• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1070 Max Q bricked?

amihail1

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2019
Messages
6 (0.55/day)
Long story short I tried crossflashing with NVFlash to up the TDP wattage a little ... and now I can't revert back to my original BIOS backup because of a GPU Mismatch (device ID is 1 letter different.)

A guy over on Linus Tech Tips forum did some hex editing and managed to bypass the PCI and Board ID mismatches but now it's spitting out " BIOS Cert 2.0 Verification Error" and the NVFlash w/ certs bypassed spits out "you need a newer version of NVFlash" o_O

What are my options here? Razer and NVIDIA have been useless.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,645 (4.33/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NF-P14s|1xCorsair ML120 Pro|4xML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Basically - youre pretty much boned.

Unless you can can identify the bios chip on your board and use an SPi flasher to load the original vbios back on. you are shit out of luck. I see you have created threads on like 99% of the tech forums out there and they have given you more or less the same answer.

131590


There is nothing 'baffling' about it - some things arent supposed to be messed with and most people will tell you the same unless you REALLY REALLY know what you're doing - and even when you do, you still *ASK* anyway because there are people with knowledge beyond yours.



Razer wont help you so you'll have to strip the laptop down, find the bios chip and learn how to use an SPi flasher - you can buy them off ebay for a few quid....

Failing that, consider this a very very expensive lesson in learning not to tinker with stuff that shouldnt be tinkered with.. Or at least ASK before you start messing with anything so that people with the knowledge can save you from having a new paper weight.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,428 (1.72/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name phangirdle
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 3600 Mhz DDR4 16-16-16-36-364 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1925MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse silent click gaming mouse
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
how did you manage to flash it initially with the deviceid mismatch?
 

amihail1

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2019
Messages
6 (0.55/day)
Are you aware of the Razer mobo even having a VBIOS chip? Some are saying some of the newer ones done.

how did you manage to flash it initially with the deviceid mismatch?
I really don't know, it allowed all sorts of mismatches the first time and now it doesn't. I have a full legit backup here ready to go. I read so many threads about "forcing" a .rom on there you know that's good but it won't take.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2019
Messages
130 (2.03/day)
System Name Ryzen Pea's
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600x
Motherboard Asrock AB350m Pro4
Cooling Wraith Max
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) AMD RX 580
Storage Seagate Barracuda 4TB
Display(s) Acer ED242QR - 24" Curved 1080p 75Hz Freesync
Case Tin box
Power Supply Corsair CX 550w
Benchmark Scores Minesweeper 1024x768 32bpp @ 30FPS
A guy over on Linus Tech Tips forum did some hex editing and managed to bypass the PCI and Board ID mismatches
how did you manage to flash it initially with the deviceid mismatch?
o_O

Where's the guy who "helped" you out in the first places cause you shouldnt have flashed that bios if he "bypassed" the device ID mismatch then you need to get him to help undo what you have done, otherwise as @FreedomEclipse has said your best bet will be an SPI flasher to try and flash it back, or be stuck with an expensive paperweight
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
4,407 (4.47/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
Are you aware of the Razer mobo even having a VBIOS chip? Some are saying some of the newer ones done.
The VBIOS must be stored somewhere so I'd imagine there must be a chip on the motherboard.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,645 (4.33/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NF-P14s|1xCorsair ML120 Pro|4xML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Are you aware of the Razer mobo even having a VBIOS chip? Some are saying some of the newer ones done.
Nope - thats not my area of expertise. You can contact Razer and try and get them to tell you - or you could contact them and offer to pay for a repair at your own cost. It will probably cost you a fair amount if they accept but then again its still better than having a paper weight. Either way, its an expensive lesson.

Usually with Laptops - the GPu bios is stored on the same chip as the motherboard bios - though this doesnt apply with MXM expansion cards - the 1070 Max Q is all built in though so its safe to assume that the bios is combined with the motherboard bios chip -- Not saying that this is 100% but this is highly likely given how the industry does stuff.
 

amihail1

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2019
Messages
6 (0.55/day)
Usually with Laptops - the GPu bios is stored on the same chip as the motherboard bios
This is what I'm worried about yeah. There's plenty of photos of the Razer mobos about with disassembly vids but I've really no idea what I'm looking for.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,645 (4.33/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NF-P14s|1xCorsair ML120 Pro|4xML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
This is what I'm worried about yeah. There's plenty of photos of the Razer mobos about with disassembly vids but I've really no idea what I'm looking for.
well... Cant do the time? dont do the crime.

Hopefully you wont be a complete sultanaandcarrotcake in the future.
 
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
543 (0.63/day)
If the worse comes to the worse, just solder in a pre-program new BIOS chip.
 

amihail1

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2019
Messages
6 (0.55/day)
If the worse comes to the worse, just solder in a pre-program new BIOS chip.
The problem is we are doubting the thing has a separate bios chip cause it's a max q. Currently reading about SPI flashers to see if I can give it a go.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
4,407 (4.47/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
Take it to a shop and ask if they can identify the VBIOS chip, that's your best bet.
 

amihail1

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2019
Messages
6 (0.55/day)
Will keep you all updated. ;)

UPDATE: I flashed an Alienware VBIOS on the offchance it would do something and suddenly my card appeared in Device Manager as a 1070 Max Q and not "Microsoft Basic Display Adapter" - I also noticed it's now showing as 1BA1!? Long story short, reflash my 1BA1 original backup and we're back to stock. :)
 
Last edited:
Top