• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

16 gb vs 32 gb RAM 8600kvs8700kfor Gaming PC

Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
63 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
System Name PC Desktop
Processor i7 Broadwell-E 6800K
Motherboard GBT Gaming 5P
Cooling H100i v2 Corsair Hydro
Memory Corsair 16GB
Video Card(s) G1 Gtx 980 ti SLI
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 480GB
Case Corsair Graphite 760T
Power Supply Corsair 1000 watt
Mouse TRON RGB
Keyboard Corsair RGB k70
#1
Hi,

since RAM now is becoming expensive I would like to know whether 16gb is enough for gaming or Not!

Last but not least is the lack of HT a big miss over the i7 8600k?
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
1,198 (0.62/day)
Likes
516
#2
If you're asking about 16GB why do you have 26 vs 42 in the title? 16GB is most definitely enough for now, even the next couple of years, what you have to worry about more is the VRAM & the resolution you play at.

8700k will only matter in the most demanding of titles, six real cores is more than enough for the vast majority, alternatively you could choose 8700 non K.
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,876 (0.62/day)
Likes
537
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#3
i chose 8700k that way i probably won't have to upgrade for a very long time just like how my 2600k lasted very long. 16GB for me because Ram prices are too high AND it's more than enough right now. But I'll fill up the 2 extra slots though and go 32GB in the near future.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
40 (0.13/day)
Likes
12
Location
Here
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB DDR4 3333 16-16-16-36
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 Gamer
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB 2x-500GB
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 750 Gold
#4
I went ahead and bit the bullet and got 4 matched sticks of 3333GHz 32GBs of memory to go with my 8700k. Manly because i didn't with my 4770k. With it i got 2 sticks of matched 2400GHz 4GB and then later i got the same brand, speed, timing and so on.
In the end they really wasn't the same, in saying that, everything seemed to work fine with the XMP profiles. I've read cases where it didn't go so well with other people. To cut the cost i just went down the middle of the road with 3333GHz and timing of 16-16-16-36 G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2016
Messages
723 (1.03/day)
Likes
562
Location
Croatistan
System Name Tamagotchi Extreme
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K
Motherboard MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3X
Cooling Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Slim with Arctic MX-4
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3000 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB with back plate
Storage Mushkin Triactor 240GB + Toshiba X300 4TB
Display(s) Philips 237E7QDSB/00 23" FHD IPS
Case Aerocool Aero-1000 white + 4 Arctic F12 PWM Rev.2 fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio Boost 3 with Nahimic Audio Enhancer
Power Supply FSP Hydro G 650W (80 Plus Gold)
Mouse Sharkoon Shark Force
Keyboard E-Blue Cobra II
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 1.82.2 (4,8 GHz + XMP): 574 ST / 2887 MT Cinebench R15: 948 (stock) / 1044 (4,7 GHz)
#5
For gaming 16 GB is more than enough.
 
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
443 (1.04/day)
Likes
139
Processor i7 4790k / ryzen 1700
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Extreme / gigabyte b350 mini itx
Cooling Corsair H70 / cooler master master liquid
Memory 32gb DDR3 / 32gb ddr4
Video Card(s) Gtx 1080 / gtx 1080
Storage 128gb Samsung 850 Pro, 2tb hdd / 500gb 850 evo
Case Thermaltake Chaser Mk-1 / Silverstone m13b
Power Supply 1000W OCZ Gold Full Modular / seasonic focus 850w
Mouse Proteus Core G502
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
#6
Unless you play planetary annihilation at max you'll be fine with 16. I got two pcs with 32gb and never use that much even when rendering videos
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
2,625 (4.70/day)
Likes
1,810
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD FX-6300 - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard ASRock 970M Pro3
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - 4x4GB A-DATA 1866 Mhz (OC)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x 1 Tb Seagate something or other
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#7
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,916 (2.08/day)
Likes
4,315
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Xeon E3-1290 / Phenom II X6 1100T / Dual Xeon X5675's
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z77 / MSI 970 Gaming / GIGABYTE GA-7TESM
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin / TRUE 120 / Stock
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 / Samsung Reg - 24GB DDR3 Hexa-Channel
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 / ASUS 980ti Strix
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatality / X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1/ EVGA SuperNOVA 750
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#8
You can get by on 8gb honestly, 16gb is fine.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Messages
458 (0.43/day)
Likes
262
Location
South Africa ,Lions Everywhere..
System Name Ground Control
Processor Intel i5 2500k 4 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD80 B3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212x
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3 1600mhz Apacer Black Panther
Video Card(s) Msi GTX 1060 OC 3Gb
Storage 2 x 250Gb WD Blue raid 0 + 1Tb Wd Green
Display(s) Samsung BX2450 24" Led
Case GMC X7 X-Station
Power Supply HEC Raptor 500watt
Mouse Logitech G9
Software Windows 8.1
Benchmark Scores Power Level over 9000
#9
You could check your ram usage while you gaming :laugh: and then you would know
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#10
16gb is plenty.

I wouldnt worry about HT on a six core processor personally. A 6c/6t cpu will last years.
 

quimby999

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2018
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#11
Since it States 6 cores and 12 threads it does support HT I've never seen it written anywhere but here that it doesn't support HT
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,635 (3.42/day)
Likes
7,449
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#12
Since it States 6 cores and 12 threads it does support HT I've never seen it written anywhere but here that it doesn't support HT
Which one? The i5 does not support HT so 6 Core 6 thread
https://ark.intel.com/products/126685/Intel-Core-i5-8600K-Processor-9M-Cache-up-to-4_30-GHz

The i7 does 6 core 12 thread
https://ark.intel.com/products/126684/Intel-Core-i7-8700K-Processor-12M-Cache-up-to-4_70-GHz

Honestly you wont be able to tell the difference with gaming alone
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
1,451 (4.16/day)
Likes
764
Location
Poland
System Name skurwiel szatan
Processor i7 5775c
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3L 2133MHz 9-9-9-27-1T 1.512v.
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 SuperJetstream overcucked to ~2152MHz
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256(x2)+512GB / 3TB+1TB HDDs
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) Mad Catz FREQ wireless
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
#13
If you're still on 980Ti SLI, it'd be a better idea to get a 6850K with 40 pci-e lanes.


In other case, 8600K with 6c/6t and 16GB of 3000/3200 RAM should have no problem handling 1080Ti or even faster.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
397 (0.19/day)
Likes
89
Processor i7-6700K @ 5 GHz / 1.45v (Without Pigeon Poop)
Motherboard Asus Maximus Gene Z170
Cooling Custom Water @ >20dB
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3600/CL15
Video Card(s) 1080 Ti @ 2050/1520
Storage 2x 850 Evo 500 GB - Raid 0
Display(s) Asus PG279Q 27" 1440p/AHVA/165 Hz/Gsync + LG C7V 65" 2160p/OLED/HDR
Case Fractal Define Mini C
Audio Device(s) Asus Essence STX w/ Upgraded Op-Amps
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
Mouse Logitech G403 / PWM3366
Keyboard Logitech G610 / MX Red + O Rings
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 + Arch Linux
#14
16GB is more than enough. Even 8GB is enough for 99% of the games (and in the last 1% you'll loose a little fps, not much.)

Forget about X299 for gaming. And forget about SLI. Keep what you have till next gen hit. Nvidia should release consumer gaming cards later this year. AMD will probably follow suit with Navi or Vega refresh.

HT often lowers performance in games. I have tested this myself too. Only very few benefits from HT (BF1 is one of them):

 
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
443 (1.04/day)
Likes
139
Processor i7 4790k / ryzen 1700
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Extreme / gigabyte b350 mini itx
Cooling Corsair H70 / cooler master master liquid
Memory 32gb DDR3 / 32gb ddr4
Video Card(s) Gtx 1080 / gtx 1080
Storage 128gb Samsung 850 Pro, 2tb hdd / 500gb 850 evo
Case Thermaltake Chaser Mk-1 / Silverstone m13b
Power Supply 1000W OCZ Gold Full Modular / seasonic focus 850w
Mouse Proteus Core G502
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
#15
16GB is more than enough. Even 8GB is enough for 99% of the games (and in the last 1% you'll loose a little fps, not much.)
Just wait till you play planetary annihilation, the only game which has managed to use more than 16gb of ram and peaked my 4790k and gtx 1080. My ryzen 1700 does better since it has more cores/threads imo
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#16
16GB is more than enough. Even 8GB is enough for 99% of the games (and in the last 1% you'll loose a little fps, not much.)
8gb is closer to a minimum these days. Id say closer to 90% of titles are ok with 8gb - less and less being ok every month. If the budget allows, id certainly go 16gb now.

Running out of ram can lose FPS (they arent loose :p), correct, but it can cause hitching when its paging out as well.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
397 (0.19/day)
Likes
89
Processor i7-6700K @ 5 GHz / 1.45v (Without Pigeon Poop)
Motherboard Asus Maximus Gene Z170
Cooling Custom Water @ >20dB
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3600/CL15
Video Card(s) 1080 Ti @ 2050/1520
Storage 2x 850 Evo 500 GB - Raid 0
Display(s) Asus PG279Q 27" 1440p/AHVA/165 Hz/Gsync + LG C7V 65" 2160p/OLED/HDR
Case Fractal Define Mini C
Audio Device(s) Asus Essence STX w/ Upgraded Op-Amps
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
Mouse Logitech G403 / PWM3366
Keyboard Logitech G610 / MX Red + O Rings
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 + Arch Linux
#17
Just wait till you play planetary annihilation, the only game which has managed to use more than 16gb of ram and peaked my 4790k and gtx 1080. My ryzen 1700 does better since it has more cores/threads imo
Never going to play that game. Sounds like terrible code/optimization..

8gb is closer to a minimum these days. Id say closer to 90% of titles are ok with 8gb - less and less being ok every month. If the budget allows, id certainly go 16gb now.

Running out of ram can lose FPS (they arent loose :p), correct, but it can cause hitching when its paging out as well.
Yep, but in games that benefit from more than 8GB RAM, you don't see huge fps gains anyway, only slightly higher min and avg. max is pretty much identical. Obviously you should get 2x8GB for a new rig, no doubt. But people with 8GB will still be fine in the majority of demanding/AAA games.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,355 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,904
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#18
Again, its not really an FPS issue, running out system RAM...once you cross that threshold, it pages out and can cause hitching in games. With several titles out already eclipsing 8gb ram use, 16gb is prudent. Id honestly only go 8gb if i absolutely couldnt afford more.

I dont consider it enough if there are aready titles.
 
Last edited:

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
10,194 (2.80/day)
Likes
14,292
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#19
Hi,

since RAM now is becoming expensive I would like to know whether 16gb is enough for gaming or Not!

Last but not least is the lack of HT a big miss over the i7 8600k?
To sum up what others said, and a crusade I have championed here for two years, it is nice to see the majority on board. 16gb of RAM is the new norm for gaming. 8gb was it for about 6 years, but is becoming less and less acceptable.

Don’t worry about 32gb for gaming. If you are a heavy photo editor, then yes, get 32, but unless you are running a HEDT with the dedicated lanes, that extra RAM is overkill, even for photo editing.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
397 (0.19/day)
Likes
89
Processor i7-6700K @ 5 GHz / 1.45v (Without Pigeon Poop)
Motherboard Asus Maximus Gene Z170
Cooling Custom Water @ >20dB
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3600/CL15
Video Card(s) 1080 Ti @ 2050/1520
Storage 2x 850 Evo 500 GB - Raid 0
Display(s) Asus PG279Q 27" 1440p/AHVA/165 Hz/Gsync + LG C7V 65" 2160p/OLED/HDR
Case Fractal Define Mini C
Audio Device(s) Asus Essence STX w/ Upgraded Op-Amps
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
Mouse Logitech G403 / PWM3366
Keyboard Logitech G610 / MX Red + O Rings
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 + Arch Linux
#20
Again, its not really an FPS issue, running out system RAM...once you cross that threshold, it pages out and can cause hitching in games. With several titles out already eclipsing 8gb ram use, 16gb is prudent. Id honestly only go 8gb if i absolutely couldnt afford more.

I dont consider it enough if there are aready titles.
In which games do you run out of system ram with 8GB?! A few games RUN BETTER with more than 8GB, but it's not like when you're running out of VRAM and fps drops like crazy because of flushing. There is tons of tests on youtube with 8 vs 16 (and more) RAM, and the 8GB system sometimes has SLIGHTLY less min and avg, not much.

Often 8GB fast memory / low cl offers better gaming perf than 16GB slower memory / higher cl.

I have 32GB, it's not like im trying to justify anything. I simply know that 8GB is more than enough in pretty much any game today, unless you run alot of programs in the background (browser with many tabs is not a good idea).
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
10,194 (2.80/day)
Likes
14,292
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#21
In which games do you run out of system ram with 8GB?! A few games RUN BETTER with more than 8GB, but it's not like when you're running out of VRAM and fps drops like crazy because of flushing. There is tons of tests on youtube with 8 vs 16 (and more) RAM, and the 8GB system sometimes has SLIGHTLY less min and avg, not much.

Often 8GB fast memory / low cl offers better gaming perf than 16GB slower memory / higher cl.

I have 32GB, it's not like im trying to justify anything. I simply know that 8GB is more than enough in pretty much any game today, unless you run alot of programs in the background (browser with many tabs is not a good idea).
You are simply out of touch with your 32gb. With just normal windows processes and a couple things like drivers and antivirus (which majority find essential), RAM total will regularly go over 8gb. Last night playing GTA 5 single player, my RAM use was 8978. Other recent games I recall off top of my head Dishonored 2, Batman Arkham Knight and Elex find system RAM between 8 and 9 and a 1/2.

I have 16gb RAM so I’m ok. I can however relate one of my systems a year ago had only 8. It was not unusual for gameplay to hit 8. At that point the game would hitch or pause as it tried to fix the situation by swapping out from RAM.

8gb is certainly not “more than enough” anymore. 2010 to 2017 is gone. 8gb is an absolute bare minimum if cost is an issue. Or if not gaming, of course.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
397 (0.19/day)
Likes
89
Processor i7-6700K @ 5 GHz / 1.45v (Without Pigeon Poop)
Motherboard Asus Maximus Gene Z170
Cooling Custom Water @ >20dB
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3600/CL15
Video Card(s) 1080 Ti @ 2050/1520
Storage 2x 850 Evo 500 GB - Raid 0
Display(s) Asus PG279Q 27" 1440p/AHVA/165 Hz/Gsync + LG C7V 65" 2160p/OLED/HDR
Case Fractal Define Mini C
Audio Device(s) Asus Essence STX w/ Upgraded Op-Amps
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
Mouse Logitech G403 / PWM3366
Keyboard Logitech G610 / MX Red + O Rings
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 + Arch Linux
#22
You are simply out of touch with your 32gb. With just normal windows processes and a couple things like drivers and antivirus (which majority find essential), RAM total will regularly go over 8gb. Last night playing GTA 5 single player, my RAM use was 8978. Other recent games I recall off top of my head Dishonored 2, Batman Arkham Knight and Elex find system RAM between 8 and 9 and a 1/2.

I have 16gb RAM so I’m ok. I can however relate one of my systems a year ago had only 8. It was not unusual for gameplay to hit 8. At that point the game would hitch or pause as it tried to fix the situation by swapping out from RAM.

8gb is certainly not “more than enough” anymore. 2010 to 2017 is gone. 8gb is an absolute bare minimum if cost is an issue. Or if not gaming, of course.
The more memory you have, the more is allocated. Just like with VRAM. A Titan V with 12GB is going to have much higher usage than 1080 with 8GB, on exact same settings/res. It does not mean that amount is required.

This is pretty much common knowledge. As I already said, there is tons of tests with 8GB vs 16GB in gaming. 8GB is enough in pretty much all games, and in the games where 16GB had better performance, it was not by much.

Just normal windows processes and antivirus? That would run just fine on 4GB. I never said 8GB was MORE than enough, I said it was enough for 99% of games. And the last 1% would also run "fine", altho slightly worse perf.

GTA V 8 vs 16 GB; Same performance.

 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
10,194 (2.80/day)
Likes
14,292
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#23
Lol, you are SO out of touch. The loading of extra RAM just because is what happens with VRAM. This is not regular RAM behavior.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
397 (0.19/day)
Likes
89
Processor i7-6700K @ 5 GHz / 1.45v (Without Pigeon Poop)
Motherboard Asus Maximus Gene Z170
Cooling Custom Water @ >20dB
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3600/CL15
Video Card(s) 1080 Ti @ 2050/1520
Storage 2x 850 Evo 500 GB - Raid 0
Display(s) Asus PG279Q 27" 1440p/AHVA/165 Hz/Gsync + LG C7V 65" 2160p/OLED/HDR
Case Fractal Define Mini C
Audio Device(s) Asus Essence STX w/ Upgraded Op-Amps
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
Mouse Logitech G403 / PWM3366
Keyboard Logitech G610 / MX Red + O Rings
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 + Arch Linux
#24
Lol, you are SO out of touch. The loading of extra RAM just because I’d what happens with VRAM. This is not regular RAM behavior.
Read up on RAM allocation. Watch the video btw. I only have 32GB because of VM's + CC.
Gaming does not require much memory.

Even 4GB holds up very well... Arkham Knight is a memory hog. And 4GB delivers 4 fps less than 16GB...
https://www.techspot.com/article/1043-8gb-vs-16gb-ram/page3.html

"With 16GB of memory available we found that Chrome plus GTA V used 9GB of memory but there was absolutely no difference between the 16GB and 8GB configurations. Moreover, just a single frame was dropped when moving down to 4GB of memory in a single-channel configuration."

"Batman: Arkham Knight might not seem like a wise choice here but it's a memory hog, using almost 10GB of memory with Chrome running in the background. Despite this, the 16GB configuration was just 1fps faster than the 8GB config and 4fps faster than the 4GB config. To put it another way, 16GB was 4% faster than 4GB."

"Of the now 20 plus games we actively benchmark with, the only other game to exceed 6GB of memory usage was F1 2015 and all three memory configurations delivered the exact same 109fps."

"In gaming scenarios we were surprised to see 4GB will help you extract most out of your system (actual gameplay frame rates versus say, loading levels) but 8GB remains ideal. Those of you focused solely on gaming who don't have the extra cash to splurge on 16GB of memory, fear not, you aren't missing out on any hidden performance."

I'm not saying 16GB is useless. I'm saying that 99% of games will run just fine with 8GB and the last 1% are still highly playable. You will lose 5-10% perf, at worst.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
5,248 (3.74/day)
Likes
4,224
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.31v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
#25
Read up on RAM allocation. Watch the video btw. I only have 32GB because of VM's + CC.
Gaming does not require much memory.

Even 4GB holds up very well... Arkham Knight is a memory hog. And 4GB delivers 4 fps less than 16GB...
https://www.techspot.com/article/1043-8gb-vs-16gb-ram/page3.html

"With 16GB of memory available we found that Chrome plus GTA V used 9GB of memory but there was absolutely no difference between the 16GB and 8GB configurations. Moreover, just a single frame was dropped when moving down to 4GB of memory in a single-channel configuration."

"Batman: Arkham Knight might not seem like a wise choice here but it's a memory hog, using almost 10GB of memory with Chrome running in the background. Despite this, the 16GB configuration was just 1fps faster than the 8GB config and 4fps faster than the 4GB config. To put it another way, 16GB was 4% faster than 4GB."

"Of the now 20 plus games we actively benchmark with, the only other game to exceed 6GB of memory usage was F1 2015 and all three memory configurations delivered the exact same 109fps."

"In gaming scenarios we were surprised to see 4GB will help you extract most out of your system (actual gameplay frame rates versus say, loading levels) but 8GB remains ideal. Those of you focused solely on gaming who don't have the extra cash to splurge on 16GB of memory, fear not, you aren't missing out on any hidden performance."

I'm not saying 16GB is useless. I'm saying that 99% of games will run just fine with 8GB and the last 1% are still highly playable. You will lose 5-10% perf, at worst.
Riiiight. Now let's go back to reality, or actual user experience like mine: I ran an 8 GB rig not too long ago with an i5 3570k + GTX 1080 (ie sufficient CPU/GPU power) and it was the 8GB RAM that caused stutter. Did it lower my average FPS? No - that's where the CPU came in. But it did kill my frame times and is one of the main reasons I upgraded to a new rig with 16 GB. Every stutter I used to have is gone, same GPU, same games, same situations.

Fact remains: if you increase framerate, the chance of a frame not getting rendered in time increases too. Building a rig today with a faster quad core than what I had is a 100% guarantee for stutter @ 8GB RAM. And no, you don't need to be CPU/GPU limited for it either.

Can you get by with 8GB? Of course, in a similar way as you can get by on 4GB these days: the applications will function, just don't ask how.

I guess your post is a great example of why Youtube is a crappy source for PC enthusiasts.

Also, RAM is not allocated in the same way as VRAM. Its in fact a completely different world you're talking about here. On top of that, RAM Is also permanently allocated at least in part to everything else you run: Windows, services, literally everything that runs on your rig resides in RAM or Pagefile. Most notably a Chrome browser, which is known to take upwards of 1GB.
 
Last edited:
Top