• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

12 Bit HDMI color output in Cat 14.6?

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,205 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#1
I remember reading someone on the forums asking if 10 bit HDMI was even possible on modern graphics cards, and forgot about it until i saw this option in the new beta drivers.

I get an 8, 10 and 12 bit color bit depth option, and the HDTV i use as a screen confirms its working.


Anyone seen this before/knows more about it?

 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,205 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#3
thats on my 46" sony
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
7,773 (2.04/day)
Likes
6,841
#4
I'll have to try it on my brand new Panasonic 39" LED/LCD HDTV and see what happens.

Do you think there'd be a performance penalty to using this, similar to how 16bpp and 32bpp were back in the day?

Also, some quick reading brings up some concerns on HDMI cable bandwidth actually CARRYING those colors.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,205 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
I'll have to try it on my brand new Panasonic 39" LED/LCD HDTV and see what happens.

Do you think there'd be a performance penalty to using this, similar to how 16bpp and 32bpp were back in the day?

Also, some quick reading brings up some concerns on HDMI cable bandwidth actually CARRYING those colors.

i think its part of HDMI 1.4 specs, for greater color depth. may not make a difference if the panel cant support it, but i guess in theory better colors/gradients are possible?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,484 (0.57/day)
Likes
544
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz (1.15 V)
Motherboard ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 8 Scythe Fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8 GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3-2400 CL11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1150 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Gigabyte Aivia Krypton
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#6
One advantage of larger color space is the ability to natively view videos encoded in the High-10 H.264 profile, which is gaining traction due to its ability to produce better quality images at the same bit rate as 8-bit H.264 video.

Counter-intuitively, for a given video bitrate, a higher bit depth and lower resolution is perceptibly better than a lower bit depth and higher resolution. There's a few good example frames of 10-bit vs 8-bit compressed video here, and a quick internet search will find many more such as this good example. Note the reduced macroblocks and banding in the 10-bit frames even when downsampled on an 8-bit display.

There's a lot of anime being released in Hi10p because of this compression advantage.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
7,773 (2.04/day)
Likes
6,841
#7
Regardless of the ability of the cable to carry the colors (the HDMI 1.4 cert process from my reading is dubious at best, with many certified cables failing independent testing for even 1.3 standards), one thing is for certain:

If your monitor is an LCD, you'll be lucky if you can get 8bpc (32bpp) out of it, let alone anything higher.

Many LCDs still process colors above 18bpp using dithering internally, unfortunately. At least last time I checked.

You can try a test if you want to feel bad about your monitor, mine flat our fails this one:

http://battletech.hopto.org/html_tutorials/colourtest/

Answer? Get a CRT, or realize that ignorance is bliss, and forget what I just told you.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
962 (0.67/day)
Likes
1,001
Location
Alabama, USA
System Name The cruncher/gamer
Processor i5 4670k@4.3Ghz at too many volts honestly
Motherboard MSI Z87-G41 PCmate
Cooling NZXT Respire T40
Memory G.SKILL 2x8GB 1866Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
Storage SanDisk Ultra 2 480GB SSD |-| Horrible OEM 7200RPM 1.5TB
Display(s) ASUS VS228 1080p |-| Samsung 940BF 1280x1024
Case NZXT Source 210 White
Power Supply Corsair CXm 750w
Mouse Corsair SABRE RGB
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RGB
Software GAMES
Benchmark Scores eh
#8
My iphone actually did well on that test. o_O
I do have the screen adjusted for red though. It shows a darker, warmer color.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,205 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
my phone and TV show the same on that test (they're both IPS, makes sense) - the grey is solid, but the color gradients are smooth.


edit: with brightness up i can see the three sections to the grey, actually. it could be just that i like my screens dim.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#10
It's even worse with mine it defaults to 8bit although maybe that's the AV or the AMD drivers not reading it right.

My TV is 10bit.

I rolled back to 14.2 a little while ago as 14.6 sucks for Arma 3.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,439 (1.17/day)
Likes
1,352
#11
It's even worse with mine it defaults to 8bit although maybe that's the AV or the AMD drivers not reading it right.

My TV is 10bit.

I rolled back to 14.2 a little while ago as 14.6 sucks for Arma 3.
Its new to the 14.6 beta

  • New user controls for video color and display settings
  • Greater control over Video Color Management:
    • Controls have been expanded from a single slider for controlling Boost and Hue to per color axis
  • Color depth control for Digital Flat Panels (available on supported HDMI and DP displays)
    • Allows users to select different color depths per resolution and display
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#12
Yeah i know some pretty much pointed that out already.. Maybe it work better when out of beta HAHA.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
7,773 (2.04/day)
Likes
6,841
#13
My TV is 10bit.
I wasn't aware of any panels that were actually 10bit and not just dithering... granted, I am an audo/video nut who has been out of touch for 3+ years, so I could be really really off on this, but just to satisfy my own curiousity, I'm going to be googling this tonight.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,439 (1.17/day)
Likes
1,352
#14
They are probably unlocking the 8bit+ pipeline in GCN cards now that more monitors and affordable ones are using 10bit panels and higher then the norm sRGB is a selling point.

You can now save some money and not have to buy a FirePro or Quadro to get 10bit.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,205 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#15
I wasn't aware of any panels that were actually 10bit and not just dithering... granted, I am an audo/video nut who has been out of touch for 3+ years, so I could be really really off on this, but just to satisfy my own curiousity, I'm going to be googling this tonight.
my TV actually shows 12 bit (as shown in the photo) so clearly 12 bit inputs are a thing, even if the panels arent.


online specs for my TV dont mention it whatsoever, and google is finding very little on the subject except a few conversations that seem to be "someone who knows a little bit talking to people who dont have a clue"
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
7,773 (2.04/day)
Likes
6,841
#16
Pretty much what I got when I googled it as well... Leaves me thinking though that it probably isn't available at the panel yet, as the manufacturers tend to advertise the shit out of questionable features at any given chance (yellow color channel added to Sharp Aquos for example, nevermind conventional RGB not supporting it), how would they not advertise 10+bit color?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,205 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#17
since mine defaulted to 10 bit, i'd have to assume 12 bit input w/ 10 bit IPS panel.

apparently the HDMI 2.0 specs do 8, 12 or 16 bit, and thats about all the info i can find.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
7,773 (2.04/day)
Likes
6,841
#18
That or it's where the dithering shows the least banding. But anything is possible I suppose, there isn't much info either way.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,520 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,600
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#19
Interesting. At some point I'll have connect my tower to my TV to see if deep color works. Theoretically my TV supports it as well but unlike yours, it doesn't tell you what the current color depth is and until now there wasn't really any way of choosing it.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,205 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20
Interesting. At some point I'll have connect my tower to my TV to see if deep color works. Theoretically my TV supports it as well but unlike yours, it doesn't tell you what the current color depth is and until now there wasn't really any way of choosing it.
mine tells me when i press the info button, its always showed 10 bit from my 7970, until now with these drivers (the first image in the thread is a PHOTO, not a screenshot)
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,439 (1.17/day)
Likes
1,352
#21
mine tells me when i press the info button, its always showed 10 bit from my 7970, until now with these drivers (the first image in the thread is a PHOTO, not a screenshot)
What does your TV say when you un-check the Enable ITC processing ?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,205 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#22

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#23
They are probably unlocking the 8bit+ pipeline in GCN cards now that more monitors and affordable ones are using 10bit panels and higher then the norm sRGB is a selling point.

You can now save some money and not have to buy a FirePro or Quadro to get 10bit.
I am just going by the manual but this is the only place it's referenced lol.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,180 (1.97/day)
Likes
1,721
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#24
I get an 8, 10 and 12 bit color bit depth option, and the HDTV i use as a screen confirms its working.
You sure about that Mussels? I have a mere $500 32" Panasonic I bought a few years ago for only $330 and I'm pretty sure it's 8 bit, but I get 8, 10, and 12 bit options showing in CCC too. I think what may be happening is the TV is showing the inputted signal depth, but might be down converting it's output to 8 or 10 bit.

I'm trying to avoid unnecessary processing from my TV, as well as needless wear and tear. It would be nice if the color depth of the panels were part of the TV specs. I may call Panasonic about this, but I'm doubting any of their phone or email staff will know, and it's unlikely I'll get an email response from the engineers, whom are likely in Japan.

But, if anyone happens to find better sources than I did in trying to determine the bit rating of my TV panel's color depth, it's a TC-L32U3 model made in 2011. BTW Mussels, I made a thread about my dilemma and was hoping you'd chime in. For now I've got it set to 8 bit.
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/ccc-display-color-depth-setting-bpc.208920/
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,218 (3.73/day)
Likes
3,893
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 250GB SSD / 3x1TB + 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x AOC 2425W + ViewSonic VA2855Smh + 2x Dell E178FP
Case Phantec Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse G.Skill MX780 RGB
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#25
Too bad I don't have my necro card with me.