• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

19" Dell Triniton Monitor screen all green???

Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
675 (0.16/day)
Likes
7
Location
Michigan, US
System Name Clarise
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Toledo) @2.8 (255 X 11)
Motherboard Asus A8v Deluxe rev 2
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Cooler Pro + 5 Case Fans
Memory 2GB G-Skill (2.5-3-3-6 1T) @ 467mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 @ 640-814
Storage Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB (Sata) Maxtor 120GB (Sata) Western Digital 120GB (ide)
Display(s) 19" HP Pavilion M90 / 33" Sony Wega Trinitron
Case Antec Lanboy with a few mods :0)
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 4 Pro - Bose Free Style 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply Rosewill Extreme Edition 500W 34A 12V rail
Software Windows XP Pro & Vista Ultimate
#1
i got a 19" dell monitor from a friend the other day cause they didnt want it. and after plugging it in i noticed that the display is all green. is it because the red pin is broke? or could it be somthing else? all of the pins on the connector are there... it is a Trinitron monitor so i would like to fix it and have a nice shiny purty display from it!! :D
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,402 (0.34/day)
Likes
128
Location
London, England
#2
Green balance might be off, try the OSD menu. Other than that, try another connector on graphics card, another cable, or try adjusting the cable (my X1950 remains a little loose and causes an all purple display tint until I really fiddle with it).
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
675 (0.16/day)
Likes
7
Location
Michigan, US
System Name Clarise
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Toledo) @2.8 (255 X 11)
Motherboard Asus A8v Deluxe rev 2
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Cooler Pro + 5 Case Fans
Memory 2GB G-Skill (2.5-3-3-6 1T) @ 467mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 @ 640-814
Storage Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB (Sata) Maxtor 120GB (Sata) Western Digital 120GB (ide)
Display(s) 19" HP Pavilion M90 / 33" Sony Wega Trinitron
Case Antec Lanboy with a few mods :0)
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 4 Pro - Bose Free Style 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply Rosewill Extreme Edition 500W 34A 12V rail
Software Windows XP Pro & Vista Ultimate
#3
ok, i think there might be a short in the cable though. i hope not though cause that would be a pain in the ass to fix...
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.63/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#4
had the same problem on an old crt im betting its the connector try wiggle it about when its plugged in see if that helps
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.76/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
That is a common problem with old Trinitron CRTs. It usually means they're on their way out.

It might be able to be repaired but it most likely involves disassembly and replacement re-adjustment of components.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.55/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#6
If not a loose connection, the tube is probably almost gone.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.63/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#7
probablt but im guessing its the vga cable, crts are like tanks man they last forever :laugh:

speaking of crt's been thionking of getting a high res 19"/21" one for gaming (im talking 1900x1080 or similar) would it be worth it? you can pick some really good crts up for like £50 now?
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.76/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
...crts are like tanks man they last forever :laugh:...
Meh, I guess. At about 8-10 years they start to get flaky depending on how they are treated. I have several that are probably not that old that have various quality issues.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
675 (0.16/day)
Likes
7
Location
Michigan, US
System Name Clarise
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Toledo) @2.8 (255 X 11)
Motherboard Asus A8v Deluxe rev 2
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Cooler Pro + 5 Case Fans
Memory 2GB G-Skill (2.5-3-3-6 1T) @ 467mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 @ 640-814
Storage Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB (Sata) Maxtor 120GB (Sata) Western Digital 120GB (ide)
Display(s) 19" HP Pavilion M90 / 33" Sony Wega Trinitron
Case Antec Lanboy with a few mods :0)
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 4 Pro - Bose Free Style 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply Rosewill Extreme Edition 500W 34A 12V rail
Software Windows XP Pro & Vista Ultimate
#9
i tried wiggling the connector, it is not that. i have taken the monitor apart and i removed the cable, and this weekend i am getting my multi meter back from a friend so i will test each pin / wire and if not that then i think i might just take it out back and shoot it!! :D
 

PuMA

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
724 (0.17/day)
Likes
28
Location
Finland
Processor lapped C2D e6850, 3600mhz
Motherboard ASUS P5N32-E SLI (680i SLI)
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U9, 3 2x120mm 1x180mm case fans
Memory 6GB A-DATA vitesta DDR2 900mhz (2x1gb + 2x2gb)
Video Card(s) LEASTEK GTX 260 (701/1408/1105)
Storage SAMSUNG F1 640GB SATAII/SEAGATE 250gb SATAII
Display(s) SAMSUNG 226BW 1680x1050 2ms
Case ANTEC three hundred
Audio Device(s) ASUS SupremeFX, SONY surround AMP
Power Supply XION 630W
Software VISTA ULTIMATE x64
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06:15126 (701/1408/1105) vantage: 11698
#10
i tried wiggling the connector, it is not that. i have taken the monitor apart and i removed the cable, and this weekend i am getting my multi meter back from a friend so i will test each pin / wire and if not that then i think i might just take it out back and shoot it!! :D

just be careful not to blow the tube:eek::eek::eek:
 

MunkeyQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Dell Latitude D630
Processor T7250 2.0ghz Core 2 Duo
Motherboard Dell
Cooling Standard Dell fan
Memory 3gb Hynix
Video Card(s) Some onboard thing
Storage 80gb Seagate and external 640gb Seagate
Case ...it's a laptop
Audio Device(s) PCMCIA Audigy
Software Lots.
#11
Check for bent pins in the connector too. Also, if the monitor has a removeable cable, the solder joints on the monitor's socket sometimes come loose. Remember when poking around inside a CRT that there's some pretty lethal voltages still stored in the capacitors for some time after it's turned off.
 
Top