1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

19 September Launch Day for FX Series Processors

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 26, 2011.

  1. twilyth Guest

    Looks like Sept 12-23. Mass production starts in August.

    Source

     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,106 (3.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,236
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    twillith, please quit quoting stuff from OBR or referencing OBR. Did you not see his admission that all his Bulldozer info was fake? It's all over his blog.
     
    repman244 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,998 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    DDR3-1866 is the fastest memory official supported by AMD thats all.
    OCing is another story.
     
    hardcore_gamer says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,805 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    :shadedshuNo...... we all know where this is heading....... intel = skynet. The first attack will be on amd users world wide. Ill pray for u all
     
  5. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,141 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    This.

    AFAIK he was also saying a November launch or something about BD release being pushed even further, which I guess turned out all to be BS.
    He faked the benches and people still believe him.
     
  6. Jonap_1st

    Jonap_1st New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    288 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    South Green Jakarta
    try not to be out of topic..

    word optimal doesnt always mean faster. talking about getting result which ideal for both performance and your wallet.. ;)
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,106 (3.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,236
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    What's ballsy is that this isn't his first time, either. Anyone touting thier company contacts like that is simply screaming for attention, and most should realize by now that AMD doesn't operate like that. I kept posting in those threads...wait for official info...:laugh: Then OBR says he trolled the internet. Go figure.

    But you know what? I have yet to find an actual OFFICIAL document stating the release date as September 19th.

    Would be nice though, and a smart move by AMD...I'm working on AMD SKT FM1 reviews right now, and it looks like those reviews will carry me right up to that launch. Then Bulldozer comes out? AMD is goning to be getting alot of hype, left, right, and center. Sounds good to me!


    I can wait for performance figures, myself. I gotta buy chips for reviews anyway, so actual performance isn't going to influence my purchasing decisions when it comes to these chips, but it WILL influence what I use in all of my rigs.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,973 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    995
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    So it's not a bad thing that I have no idea who this guy is? Have seen this "OBR' quoted several times in the other BD thread.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,106 (3.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,236
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    He is the source of all the "info" over the past few months...the screenies, the benches, etc...all just a ploy for traffic, it seems.

    Those of us that play in the extreme circles know who he is, I guess.

    He then admitted on the 14th or 15th that it was all bull, on his blog, with a list of sites that published his info as "real". Many sites posted retractions. Anyway, that's enough about him. More about me, mkay? :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,572 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    So no pricing yet. And haven't seen any AM3+ MATX motherboards that can do SLI/Crossfire yet.

    Just to wait. :ohwell:
     
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,106 (3.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,236
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    WTF you talking about, Willis? :p I reviewed a AM3+ couple of boards a while ago, and the 990X board supported both, even came with an SLi bridge.

    See here?:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/M5A99X_EVO/



    :shadedshu Ah, you ninja editor you. mATX, OK, ok...I'll ask around.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. bucketface

    bucketface New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    142 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    the last official document was from computex and gave a release between 60 and 90 days, so if thats still the case and i believe it still is, then that would mean release b4 Aug 30. It is possible though, that they pushed it back another 20 days but last i heard they were adamant that they would stick to the above timeline.

    1866mhz memory is most likely reqired to provide enough mem bandwidth to all 8 cores under heavy/full utilization, providing optimal perf when used insead of lower speed mem. at least thats how i'd take it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  13. twilyth Guest

    To be honest, I don't follow this stuff as closely as you all do. I knew there was dissatisfaction that was widely expressed on the intertubez regarding this person, but I figured if another presumably reputable site was quoting him that they had a good reason. If I'd known people tend to regard him as an outright liar and fraud, I probably would have reconsidered. I don't really know much about the WCCF site anyway.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,973 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    995
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Alright - hows the RAID perf on the SB950? Improved at all since the SB750? (last time I've tried RAID on an AMD chipset)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,106 (3.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,236
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Yeha, no worries, I know you were just reposting what ya saw, so not your fault, at all. In fact, it greatly reduces my likelyhood of ever visiting the WCCF site again, so thanks for that bit of it, for sure.

    I have not explored RAID functionality, as I see it as a problematic feature best left for data redundancy, and not as a way to get extra performance, now that SSDs are so quick, and in my books, SSDs are fairly affordable.

    And if used for data redundancy, obviously there's going to be a bit of performance overhead. Truth be told, I am looking at exploring RAID performance in the future in my motherboard reviews, but I do need to procure some drives to do the testing with. It not worse, I can sya, but I cannot comment on if it's better, or the same as previous AMD chipsets.
     
    Jizzler says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    But will it run Crysis ?
     
  17. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,238 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    The performance of my two 7200.12 HDDs in RAID 1 is about the same as it was with the sb750, but I really didn't expect (or need) any difference. I am happy to note that with the drivers I pulled from ASUS, I successfully have TRIM commands passed to my non-array-member SSD with the controller in RAID mode. I highly doubt TRIM will be passed to SSDs in a RAID array, but in AMDs defense, Intel doesn't have that working yet, either (I don't believe).
     
    Jizzler and cadaveca say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,380 (9.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,984
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    According to the Ministry of Truth OBR™,

    [​IMG]

    No SSE. So no, it won't run Crysis. :rolleyes:
     
    xenocide, _JP_, Jonap_1st and 2 others say thanks.
  19. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,805 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    :confused:I could b wrong but (surprisingly)no one Has figured how 2 enable trim in an raid array have they? Thats the only reason I have only one ssd. Or have I missed th boat
     
  20. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,141 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Hmm after closer inspection I think it's not OBR's, I mean there is just not enough blacked out sections :laugh:

    @[H]@RD5TUFF
    It will only blend this time, since it's a bulldozer ;)
     
  21. Hotobu

    Hotobu

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    333 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Nope

    WTF @ "Chuck Norris." and LSD
     
  22. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,141 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Found 2 old images that I think are brilliant, I saw this on XS long time ago and I am not the one who made them, so all the credits go to the original authors of the images.
    P.S they aren't fake

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Jonap_1st says thanks.
  23. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,614 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I just hope it performs well enough to make intel drop the 2600k about 50 dollars. :roll:
     
  24. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    It has a high enough frequency it might be worth while. I am wondering if somebody could disable to modules and run it as a 4 core to get a higher oc and more "real world" performance...... vs. synthetic benchmark performance.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. majestic12

    majestic12

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    555 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    boondocks, Michigan
    I'm excited to see the numbers but don't think it'll beat my current setup. I recently upgraded my i7 920 for an LGA1366 Mr. T and it's been great. All the gold alone has quadrupled my computer's monetary value. Can BD do that for me?
    [​IMG]
     
    yogurt_21 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)