• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

1090t & i7 2600k Temps

Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
1,190 (0.44/day)
Likes
312
System Name Titan
Processor AMD FX-8350 4.6ghz
Motherboard AsRock 990FX Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7970 3gb
Storage Western Digital Green 2TB 64mb Cache/ Western Digital 500gb
Display(s) iMac Display 2560 x 1440
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#26
Idle for my 1090t @ 4ghz is in the low to mid 20's depending on room temperature. And at load it hovers around 43-45'C. Also being cooled with an H70.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,228 (0.61/day)
Likes
374
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
#27
60c for amd i'm sure, i don't have intel but i know they handle a lot more
 
J

John Doe

Guest
#28
may i just ask how you all are getting such low Idle temps??????? im running a PII x4 955 with an H60 closed loop cooler, my idles are 34*C (stock clocks) and around 37*C(ocd to 4.1Ghz) why are my temps so high! they have always been this hi at idle, my apartment is 75*F all day long and my case has great circulation
AIO liquid coolers like to give up when you turn the heat on. If running on a hot chip/hot room, a twin tower cooler like the Noctua NH-D14 would outperform the H60. They like cold enviroments so that the liquid can be kept cold. The 120 rad, 50 GPH pump, tiny hoses... they aren't as capable as high end air in terms of heat management.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
317 (0.14/day)
Likes
83
System Name scrapper
Processor Intel i5-6600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z-170A
Cooling H100i
Memory Corsair Vengence 16gb ddr4 @3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 EVGA SC
Storage 2x 500GB Samsung 850 SSD
Display(s) CrossOver 27" 1440p LG IPS @ 120Hz
Case Corsair 650D
Power Supply AX-850W
#29
can you explain what this offset for vcore is? is it just like a smart vcore where it lowers the voltage when cpu's are idle? if so how to i enable this? i have a 990FX Extreme 4 ASRock board

thanks
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
1,077 (0.34/day)
Likes
305
System Name Primary Rig
Processor e8500 Q822A549 4.5ghz AIR
Motherboard Foxconn Mars P35
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2 x2GB Patriot Viper 1066 5-5-5-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 Unlocked
Storage 300gb Velociraptor
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750w Quad Silencer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x86
#30
Sorry dunno if they have it for AMD boards.

But basically for Asus/Asrock and such 1155 overclocking boards (p67/z68) the cpu will will have say a stock vcore of 1.26-1.28v for load and you offset the voltage by say 0.08 for 1.34-1.36v under load.

End result is that it will idle and park just like a stock not overclocked chip and even go lower to 0.9v with C1E and EIST sometimes but ramping up to 1.34-1.36v under load in the example above.

End result is for the majority of a chip's life (idle) it sips electricity and runs cool but can ramp up to what you want for your overclock for Prime 95 or linX or whatever...

On a 2500k I'm running as we speak I'm idling at 1.0-1.1v at 1600mhz, about 29c.
This chip's stock load value if 1.265v.
In bios my offset is 0.085v.
When I kick it with Prime 95 it jumps to 4.8ghz at 1.344-1.352v, load around 80c.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
317 (0.14/day)
Likes
83
System Name scrapper
Processor Intel i5-6600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z-170A
Cooling H100i
Memory Corsair Vengence 16gb ddr4 @3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 EVGA SC
Storage 2x 500GB Samsung 850 SSD
Display(s) CrossOver 27" 1440p LG IPS @ 120Hz
Case Corsair 650D
Power Supply AX-850W
#31
okay, yea AMD has Cool-N'-Quiet but it makes OC a little less stable... ill mess around and see if i can get it working again.

it basically clocks down the CPU to .8Ghz and lowers the V to around 1v when near idle conditions
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
317 (0.14/day)
Likes
83
System Name scrapper
Processor Intel i5-6600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z-170A
Cooling H100i
Memory Corsair Vengence 16gb ddr4 @3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 EVGA SC
Storage 2x 500GB Samsung 850 SSD
Display(s) CrossOver 27" 1440p LG IPS @ 120Hz
Case Corsair 650D
Power Supply AX-850W
#32
alright, got it working now!!!

my 955 is idling at 800Mhz 1.000v and 30C on the nose... much happier now
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#33
may i just ask how you all are getting such low Idle temps??????? im running a PII x4 955 with an H60 closed loop cooler, my idles are 34*C (stock clocks) and around 37*C(ocd to 4.1Ghz) why are my temps so high! they have always been this hi at idle, my apartment is 75*F all day long and my case has great circulation
You cannot compare Deneb and Thuban temps; I got my 1090t last week, replacing a 965 and idle and load temps are lower even when overclocked with 1.50v.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#34
My max temps only change about 3c from stock to 4.3, I am forever a Noctua fan.

Is your 1055t a Black Edition?
okay, yea AMD has Cool-N'-Quiet but it makes OC a little less stable... ill mess around and see if i can get it working again.

it basically clocks down the CPU to .8Ghz and lowers the V to around 1v when near idle conditions

My 1055t is just standard, no idea why people spend the extra on the black editions, they all roughly over clock to the same levels anyway. ( unless you want to do competitive over-clocking)



You know, I've NEVER had a problem with cool n quiet, I think it's just information that's been just passed on from when it did effect stability, how ever I always leave it on the only thing it affects is synthetic benchmark results as there's a slight delay between it ramping up to load clocks.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
1,756 (0.77/day)
Likes
479
Location
Cussing desert
System Name Ironic
Processor AMD FX8350 4.2ghz 1.32v (stock volts)
Motherboard CHVF-Z 990FX
Cooling Swiftech Maelstrom/MCP355, EK Supremacy, XT45 360mm rad
Memory 16GB Gskill Ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 reference
Storage Hitachi 1tb HDD; 60gb OCZ SATA III ssd
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 27" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse $20 logitech
Keyboard Possibly the cheapest you can buy
Software Windows 7
#35
My 1055t is just standard, no idea why people spend the extra on the black editions, they all roughly over clock to the same levels anyway. ( unless you want to do competitive over-clocking)
I got mine in a DIY kit with a mobo RAM and an HD for $350, so BE was just an extra perk. But its still nice, you can raise the multi without changing other parameters, once you get em where you want em.


You know, I've NEVER had a problem with cool n quiet, I think it's just information that's been just passed on from when it did effect stability, how ever I always leave it on the only thing it affects is synthetic benchmark results as there's a slight delay between it ramping up to load clocks.
I have not been able to get cool-n-Quiet to work with my new CPU fan. I dont know if its because there are 2 fans running on it through a Y, or if the resistors are causing it or what. It used to work, with the stock cooler.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,139 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,279
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#36
I have not been able to get cool-n-Quiet to work with my new CPU fan. I dont know if its because there are 2 fans running on it through a Y, or if the resistors are causing it or what. It used to work, with the stock cooler.
the fans on you Noctua cooler are probably not PWM.

PWM is is 4pin. standard is 3pin.

If its 3 pin, then they are not capable of rpm control
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
1,756 (0.77/day)
Likes
479
Location
Cussing desert
System Name Ironic
Processor AMD FX8350 4.2ghz 1.32v (stock volts)
Motherboard CHVF-Z 990FX
Cooling Swiftech Maelstrom/MCP355, EK Supremacy, XT45 360mm rad
Memory 16GB Gskill Ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 reference
Storage Hitachi 1tb HDD; 60gb OCZ SATA III ssd
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 27" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse $20 logitech
Keyboard Possibly the cheapest you can buy
Software Windows 7
#37
I see. I sorta knew that. oh well, its quiet.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,139 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,279
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#38
If you still wish to control the rpm. then you would need to get a manual or automatic fan controller that would sit in one 5.25' bay.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
1,756 (0.77/day)
Likes
479
Location
Cussing desert
System Name Ironic
Processor AMD FX8350 4.2ghz 1.32v (stock volts)
Motherboard CHVF-Z 990FX
Cooling Swiftech Maelstrom/MCP355, EK Supremacy, XT45 360mm rad
Memory 16GB Gskill Ripjaws x
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 reference
Storage Hitachi 1tb HDD; 60gb OCZ SATA III ssd
Display(s) Achieva Shimian 27" 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA supernova 850 G2
Mouse $20 logitech
Keyboard Possibly the cheapest you can buy
Software Windows 7
#39
I do need to get one, My four case fans aren't loud, but they could stand to be quieter during movies and such.