• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

10 Gigabit Won't Work

Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
937 (2.41/day)
I tried connecting the computers directly with a cable and get the same results.

Yeah, I wasn't 100% sure if it'd change anything. But still, its good to at least remove the switch as a potential issue. Now we know that its either the cable, the NIC, the motherboard, or the CPU. I don't know if we can make your test setup any simpler, so this is as "easy" as it will ever get.

The CPU / Motherboard could be an old version of DMI which may have less bandwidth than you expect. Motherboard -> CPU connections are surprisingly complicated. Your CPU's "high bandwidth" direct-PCIe x16 port is probably taken up by your GPU. The remaining x4 or x1 ports may have less bandwidth than you expect.

The NIC could be the issue. You're pretty much in charge of quality control yourself when buying used.

I doubt its the cable, given how short your cable is already. (The shorter the cable, the easier it is to send a high quality signal). But its still worth swapping cables just in case.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,855 (4.93/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
And as a tip for you and others; don't pay extra for Cat 7 over Cat 6A, as there is no Cat 7 standard for RJ45(8P8C). Cat 7 is a special standard for datacenters using TERA or GG45 plugs. Whenever you see "Cat 7" terminated with RJ45 plugs, these are just Cat 6/6A cables with a markup. Cat 6A is comparable to the specs of Cat 7 for datacenters. The successor of Cat 6A is Cat 8.1, but that only becomes relevant with 25Gbps Ethernet.
Yes, there is a Cat 7 standard for 8P8C, it just uses the GG45 plug which is backwards compatible with RJ45. There are no Cat 7 cables terminated with RJ45, they are terminated with GG45, otherwise they can't be called Cat 7. However, even if you cut the GG45 connector off and put a RJ45 on the end, the cable itself is still better than Cat 6/A cables because each pair is shielded and the whole cable is shielded with another layer of shielding on top of that.

I agree that it isn't worth spending extra on Cat 7 cables unless you have a very specific reason that needs Cat 7. However, Cat 7 cables are started to get pretty cheap too, you can get 10ft Cat 7 cables for under $5 each these days. So it's not like it's a huge waste of money if someone buys Cat 7 over Cat 6/A.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 10, 2014
Messages
2,433 (0.96/day)
Yes, there is a Cat 7 standard for 8P8C, it just uses the GG45 plug which is backwards compatible with RJ45. There are no Cat 7 cables terminated with RJ45, they are terminated with GG45, otherwise they can't be called Cat 7.
I think you missed my point. GG45 is certainly backwards compatible with RJ45. But if you find pre-terminated "Cat 7" cables with RJ45, which many stores do sell, they are not Cat 7. In the cases I've seen, they are just Cat 6/6A cables marked as "Cat 7".

However, even if you cut the GG45 connector off and put a RJ45 on the end, the cable itself is still better than Cat 6/A cables because each pair is shielded and the whole cable is shielded with another layer of shielding on top of that.

I agree that it isn't worth spending extra on Cat 7 cables unless you have a very specific reason that needs Cat 7. However, Cat 7 cables are started to get pretty cheap too, you can get 10ft Cat 7 cables for under $5 each these days. So it's not like it's a huge waste of money if someone buys Cat 7 over Cat 6/A.
It depends if you're comparing apples to apples or not, i.e. comparing a minimum spec U/UTP Cat 6A or S/FTP or F/FTP Cat 6A to Cat 7 (with the same wire gauge). To really find out whether the cable is truly better you need to dive into the data sheets, and hopefully they are tested with comparable test parameters. They may very well be the same cable with a different certification, or have a very insignificant difference. I would argue there is not much point in buying a cable certified for 600 MHz vs. 500 MHz., unless you find one that's certified for much higher speeds than that.

Edit:
I also want to emphasize that the Ethernet standards are very conservative, so when 10GBASE-T allows up to 55m on Cat 6 and 100m on Cat 6A, that has taken into account a noisy server environment with hundreds of these cables next to each other. So unless you plan to coil your network cables around a fridge or run it past an induction cooktop, using a good Cat 6A cable that exceeds the minimum requirements will be plenty good for 10G in any home, and possibly shorter runs of 25G in the future.
It's far more important that cables are properly terminated and not physically damaged, than going beyond Cat 6A.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
14,925 (2.97/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs in bootable RAID0 by HIGHPOINT - SSD7202
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/23478641 www.3dmark.com/spy/13863605 www.3dmark.com/pr/306218
Another good point is CAT6A is shielded and for full benefits, requires grounding one end. It's best to just buy CAT6 and forget it, as without grounding you won't exceed that performance anyhow.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,855 (4.93/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I think you missed my point. GG45 is certainly backwards compatible with RJ45. But if you find pre-terminated "Cat 7" cables with RJ45, which many stores do sell, they are not Cat 7. In the cases I've seen, they are just Cat 6/6A cables marked as "Cat 7".
I have yet to come across Cat 7 cables pre-terminated with RJ45, they all have been GG45. I guess for simplicity they might be marked as RJ45 in the store just not confuse people on compatibility.

But if they are literally Cat 6/A cables, as in marking on the cable says Cat 6/A, being sold as Cat 7 than the store is lying. The cables themselves are different, with Cat 7 cabling being better.

It depends if you're comparing apples to apples or not, i.e. comparing a minimum spec U/UTP Cat 6A or S/FTP or F/FTP Cat 6A to Cat 7 (with the same wire gauge). To really find out whether the cable is truly better you need to dive into the data sheets, and hopefully they are tested with comparable test parameters. They may very well be the same cable with a different certification, or have a very insignificant difference. I would argue there is not much point in buying a cable certified for 600 MHz vs. 500 MHz., unless you find one that's certified for much higher speeds than that.
No, you don't have to dive into the datasheets. Even Cat 6A S/FTP cable is worse than Cat 7 cabling. Cat 6A S/FTP only has a single full cable shielding. Cat 7 has the pairs shielded as well as a full cable shielding.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,555 (1.58/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Joined
Jun 10, 2014
Messages
2,433 (0.96/day)
I have yet to come across Cat 7 cables pre-terminated with RJ45, they all have been GG45. I guess for simplicity they might be marked as RJ45 in the store just not confuse people on compatibility.
The once that I've seen clearly has RJ45 plugs. And you don't have to look hard to find them, Amazon, Newegg, Ebay etc.

No, you don't have to dive into the datasheets. Even Cat 6A S/FTP cable is worse than Cat 7 cabling. Cat 6A S/FTP only has a single full cable shielding. Cat 7 has the pairs shielded as well as a full cable shielding.
I'm sorry to tell you, but you are 100% wrong on this.
FTP means there is a foil wrapping each pair. S/FTP has two layers of shielding, a foil on each pair and a braid wrapping the cable. F/FTP has two layers of foil.
See here.
Cat 6A exists as both S/FTP and F/FTP cables (plus additional variants), I have actually seen it, and I'm about to install 3-400m of it in a house of a relative.

-----

Back on topic:
@Eric_Cartman:
Any luck with your new cables?
I've been trying to find good reviews of TEG-10GECT, to try to find out what kind of sustained speeds can be expected from it, but with no luck.
I think this note is worth reading on Amazon. It seems like some(?) revisions of it may be using a Aquantia chip, so you may check out those drivers.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,010 (1.33/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Just a heads up, again. Cat 7 is not an Ethernet standard. Cat 6A is as far as it goes for 10Gbps, don't waste your money in anything above that, as you'll reap zero benefit.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,855 (4.93/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Just a heads up, again. Cat 7 is not an Ethernet standard. Cat 6A is as far as it goes for 10Gbps, don't waste your money in anything above that, as you'll reap zero benefit.
Again, it's not like they are that expensive. Hell, they can be cheaper than Cat6/A. Like I said, 10ft CAT7 cables can be had on Amazon for under $5. I think at this point we are all making a fuss over what amounts to pennies in price difference. If someone wants to get Cat7, let them. It's not like the cables are twice the price anymore.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
697 (0.13/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 4690K
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme4
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) R9 Nano
Storage 256GB SATA SSD 2TB WD Blue
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master Elite 130
Power Supply CX650M
Software Argh, Windows 10. I hated Windows 7. I hate Windows 10 more. Give me back XP!!!
I never thought me buying Cat 7 cables would cause such a fuss.

You all act like I spent huge amounts of money on these cables.

You all need to calm down they were actually cheaper than 6a cables on Amazon.

Any luck with your new cables?
I've been trying to find good reviews of TEG-10GECT, to try to find out what kind of sustained speeds can be expected from it, but with no luck.
I think this note is worth reading on Amazon. It seems like some(?) revisions of it may be using a Aquantia chip, so you may check out those drivers.
The new cables did not help at all.

I can't get over about 3G even with Cat 7 cables.

Yes these network cards are Aquantia based.

I know that because when I go into device manager the driver tab says the driver provider is Aquantia.

It says that for every driver I install.

So I'm back to taking suggestions on what I can do to get 10G working properly.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2014
Messages
2,433 (0.96/day)
I know that because when I go into device manager the driver tab says the driver provider is Aquantia.

It says that for every driver I install.

So I'm back to taking suggestions on what I can do to get 10G working properly.
So, have you tried various drivers from Aquantia, other than those from Trendnet?
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
697 (0.13/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 4690K
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme4
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) R9 Nano
Storage 256GB SATA SSD 2TB WD Blue
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master Elite 130
Power Supply CX650M
Software Argh, Windows 10. I hated Windows 7. I hate Windows 10 more. Give me back XP!!!
So, have you tried various drivers from Aquantia, other than those from Trendnet?
Yes.

I've tried every driver I could find that would install on the card.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
14,925 (2.97/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs in bootable RAID0 by HIGHPOINT - SSD7202
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/23478641 www.3dmark.com/spy/13863605 www.3dmark.com/pr/306218
Unfortunately other than cables I can't think of much that could be wrong.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
697 (0.13/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 4690K
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme4
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) R9 Nano
Storage 256GB SATA SSD 2TB WD Blue
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master Elite 130
Power Supply CX650M
Software Argh, Windows 10. I hated Windows 7. I hate Windows 10 more. Give me back XP!!!
I finally found the answer.

https://www.reddit.com/r/sysadmin/comments/9wi4vx
Iperf now reports close enough to 10G.

I even tried it with the Cat5e cables and it worked with those as well.

iperf10G.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,010 (1.33/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Did you update the firmware on your cards? I don't know which version your cards shipped with, but there were a lot of early firmware issues.

Also, how do you explain that I get around 8Gbps on my two cards not using the -P 8 option?

With it, I get slightly better speeds than you still. You seem to have very inconsistent speeds as well.

1619666641398.png


On the plus side, doing -P 8 shows that jumbo frames might have a small performance improvement.

1619667177011.png
 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
22,159 (3.85/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 1x 500gb Intel 720p | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Schiit Fulla 3 on Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
So what was the actual answer? That thread is just a mess of ideas. Were you doing teaming? That link may not help future people.
 
Top