1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1080p TV hook up

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Nemesis881, Feb 6, 2012.

  1. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    692 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
    Gonna hook my tv up to my computer soon cuz I'm sick of my 19" monitor...

    What is the best connector to do this..
    VGA?
    DVI? (tv doesn't have this but just wanted to know the differences)
    HDMI?

    Is there any performance hits between them due to encoding or anything like that? Would VGA be more responsive because its analog?

    I know the image quality difference, but other than that I have never really thought about it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,349 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Location:
    Canada
    If you are just looking for direct video connection and your TV support's it, DVI would be best
     
  3. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,759 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,283
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    watching movies,playing games? all of those look better with hdmi
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,251 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,204
    DVI or HDMI, both use the same video format. I'd use HDMI if available so you can use the TV speakers if you wanted to.
     
    INSTG8R says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,336 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,790
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    DVI/HDMI

    VGA will work but quality is off
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,349 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Location:
    Canada
    Max refresh rate with HDMI is 60Hz, if that mean's anything to you. If you want to pass audio/video together HDMI is the way to go but for image quality DVI all the way especially if your TV is 120Hz or better :eek:
     
  7. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,867 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,238
    I see you have 9800GT, don't know if it has HDMI, your TV doesn't have DVI so you're left with VGA. I use HDMI to a TV with 1368x768 resolution but used VGA before and it's absolutely no difference for my eyes, maybe HDMI has more contrast, looks more lively.
     
  8. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    692 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
    HDMI it is then.
    It has no DVI support and it sits at 60hz.

    I just wasn't sure if digital connections leech some performance or not.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,015 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,213
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    Well I occasionally plug my laptop into my TV in my bedroom to watch my TV shows I have downloaded(Samsung 32") Running it over VGA limits it to a silly res(sorry can't say off the top of my head just know it uses a "PC" res over VGA prolly that res you mentioned) When I finally stuck a DVI to HDMI adaptor into my laptop I was able to run it at "Max Res" of 1080i.

    I assure you the difference was large.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,092 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I use HDMI on all 3 of HTPCs even though I have speakers hooked up as well....sometimes the the tv. Speakers are preferable like at night
     
  11. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    692 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
    My card has 2 DVI's and 1 HDMI.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,349 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Location:
    Canada
    The other thing with HDMI is you are limited to 1080p max resolution IIRC
     
  13. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    692 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
    Not a problem. The TV is 32" highest res is 1080p.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,349 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Location:
    Canada
    I figured that since you posted it had no DVI input, i was just throwing it out there for anyone who was curious about the advantages/disadvantages to either connection :toast:

    If my TV had DVI i'd be using it as i'd be able to fully use the panel and not be capped to a given resolution/refresh rate. DVI does look better as well, from what i have seen :eek:
     
  15. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Go get a HDMI cable and do it....
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)