat5e cables, then the cables are not the problem.

While I have no experience with the TRENDnet 10G card, I do suspect the drivers. Have you tried various driver versions?
I would even try to boot up Ubuntu from a USB stick to see how it detects the card, just to see if it successfully detects the proper speed, but this may be outside your comfort zone.

BTW; Are you able to return these cards if you can't make them work? (And then buy some Intel x550-t1 cards instead…)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
697 (0.13/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 4690K
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme4
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) R9 Nano
Storage 256GB SATA SSD 2TB WD Blue
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master Elite 130
Power Supply CX650M
Software Argh, Windows 10. I hated Windows 7. I hate Windows 10 more. Give me back XP!!!
Assuming these are in excellent physical condition, these shouldn't be the problem.
If you haven't already, try hooking up one cable directly between the machines (as suggested by others), if you still only get 2.5G with two or three different Cat5e cables, then the cables are not the problem.

While I have no experience with the TRENDnet 10G card, I do suspect the drivers. Have you tried various driver versions?
I would even try to boot up Ubuntu from a USB stick to see how it detects the card, just to see if it successfully detects the proper speed, but this may be outside your comfort zone.

BTW; Are you able to return these cards if you can't make them work? (And then buy some Intel x550-t1 cards instead…)
I tried connecting the computers directly with a cable and get the same results.

I bought everything off ebay so returns will be a hassle.

But I'm also not going to spend $300 per network card to buy Intel cards either.

I used the driver that Windows loaded as well as the latest driver from trendnet's website.

I guess since people are saying Cat5e isn't capable of 10G I'll just wait for the Cat7 cables I ordered to arrive.

They are supposed to be here tomorrow.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,555 (1.58/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Keep us posted.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2014
Messages
2,433 (0.96/day)
I guess since people are saying Cat5e isn't capable of 10G I'll just wait for the Cat7 cables I ordered to arrive.

They are supposed to be here tomorrow.
The best of luck.

And as a tip for you and others; don't pay extra for Cat 7 over Cat 6A, as there is no Cat 7 standard for RJ45(8P8C). Cat 7 is a special standard for datacenters using TERA or GG45 plugs. Whenever you see "Cat 7" terminated with RJ45 plugs, these are just Cat 6/6A cables with a markup. Cat 6A is comparable to the specs of Cat 7 for datacenters. The successor of Cat 6A is Cat 8.1, but that only becomes relevant with 25Gbps Ethernet.
 
Top