• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

$1500+ wasted...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
#1
After buying all the top of the line components (see specs), it's the most defective, unresponsive, and dysfunctional PC I have ever used.

- Freezes up
- booting to windows sometimes does not work
- can't open my games for some odd reason
- ram is reading 1333Mhz instead of 1600Mhz
- some files are corrupt?! in my system
- disc stops spinning in my NEW optical drive
- and a whole plethora of other things
- windows is telling me that google chrome is a corrupted file?!

my 3 year old build is better than this piece of shit. why is this happening? what the hell did i do wrong with this build?
 

STCNE

New Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
236 (0.09/day)
Likes
41
Location
Connecticut USA
System Name Lycanthropy
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ECS p67-h2a2
Memory 8GB Muskin Radioactive Series
Video Card(s) MSI R7770
Case Lancool K62
Audio Device(s) Ultra-Fi Dac41, Vintage Sherwood amp, STAX SR-5 Headphones
Power Supply XFX 850W
Software Win 7 64-Bit(Tried Win8 and never going back)
Benchmark Scores Reboots in 35 seconds flat, with a standard HDD. I'm a bit of an OCD tweaker. Using less than 100GB
#2
Thats a lot of problems for a very nice build. The RAM is reading low probably because you did not set it in the BIOS.
But for the other things, I'm wanting to blame the motherboard. I had an ASUS Maximus III that had similar issues for over a year:
unstable RAM
glitchy ethernet port, over 1000ms ping most of the time
unpredictable hard drive controller (finally what killed the board)
games crashing
among other things

At the time I was a noob so I figured most of it was normal, and didn't really realize what was going on. If possible I would seriously consider RMAing the motherboard to the store you bought it.

If you wait too long your be stuck with ASUS support, its been 9 months for me and they haven't replaced my board. Between sending me one with bent pins then asking me to pay to replace it, and ignoring me for many months at a time then emailing me back like it was just yesterday I emailed them I still have a junk board.

Besides the motherboard I would say the PSU, hard drive, or RAM could be behind the issue. Everything in your build is screaming high quality though so there is nothing too obvious sticking out that I haven't said above.
 
Joined
May 15, 2005
Messages
3,480 (0.76/day)
Likes
537
#3
Ill give ya $359.99 Shipped PayPal Verified.....JK...Jk.. I do feel your frustration. Did you clone the drive or was this a fresh OS install?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#4
Sounds to me like bad hdd's or bad ram. There's an inkling of a possibility of a bad motherboard or cpu.

I would first off start by downloading/burning a copy of memtest on a different pc (if available) and running that for a few passes on each stick separately.
 

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
#5
everything seems to be fine at the moment.

windows did a chkdsk upon POST.

seemed to fix the google chrome corrupt file.

still, games won't boot. i double click icon and nothing happens.

i even tried installing SP1 and it failed?!?! what in the world?!

EDIT:

It could be the hard drive - I really hope so.

it's at least 3 years old, and has been reformatted, time and time again.
perhaps there's been some wear and tear on the hdd over those 3 years?
 

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
#6
Ill give ya $359.99 Shipped PayPal Verified.....JK...Jk.. I do feel your frustration. Did you clone the drive or was this a fresh OS install?
t'was a fresh install!
 

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
#7
Sounds to me like bad hdd's or bad ram. There's an inkling of a possibility of a bad motherboard or cpu.

I would first off start by downloading/burning a copy of memtest on a different pc (if available) and running that for a few passes on each stick separately.
i highly doubt it's a cpu or mobo issue.

but i'd like to think it's HDD first, then perhaps ram, if not HDD.

otherwise, i doubt it's anything else.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#8
Before you go any further remove 2 of the 4 sticks of ram.

highly doubt it's a cpu or mobo issue.
Why do you highly doubt? CPU controls all the data flowing through the PC, the motherboard connects all components.
 

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
#9
Before you go any further remove 2 of the 4 sticks of ram.



Why do you highly doubt? CPU controls all the data flowing through the PC, the motherboard connects all components.
I'm on my PC right now, doing a crap load of things at once.
nothing seems to be wrong at the moment though...

it's odd, earlier this morning, I would get random BSOD, etc.
but now nothing seems to be wrong.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#10
Perhaps thermal paste wasn't properly applied to the CPU?

Check the temps of your CPU to make sure it is cooling well.

Could be many things. Start narrowing it down.
 

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
#11
Perhaps thermal paste wasn't properly applied to the CPU?

Check the temps of your CPU to make sure it is cooling well.

Could be many things. Start narrowing it down.
RealTemp reads 35 celsius (on average), with a high of 41 celsius.

I might just try that RAM thing.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#12
I'm on my PC right now, doing a crap load of things at once.
nothing seems to be wrong at the moment though...

it's odd, earlier this morning, I would get random BSOD, etc.
but now nothing seems to be wrong.
K. If you start showign those problems again, that's where I would start though, each stick individually with memtest and then do a bad sector scan on the hdd's if that comes back ok.
 

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
#13
K. If you start showign those problems again, that's where I would start though, each stick individually with memtest and then do a bad sector scan on the hdd's if that comes back ok.
How do I do a bad sector scan on the HDD?
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,365 (0.39/day)
Likes
109
Location
Alden, NY
System Name Turbo_Fighter/Pitbull
Processor AMD FX-9590/Intel i7 6700K 4.7GHZ @ 1.41 volts
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Rev 4.0/Gigabyte GA-Z170N-Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H105/Corsair H100iv2
Memory 32 GB G.Skill Ares/32 GB G.Skill Trident-Z
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 Fury X/Sapphire R9 Nano
Storage Mix of HDDs SSDs Externals and a 256GB Samsung M.2 in the pitbull
Display(s) 24" Nixeus 144hz freesync/24'' Benq XL2420TE/21.5'' Asus VH226/Panasonic 42" Plasma
Case White Phantom NZXT/Fractal Define Nano S
Audio Device(s) MayFlower O2 ODAC/HT Omega Claro+/Turtlebeach Earforce DSS
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i/Thermaltake Smart 650Watt(EVGA GS 650 Watt took a shit on me)
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores They can run Crysis.
#14
Man, Id throw away all my electronics and begin a quiet life of a monk if that happened to me.
 

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
#15

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#16
Don't give up. If it were me, I would first try a different drive, then one stick of RAM at a time, then RMA the board.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
122 (0.05/day)
Likes
10
Location
Edmonton, AB
System Name My Little Guy
Processor Intel i5 750 Quad Core @ 2.67Ghz
Motherboard Asus p7p55d
Cooling Fan Cooled
Memory 4gb Crosair xms-3 DDR3 Ram
Video Card(s) XFX HD5870 XXX Edition
Storage 500GB HDD
Display(s) Samsung 23" 1920x1080p
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Galaxy 1000w
Software Windows Vista 64bit
#17
Let us know how this pans out. That's a nice build you have going!
 

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
#18
Looks like my only upgrade left would be to get an SSD (possibly a Corsair Force 3 120GB).

I have a gut feeling it's purely JUST the HDD (as it's 3 years old, with tons of wear and tear on it; constant reformatting, etc.)

Then definitely the RAM will be tested. After that, it should be fine.
I've run Prime 95 and CPU is running SOLID, no problems, with temps staying under 60 celsius, and never going over.

I will be SO SAD! if it's my RAM! since it is brand new and i just bought it!
If it was my hard drive, I wouldn't care much - it's an excuse to buy an SSD!

Overall, I am very happy and satisfied with this build. but with so many technical problems, it almost feels like I wasted my money.
And should have just stuck with LGA775 and DDR2... but in terms of performance, this build is a BEAST!

Wish me luck!
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#19
I believe this is a classic case of "PEBKAC" or possibly even "PIBCAK."
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,998 (0.62/day)
Likes
1,578
Location
Visalia, CA
System Name Crimson Titan 2.5
Processor Intel Core i7 5930K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard Asus ROG Rampage V Extreme
Cooling CPU: Swiftech H220-X, RAM: Geil Cyclone 2, VGA: Custom EK water loop
Memory 8x4GBs G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 XMP2 3000MHz @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA GTX Titan X SCs in SLI under full cover EK water blocks
Storage OS: 256GBs Samsung 850 Pro SSD/Games: 3TBs WD Black
Display(s) Acer XB280HK 28" 4K G-Sync - 2x27" Acer HN274s 1920x1080 120Hz
Case Corsair Graphite Black 760T - EK Pump/Reservoir, 360mm EK Radiator
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro on Logitech THX Z-5500 5.1/Razer Tiamat 7.1 Headset
Power Supply Silvestone ST1500 1.5 kW
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 9
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#20
For your RAM, have you tried selecting the XMP profile on your BIOS? and if you do, don't try changing any other memory settings as your board will setup your RAM to its best performance, and you don't want any instability.

Your system is very similar to mine, and I also had my share of frustration when I put it together (setting my SSDs in RAID-0 caused all kinds of problems and I had to reformat like 4 times before everything was back to normal...) Like other ppl here suggested, don't panic, take a deep breath, test every component using only the bare minimum hardware to boot and you may be able to find a culprit if there's a hardware defect, if not, starting from the ground up will help you familiarize with your system, and get the best and most stable configuration once everything is working together.

Good luck! :toast:
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,551 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,059
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#21
It's not clarified anywhere, but is this the system in your system specs?

I think it's some kind of RAM corruption too and you've been given some great advice on here for troubleshooting it. Unfortunately, problems like this could indeed be a lot of things. Typically:

RAM
Mobo
Hard disc
BIOS - outdated version. I see you have 8 gigs in your system specs (assuming it's the right system)

If you don't have the latest BIOS on there, you need to put it on, but first you must achieve an island of stability, or you could brick your mobo. Kind of a catch 22, I know, but run with just one stick when you do it and reduce clock speeds on the CPU and RAM a bit from the stock settings. I've seen BIOS updates fix problems like this on systems with 8 gigs, so I recommend this as one of the first things you should check for.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#22
I believe this is a classic case of "PEBKAC" or possibly even "PIBCAK."
Quit trolling and post something useful.:shadedshu

Back on topic:

Sounds like two different problems. Windows install is not kosher and, maybe, hardware.
It is possible, hard drive flaws are causing the Windows errors(problems).

Have you got another drive to try?
Double check the cables(SATA) and power connections.
Re-seat the ram.
Run HDTune, Diskcheckup or some other disk checking program, maybe something from the disk manufacturer.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#23
In my experience, such failures are generally caused by these components: HDD or cable, RAM or PSU, if it is faulty or underpowered and you did a clean install of Windows

the motherboard and CPU are less prone to failure showing those symptoms in my experience :)
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#24
its very common to get ram thats DOA it happens
 
Status
Not open for further replies.