1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1950XT stuck at 2D clocks after ATITool

Discussion in 'ATITool' started by eltoro200, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. eltoro200 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have a Sapphire Radeon 1950XT.
    A few months ago I tried a little OC with ATITool (now using v0.27 beta4), and since then the card is suffering from low performance/freezes.
    I also notice that my 3DMark03 score went down from around 20k to around 14k.

    This card's 3D clocks are GPU/RAM 621MHz/900MHz (1800MHz effective).
    These clocks are also displayed in the ATI Overdrive interface, as the "Requested" clocks, but the "Current" clocks stay at 500MHz/594MHz GPU/RAM even while running 3D testing apps.

    I thought that maybe something got screwed with my WinXP, so I installed another fresh copy of WinXP SP2, and added only the latest Intel Chipset drivers, and Catalyst 8.1.
    The clocks are still stuck at 2D mode?!?!?!?

    Could it be that ATITool changed something in the card's firmware?
    (ATITool offers the option to OC a card using its own method, and also using a driver level OC).
    If yes, can this change be reversed?

    My system:
    WinXP SP2
    Intel E6850@3.6GHz (9x400Mhz = 1600MHz FSB)
    Asus P5B Deluxe (bios 1226)
    Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4 (2 x 1GB @ 4-4-4-12-800MHz)
    Sapphire Radeon 1950XT 256MB
    Western Digital WD5000YS
    PSU Enermax Liberty 620W

    Thanks a ton!
    Tom
     
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,019 (5.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,977
    Don't create multiple threads for the same problem.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  3. eltoro200 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oops, tried stopping it after clicking on the submit button, but looks like I was too late...

    Anyway, anyone with any insight on my 1950xt/0.27b4 issue?
     
  4. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,452 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,262
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I use .26 for my 1950xtx as the .27 series don't seem to save my voltages to my OC profiles correctly. Also I use 7.9 drivers as I haven't found any good reason to go further as it seems performance in driver support peaks here for 1950's imo.

    Go into settings and make sure a box is checked to load 3D clocks on ATI Tool Startup (should be checked by default).

    IMO you should try .26 ATI Tool and CCC 7.9! Hope that helps! :toast:
     
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Also, double check to make sure your PCIe power cable is plugged into the card. Might be loose or unhooked.
     
  6. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,452 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,262
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    iirc if you don't have the PCIe plug connected to the card you can't even boot the PC, or at least that's been my experience since my x850 (my 1950pro for sure). Whenever I have forgotten I have recieved a message stating that I needed to connect the power cable to the video card in red letters on a black screen and that was as-far-as it would go until I shut down and installed the power cable.

    I know a lot of NV cards are capable of running w/o external power in 2D mode though.
     
  7. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,562 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    TX, USA
    ^^ yes it needs the pci-e power cable or it well get the blk screen with red letters ;)

    @eltoro200 0.26 works the best in XP so stick with that

    have you made profiles for 2D and 3D clocks ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. zCexVe

    zCexVe

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    417 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    I had problems like that too with my X1950XT so I removed ATI tool and it worked fine.I just have OCed the 3D profile from flashing BIOS :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)