• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1080p tv wont display properly with computer

Joined
May 22, 2014
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Home PC
Processor FX-8350
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling COOLERMASTER HYPER 212 EVO
Memory CORSAIR 16GB (2X8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R9 270X HAWK
Storage adata ssd 128gb(OS), 1TB WD(DATA)
Display(s) 32'' samsung tv UE32ES5500V
Case 4U rack case
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Software Win 8.1
#51
I will try it when i get home and post back.
Side question...and perhaps a stupid one since i have the manual but don't know how to look for it....how many Hhz is my tv????? Does that have to do anything with the above problem?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,202 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,686
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#52
I will try it when i get home and post back.
Side question...and perhaps a stupid one since i have the manual but don't know how to look for it....how many Hhz is my tv????? Does that have to do anything with the above problem?
probably 60Hz, and no. with what you've told me about your setup, its just that one setting screwing you up. it will cut off the edges of the image by zooming in, and you're lowering the resolution to counter that - which makes it fuzzy.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
3,832 (1.46/day)
Likes
2,220
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5820K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200MHz 15-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 32GB + Samsung 950Pro 256GB NVMe + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
#53
straight HDMI will give you the same quality. you said AMD, so you're looking for this setting:

set that to 0%, and you should be fine. its a very common setting problem with AMD graphics cards, and HDMI.
Yea... the most stupid thing on EARTH... On linux there is no GUI option to do so even :D.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,368 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,779
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#54
no, dont change your cable. HDMI is HDMI.

with samsung, try every HDMI port - my 1366x768 40" samsung only works on HDMI2 (the other ports are 1080i and 720p only) and make sure you its set to 1:1 scaling/"just scan"

beyond that if you're on AMD, make sure HDMI scaling/pverscan is correct in your graphics card drivers.
Yeah annoyed me at 1st finding out that it was not just the overscan which your better of setting 1st and if it still looks odd try the TV OSD options
 
Joined
May 22, 2014
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Home PC
Processor FX-8350
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling COOLERMASTER HYPER 212 EVO
Memory CORSAIR 16GB (2X8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R9 270X HAWK
Storage adata ssd 128gb(OS), 1TB WD(DATA)
Display(s) 32'' samsung tv UE32ES5500V
Case 4U rack case
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Software Win 8.1
#55
ok so i put back my hdmi-->hdmi cable to port1(hdmi/dvi).
Tried out the setting of overscan. When i changed to 1080p it was already at 0%. Image still crappy.Changed back to 1680x1050
Also the manual photo in case you see something interesting
 

Attachments

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,368 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,779
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#56
Well according to the manual you should be using the HDMI in 1 ( DVI ). Again don't forget the scaling of the HDTV as if thats not right you will never get it right.

all so firmware updates are available too.

Please double check that the link tot he right firmware i listed just in case
http://www.samsung.com/uk/support/model/UE32ES5500VXXH
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,202 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,686
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#57
what asrock said. set it to 1080p and adjust the TV settings til it looks right. on my samsungs remote its called "P.Size" to adjust the zoom/overscan

depending on the TV, the 16:9 setting can be correct, or the 1:1/Just Scan option can be.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 22, 2014
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Home PC
Processor FX-8350
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling COOLERMASTER HYPER 212 EVO
Memory CORSAIR 16GB (2X8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R9 270X HAWK
Storage adata ssd 128gb(OS), 1TB WD(DATA)
Display(s) 32'' samsung tv UE32ES5500V
Case 4U rack case
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Software Win 8.1
#58
I had every firmware update till yesterday when i went from 1036 to the latest 2000. But i did it just before i call it a day. Will check and try the tv options and hit you back. Although am not very optimist. I can live with the lower res but i want to be sure first.
 
Joined
May 22, 2014
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Home PC
Processor FX-8350
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling COOLERMASTER HYPER 212 EVO
Memory CORSAIR 16GB (2X8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R9 270X HAWK
Storage adata ssd 128gb(OS), 1TB WD(DATA)
Display(s) 32'' samsung tv UE32ES5500V
Case 4U rack case
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Software Win 8.1
#59
Ok changed to 1080p then tried the tv scaling settings(p.size button) .No difference. It was already in "Fit Screen" mode which is the best choice.
The only thing that made it a bit better in picture mode, was the Movie preset. Still wherever there is white....its a bit disturbing.(like when am writing this).
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,876 (1.92/day)
Likes
1,396
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#60
I suggests returning the TV bud and get a better quality one.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,704 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,116
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#61
Look at the tvs aspect ratio some samsung remotes have a picture size button.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,202 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,686
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#62
Ok changed to 1080p then tried the tv scaling settings(p.size button) .No difference. It was already in "Fit Screen" mode which is the best choice.
The only thing that made it a bit better in picture mode, was the Movie preset. Still wherever there is white....its a bit disturbing.(like when am writing this).

keep it on the 1080p and try all the other settings. screen fit is the correct choice.

sounds like something else is screwing it up, be it a TV setting or a PC setting. for a PC you have to turn many of the advanced effects of the TV off - set it to game mode, turn off anything that claims to enhance or sharpen the image.
 
Joined
May 22, 2014
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Home PC
Processor FX-8350
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling COOLERMASTER HYPER 212 EVO
Memory CORSAIR 16GB (2X8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R9 270X HAWK
Storage adata ssd 128gb(OS), 1TB WD(DATA)
Display(s) 32'' samsung tv UE32ES5500V
Case 4U rack case
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Software Win 8.1
#63
Done everything and didn't see any difference. Another upsetting thing is that it only enables game mode on/off in the standard picture mode preset. I'll keep trying but i think we've done all we could here,for this tv.
I still think there is something sketchy about the refresh rate.Its not just the fuzzy colors but my eyes really hurt after 15 minutes or so.
Anyway thanks for all your help and effort :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,202 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,686
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#64
Done everything and didn't see any difference. Another upsetting thing is that it only enables game mode on/off in the standard picture mode preset. I'll keep trying but i think we've done all we could here,for this tv.
I still think there is something sketchy about the refresh rate.Its not just the fuzzy colors but my eyes really hurt after 15 minutes or so.
Anyway thanks for all your help and effort :)

try setting the refresh rate to 59Hz in windows. my 24" samsung monitor has issues where at 60Hz it goes to 1080i for no reason, but 59Hz is 1080p
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
416 (0.15/day)
Likes
329
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2667 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ Special Edition
Storage Many = 12TB + Crucial MX200 SSD
Display(s) Dell P2414H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
#65
There is a setting on Samsung TV's under Source > Tools > Edit Name, if you set it to PC it sets the picture settings correctly for desktop use...

Sorry if you already tried that and I have kinda jumped in and missed it :/
 
Joined
May 22, 2014
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Home PC
Processor FX-8350
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling COOLERMASTER HYPER 212 EVO
Memory CORSAIR 16GB (2X8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R9 270X HAWK
Storage adata ssd 128gb(OS), 1TB WD(DATA)
Display(s) 32'' samsung tv UE32ES5500V
Case 4U rack case
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Software Win 8.1
#66
WHAT! THE ACTUAL! FUCK!!!!!!!! PHaS3!!!! it worked!!!!! sorry about the bad mouth but fuuuucckkkkkkkkk!!!! :D

i never saw that Tool option under the source menu.....
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
416 (0.15/day)
Likes
329
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2667 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ Special Edition
Storage Many = 12TB + Crucial MX200 SSD
Display(s) Dell P2414H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
#67
WHAT! THE ACTUAL! FUCK!!!!!!!! PHaS3!!!! it worked!!!!! sorry about the bad mouth but fuuuucckkkkkkkkk!!!! :D

i never saw that Tool option under the source menu.....
Yeah I was quite bleak when I got my 32" and saw how bad it looked, until I found that setting :)

Glad to have helped :)
 
Joined
May 22, 2014
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Home PC
Processor FX-8350
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling COOLERMASTER HYPER 212 EVO
Memory CORSAIR 16GB (2X8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R9 270X HAWK
Storage adata ssd 128gb(OS), 1TB WD(DATA)
Display(s) 32'' samsung tv UE32ES5500V
Case 4U rack case
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Software Win 8.1
#68
Yeyyyyyy!!! i can enjoy 1080p after a year of use LMAO :p
Maybe samsung should have that menu in a,more easy to see,spot. :|
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,704 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,116
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#69
This needs to be tagged
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,202 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,686
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#70
so the magical stupid fix is "rename the connection to PC"


lol i gotta try that on the HDMI 1 and 3 on my old 40"


edit: no luck for me on HDMI 1 and 3, seems like HDMI 2 (the only one that gives the correct 1360x768 resolution) was already set to that.
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,509 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,593
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#71
For me, I have 2 to 3 things I have to adjust to make any HDMI device to display properly and like devices tend to have similar settings (BluRay, Cable, and the XBox like the same settings,) where PCs and the RaspberryPi like a different ones. For PCs, I almost always have to adjust overscan in the OS itself, but on my TV there is a section for aspect adjustments and depending on the signal different options are available:

IMG_3918.JPG
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
416 (0.15/day)
Likes
329
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2667 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ Special Edition
Storage Many = 12TB + Crucial MX200 SSD
Display(s) Dell P2414H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
#72
so the magical stupid fix is "rename the connection to PC"
I know it seems dumb, but thats Samsung lol...

You can also rename input to Game if you have a console and it sets it up for that haha, but jokes aside the setting does resolve issues with how a PC's output is displayed.
 
Joined
May 22, 2014
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Home PC
Processor FX-8350
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling COOLERMASTER HYPER 212 EVO
Memory CORSAIR 16GB (2X8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R9 270X HAWK
Storage adata ssd 128gb(OS), 1TB WD(DATA)
Display(s) 32'' samsung tv UE32ES5500V
Case 4U rack case
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM850
Software Win 8.1
#73
and by rename,Samsung means...choose from a bunch of devices on a list :banghead:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
416 (0.15/day)
Likes
329
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2667 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ Special Edition
Storage Many = 12TB + Crucial MX200 SSD
Display(s) Dell P2414H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
#74
and by rename,Samsung means...choose from a bunch of devices on a list :banghead:
They should have called them "Source Presets" so you load a preset for whatever input you have...
 

Jeff Wenz

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2016
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#75
Hey guys,
I know it's an old thread but I have this problem right now. I have the Intel nuc5i5ryh and everything was working fine on windows 7 but when i upgraded to windows 10 the TV will always say 1080 no matter what the computer said. This messes up everything I open by stretching the program or whatever beyond the TV.