• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1080ti only stable in "debug mode"

Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
5 (0.71/day)
System Name Hamster pc
Processor i7 9700k
Motherboard Z390 Aorus Pro
Cooling Kraken X62
Memory 32 gb g skill trident z
Video Card(s) Zotac Amp Extreme gtx 1080ti
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1Tb
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift 27-inch 144Hz, 1440p
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 1000 G3
Software Windows 10
Good morning, I have a GTX 1080 ti amp extreme edition, the problem is that in order to play whenever I start my PC I have to open the nvidia control panel and activate debug mode or debug mode, because if I do not do that at the moment start any game and do not activate the debug mode the game freezes sometimes at minutes and sometimes takes longer but always passes, and then only the audio is heard and there is no way to restart the application, I necessarily have to turn off the pc in the power button to make it react, and try to install other versions of the nvidia drivers, I've even tried using the software zotac firestorm, afterburner, to lower the base frequency of the gpu to the stock speeds of the founders versions edition and it seems that that also works as the debug mode but when I turn off the PC and start it again I have to do the whole process again, I would appreciate if you could help me or give me some advice on how I can sol To use this error, it should be clarified that this only happens to me with games, since I used my PC to make renderings in sketchup using vray and I have run several benchmark programs for my gpu and everything always goes well and the screen never freezes, I would appreciate it very much your help.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
996 (0.35/day)
Location
Romania
System Name "No name"
Processor i5 8600k@4500Mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 UD3P
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 16GB 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Ti
Storage Adata 512GB SSD, WD30PURX
Display(s) AOC CQ32G1
Case Segotep Halo 5
Audio Device(s) ALC 1220 + Maudio AV32 and Fiio E10k + Audiotehnica TAD 400
Power Supply Seasonic G650 650W
Mouse Cougar 600M
Keyboard Asus Strix MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Did you try to uninstall the drivers with DDU from safe mode, then install the latest WHQL from nVidia ? also did you try to under clock your card ? try -100 Mhz on core and memory and see if it helps.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
5 (0.71/day)
System Name Hamster pc
Processor i7 9700k
Motherboard Z390 Aorus Pro
Cooling Kraken X62
Memory 32 gb g skill trident z
Video Card(s) Zotac Amp Extreme gtx 1080ti
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1Tb
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift 27-inch 144Hz, 1440p
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 1000 G3
Software Windows 10
Did you try to uninstall the drivers with DDU from safe mode, then install the latest WHQL from nVidia ? also did you try to under clock your card ? try -100 Mhz on core and memory and see if it helps.
That's right, I tried to reinstall drives with the ddu, and I also tried to lower the frequency to those of nvidia reference, when I do that if it works as if I had it in debug mode, the detail is that every time I start the PC I have I have to do everything in afterburner or firestorm, etc., because everything I move is not saved and I don't know how to do it so that this configuration is saved because I already tried several times; and another thing that I do not understand is because in debug mode everything works fine and as soon as I take it off it is when the problems begin to happen, this will take approximately 7 months to begin to happen
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,358 (1.36/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
I would be careful with DDU. I used to use it but it removed some files that I still needed and caused me quite a few headaches. Was it user error? Possibly. Was it a bug? Possibly. But I haven't used it in 12 years and haven't had any issues so I don't see the point.

Edit: Debug mode probably changes how error handling operates. The question is it a hardware error or a software (driver) error. Judging that the problem goes away when you underclock, it is likely hardware or temp related.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
21,889 (4.31/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Could you fill out your system specs for us so we can get a feel for the balance of your setup, my first thought might be PSU, you can fill in your specs in "Account details" here...…………...

Account details.jpg
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
728 (2.34/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
If you're using Windows 10 you can follow these steps to reset the video card driver so you don't have to reboot windows.
Ready?
Press the Win + Ctrl + Shift + B keys all at the same time.

What I would do is try different drivers to see what works best for your needs.
Some driver revisions may have better stability than others.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
5 (0.71/day)
System Name Hamster pc
Processor i7 9700k
Motherboard Z390 Aorus Pro
Cooling Kraken X62
Memory 32 gb g skill trident z
Video Card(s) Zotac Amp Extreme gtx 1080ti
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1Tb
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift 27-inch 144Hz, 1440p
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 1000 G3
Software Windows 10
I would be careful with DDU. I used to use it but it removed some files that I still needed and caused me quite a few headaches. Was it user error? Possibly. Was it a bug? Possibly. But I haven't used it in 12 years and haven't had any issues so I don't see the point.

Edit: Debug mode probably changes how error handling operates. The question is it a hardware error or a software (driver) error. Judging that the problem goes away when you underclock, it is likely hardware or temp related.
I do not throw any error or code, just the screen freezes

Could you fill out your system specs for us so we can get a feel for the balance of your setup, my first thought might be PSU, you can fill in your specs in "Account details" here...…………...

View attachment 138392
done

If you're using Windows 10 you can follow these steps to reset the video card driver so you don't have to reboot windows.
Ready?
Press the Win + Ctrl + Shift + B keys all at the same time.

What I would do is try different drivers to see what works best for your needs.
Some driver revisions may have better stability than others.
At this moment I have version 441.41
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,358 (1.36/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
I do not throw any error or code, just the screen freezes
It would be internal error handling within the driver/GPU. It is relaxing the policy on something.

Actually, after 5 seconds of googling, I found that debug mode sets the card at factory/base clocks. Sooooo, you possibly have a card that is failing to some extent.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
5 (0.71/day)
System Name Hamster pc
Processor i7 9700k
Motherboard Z390 Aorus Pro
Cooling Kraken X62
Memory 32 gb g skill trident z
Video Card(s) Zotac Amp Extreme gtx 1080ti
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1Tb
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift 27-inch 144Hz, 1440p
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 1000 G3
Software Windows 10
It would be internal error handling within the driver/GPU. It is relaxing the policy on something.

Actually, after 5 seconds of googling, I found that debug mode sets the card at factory/base clocks. Sooooo, you possibly have a card that is failing to some extent.
When the problem started to appear, I also searched on Google and found that about the debug mode, and I started using it because playing destiny I started to pass this problem and curiously it worked, so I assumed it was a problem with the overclock, you think it is an already serious problem of the video card?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,358 (1.36/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
When the problem started to appear, I also searched on Google and found that about the debug mode, and I started using it because playing destiny I started to pass this problem and curiously it worked, so I assumed it was a problem with the overclock, you think it is an already serious problem of the video card?
Well, if I am understanding things correctly, you don't know how to use Afterburner to save profiles so you probably don't manually overclock. That means the only overclock on the card is the overclock that Zotac put on the card. Enabling debug mode removes the Zotac factory overclock and sets everything to nVidia reference specs. If your card can't handle the Zotac factory overclock then we only have a few possibilities (sure, there are really endless possibilities) that are likely. These are, in no particular order:
  • Driver Issue: Most unlikely since the problem goes away when downclocked.
  • Power Delivery: Not as likely given your PSU.
  • Faulty/Unstable Card: Most likely seeing as how the problem goes away when downclocked. This is lowering the stress on the card and stopping whatever errors are blowing up the system.
  • Temps: Unlikely. You didn't mention temps so that is an unknown at the moment. Doesn't seem like the issue as you said it can happen nearly immediately into firing the game up.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
5 (0.71/day)
System Name Hamster pc
Processor i7 9700k
Motherboard Z390 Aorus Pro
Cooling Kraken X62
Memory 32 gb g skill trident z
Video Card(s) Zotac Amp Extreme gtx 1080ti
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1Tb
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift 27-inch 144Hz, 1440p
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 1000 G3
Software Windows 10
Well, if I am understanding things correctly, you don't know how to use Afterburner to save profiles so you probably don't manually overclock. That means the only overclock on the card is the overclock that Zotac put on the card. Enabling debug mode removes the Zotac factory overclock and sets everything to nVidia reference specs. If your card can't handle the Zotac factory overclock then we only have a few possibilities (sure, there are really endless possibilities) that are likely. These are, in no particular order:
  • Driver Issue: Most unlikely since the problem goes away when downclocked.
  • Power Delivery: Not as likely given your PSU.
  • Faulty/Unstable Card: Most likely seeing as how the problem goes away when downclocked. This is lowering the stress on the card and stopping whatever errors are blowing up the system.
  • Temps: Unlikely. You didn't mention temps so that is an unknown at the moment. Doesn't seem like the issue as you said it can happen nearly immediately into firing the game up.
Regarding the temperatures I had not mentioned them because according to the program that I use to measure all these aspects (HWiNFO) the maximum temperature that my gpu has reached (100%) working with the activated debug mode is 74 ° so do not consider that it was a problem, In fact, when I have rendered or done stability tests I have never found myself in need of activating debug mode and although the GPU is working at 100% it has never exceeded 77 ° Celsius.
 
Last edited:
Top