1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

12volt vids reading 11.5 in cpuz

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by freeboy, Oct 14, 2007.

  1. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Is this an issue, my ps is rated at 35 12v vidoe...?
    I am making an upgrade and was goingto keep my video and ps, but could dump my ps if needed
    thanks>?
     
  2. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    FYI, CPU-Z is NOT accurate. For example: I have had my CPU @ 2.2 volts and it read 1.7volts, but when I had it at 1.5 volts, it still read 1.7 volts

    Also, if CPUZ is accurate, your PSU is prolly dying. (11.7 volts is minimum, I do believe)
     
  3. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    It might have been Sand M.. thats not good! rma time!
     
  4. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Break out the multi-meter.
     
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    agreed. check with a multimeter, you'll want a new psu, your voltage shouldn't be slipping under 11.5, after that, you'll start killing hardware
     
  6. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Actually +12V allows for a 5% margin. ie 11.4-12.6V, so 11.5 is ok. Also, undervolting hardly kills hardware, it just makes it malfunction.

    As for CPU-Z showing 1.7 when you're at 2.2 it has nothing to do with accuracy, it simply reads a value. It's just reading the wrong value. According to CPU-Z my CPU's are at 3.3V :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    dont trust cpu-z for your voltages.
     
  8. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    ya I just tested with s and m and it was reading 13.2-13.5 so that does not seem to be the issue
     
  9. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    wait wait, your 12v voltage is reading at 13 something?
     
  10. bassmasta Guest

    >.> I actually find cpu-z to be fairly accurate about my voltages as long as they're above 1.4 and not over-volted
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    cpu-z isn't very good at reading the voltages for most all rigs like it is for other info. i recommend other software preferly mobo manu. software.
     
  12. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Since when did CPU-Z report 12v rail voltage?
    Oh...
    It doesn't and never has.

    WTH is this thread about?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)