• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1GB Internet Very Inconsistent

Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,274 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Ok so i just upgraded yesterday to Comcast 1GB internet up from my 300Mbps plan i had with them. So far i'm not impressed as i've only gotten a little close to the actual speeds. It seems my speeds are very inconsistent and most of the time barely higher than 350Mbps. over wired i was able to reach 917Mbps once and over wifi 538Mbps once.


These are my results via ethernet Cat5e










These are over Wifi

126763

126764

126765




Is this normal
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
3,658 (0.68/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory Viper Steel DDR4 3733MHz 16-19-19
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
I think you mean 1Gbit to start with.

Secondly, you'll NEVER get those kind of speeds using Wi-Fi, unless you have an 802.11ax router and a 3x3 802.11ax client to go with it and possibly not even then.
500Mbps+ over Wi-Fi is really fast.

The wired connection is about right. Keep in mind that you're most likely sharing a huge chunk of that bandwidth with other people in the building/area, as this is over the cable TV network and that is always shared with others at some point or another. Try testing late at night or early morning, when not so many others are using the internet and see how it performs then.

Your upload speed is kind of crap for that kind of download speed though, but I guess that's what your provider offers.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,661 (4.04/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
hm yes and no. So depending on how the ISP is distributing the bandwidth you might be on a shared node. If that is the case you can get "up to" the speed you are paying for but it is not "guaranteed".

Another issue is wifi itself. Wifi by nature isn't as fast or as consistent as wired internet. While their are alot of technical reasons for this and work arounds like channel grooming at the heart of that wifi is half duplex. Thats just a little factoid since speed tests are done 1 at a time up then down and not at the same time.

Lastly is the router itself, while the unit may be able to push gig speeds it may not be able to do it for an extended amount of time. For various reasons. However in even being able to do it the ISP will qualify it as "compatible".

Lest we forget the speedtest server in which you are testing from.

Now to the heart of the issue, seeing as you dont have synchronous up and down I am going to guess you are on Cable. Honestly, this is probably a shared node for your neighborhood. Your performance will be all over the place depending on the usage of the node itself. If thats the case and its probably the most likely their is nothing you can do. You might be able to call and ask and they might move you to a tap that is connected to a different uplink and the speeds may level out a bit, but the reality is you will always be competing for bandwidth with anyone else on the node.

For shits and giggledsyou could try wired, but I doubt the experience will be much different.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,274 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
hm yes and no. So depending on how the ISP is distributing the bandwidth you might be on a shared node. If that is the case you are can get "up to" the speed you are paying for but it is not "guaranteed".

Another issue is wifi itself. Wifi by nature isn't as fast or as consistent as wired internet. While their are alot of technical reasons for this and work arounds like channel grooming at the heart of that wifi is half duplex. Thats just a little factoid since speed tests are done 1 at a time up then down and not at the same time.

Lastly is the router itself, while the unit may be able to push gig speeds it may not be able to do it for an extended amount of time. For various reasons. However in even being able to do it the ISP will qualify it as "compatible".

Lest we forget the speedtest server in which you are testing from.

Now to the heart of the issue, seeing as you dont have synchronous up and down I am going to guess you are on Cable. Honestly, this is probably a shared node for your neighborhood. Your performance will be all over the place depending on the usage of the node itself. If thats the case and its probably the most likely their is nothing you can do. You might be able to call and ask and they might move you to a tab that is connected to a different uplink and the speeds may level out a bit, but the reality is you will always be competing for bandwidth with anyone else on the node.

For shits and giggled you could try wired, but I doubt the experience will be much different.
I posted wired speeds
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
904 (0.37/day)
Location
California
A lot of speedtest servers aren't that great.

500Mbps on WiFi is pretty damn good. Stick to wired Gigabit LAN for machines where you actually want the best performance.

Try to torrent Ubuntu server (torrent link is on the download Ubuntu page) using a good torrent client like Tixati and see how fast it is.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,661 (4.04/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,095 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-8086K (Coffee Cups) @ 5GHz 1.248V Offset -110| Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi (Bios: P4.00 Disabled Intel ME modded by R-T-B) | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24 | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" Hybrid Core/Mem: +130MHz GPU Boost: 2000MHz+ | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK-Logitech G305 | Logitech MK270 kit
Software Win10 Pro SCU UK x64 | Win10 Home SCU x86
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
What internet do you have any find over COAX or is this fiber?

In my country promise 1Gbit down with lowest of 900Mbit over COAX in reality it looks like your test results and worse I tried 1000/60Mbit and my connect was all over the place even new routers and bridging the isp's router did jack to say it mildly and I had to tell the isp what steps to troubleshoot because they didn't know anything about COAX.

I am not a internet tech from any company but I do have some knowledge for the backend COAX in my country what to do when troubleshooting and in the end the Sagemcom routers wasn't up to the job a year ago now my dad ordered 1000/100Mbit which the company called Fastspeed and that's the same connection the owner of the COAX cables provide so lets see how that goes because the 1000/60Mbit he got today doesn't work because all the cheaper companies use the same Sagemcom router but software is a bit difference.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,617 (1.18/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Read your agreement. I bet it says it says "up to" 1Gbps.

Did you reboot your modem after they upgraded your service? Sometimes to get the actual increase, the gateway device (typically the modem) needs its firmware updated and that typically can only happen during a reboot (full power cycle) of the device.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,725 (1.78/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX @2666 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1060 SC 6G
Storage Adata SX8200 256GB, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G503
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
If you have friends with gigabit connection, then I'd talk to them and re-test via iperf, or at least manually re-test on different speedtest servers with multi-gig connection.
Had to deal with this issue on one of our servers. Our customer asked to post some average speedtest results before we start measurements, so I ran Speedtest CLI a good dozen times with pathetic results and soon found out that in Ukraine there are only 3 or so public servers that can consistently measure speeds above 1Gbit/s. Plus, one of our servers is routed in such a way that the fastest speedtest server for one of our machines is the slowest for the other one (two different datacenters, but both in Kiev only about 20km apart).
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
518 (1.78/day)
Location
NL
System Name Serenity
Processor Ryzen 7 3700x (Matisse)
Motherboard ASUS Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory Ballistix Elite 3600 (@3400 C14 16-14-30-52 1T) Crucial E-Die - 2x8GB
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! (up to ~2060Mhz boost)
Storage Rubbish M.2 SATA boot drive + 2x Crucial MX500 1TB Raid0
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG348Q, DELL U2713HM, 2x DELL U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black TG
Audio Device(s) Sony WH-1000X m2, microlab SOLO7C (Gen1)
Power Supply SuperFlower Gold 800W
Mouse SteelSeries RIVAL 600
Keyboard SteelSeries APEX M750
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Over 9000!
speedtest.net means nothing, the servers themselves might be overloaded or simply too far.

To test your actual connection speed... there is one way:
Torrents.

If you want to stay in the legal bounds get the biggest linux distro you can find and let it rip with something like qBitTorrent (which can handle 1gbps just fine).
Or you can try some large bluray rip from some shady website and then delete if after testing done. No harm done if you're not actually watch it :p
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,095 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-8086K (Coffee Cups) @ 5GHz 1.248V Offset -110| Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi (Bios: P4.00 Disabled Intel ME modded by R-T-B) | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24 | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" Hybrid Core/Mem: +130MHz GPU Boost: 2000MHz+ | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK-Logitech G305 | Logitech MK270 kit
Software Win10 Pro SCU UK x64 | Win10 Home SCU x86
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
If you have friends with gigabit connection, then I'd talk to them and re-test via iperf, or at least manually re-test on different speedtest servers with multi-gig connection.
Had to deal with this issue on one of our servers. Our customer asked to post some average speedtest results before we start measurements, so I ran Speedtest CLI a good dozen times with pathetic results and soon found out that in Ukraine there are only 3 or so public servers that can consistently measure speeds above 1Gbit/s. Plus, one of our servers is routed in such a way that the fastest speedtest server for one of our machines is the slowest for the other one (two different datacenters, but both in Kiev only about 20km apart).
iperf is a great way of testing but even when you don't reach the speeds there is something that's not stable could be the isp router.

I had this problem in the past and my dad got it at the moment and the isp refuses to do more about it even it's the router if the tech person that comes out and test at the COAX connector at the wall with no cap on it does 1500Mbit stable with not issues and about 1000 up.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
3,658 (0.68/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory Viper Steel DDR4 3733MHz 16-19-19
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
Another thing, you got quite high pings, 34-40ms is actually quite terrible.
I have nowhere near your speed, but I have 10ms ping with a similar distance to the server.



Also, note that even Gigabit Ethernet on a PC peaks at around 980Mbps under the best of conditions, so you won't see speeds higher than that on a wired Gigabit connection.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,661 (4.04/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Another thing, you got quite high pings, 34-40ms is actually quite terrible.
I have nowhere near your speed, but I have 10ms ping with a similar distance to the server.

off topic, but thats considered normal for US infra. The only people that generally have lower are FTTP. Mine currently at about 100miles (via FTTP)

 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,725 (1.78/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX @2666 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1060 SC 6G
Storage Adata SX8200 256GB, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G503
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
To test your actual connection speed... there is one way:
Torrents.
Not super-accurate, but at least you can get the ballpark of your speed. Downloading games on Steam is probably a better measure (I'm getting around 98Mbit/s on 100Mbit/s connection).
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,274 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
ISP is Comcast

Connection is Cable/Coax

I’ve tried both Ethernet and Wired
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,134 (4.30/day)
ISP is Comcast

Connection is Cable/Coax

I’ve tried both Ethernet and Wired
Are you using your own modem and router or renting theirs?


off topic, but thats considered normal for US infra. The only people that generally have lower are FTTP. Mine currently at about 100miles (via FTTP)

I dont have FTTP but my latency is typically a lot lower than 30-40.

Here is a shot from my phone...wireless obviously.

Screenshot_20190713-113131_Speedtest.jpg
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
11,446 (2.61/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k @ Stock
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ DDR4-3400 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64
I have the 1gbps service... got it for free for complaining enough, lol.

Will post my results shortly. Wired direct from router system...

Here:

 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
15,847 (3.22/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 3 1200
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
Another thing, you got quite high pings, 34-40ms is actually quite terrible.
I have nowhere near your speed, but I have 10ms ping with a similar distance to the server.
This is very dependant on location, not just distance. Where I live I've never had anything outside the town ever measure below ~30ms. My parents have about ~50ms to anything. Nothing wrong anywhere, just the way it is with router hopping.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
11,446 (2.61/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k @ Stock
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ DDR4-3400 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64
This is very dependant on location, not just distance. Where I live I've never had anything outside the town ever measure below ~30ms. My parents have about ~50ms to anything. Nothing wrong anywhere, just the way it is with router hopping.
Indeed. I am completely copper coax but live near a substation despite being rural, so 12ms ping.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,274 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Are you using your own modem and router or renting theirs?


I dont have FTTP but my latency is typically a lot lower than 30-40.

Here is a shot from my phone...wireless obviously.

View attachment 126771
I use their modem with my router
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,211 (0.92/day)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 2700 @ 3400MHz
Motherboard Asus TUF X470-Plus Gaming
Cooling Wraith Spire (RGB)
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Asus Strix R9-285 2GB (stand-in for now new one coming)
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD, 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black, 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1903)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
Gee you guys have some whack upload speeds any reason comcrap aren't offering 1000/500Mbps
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,088 (3.17/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro,
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit // Windows 10 Pro 64bit with Kodi
Gee you guys have some whack upload speeds any reason comcrap aren't offering 1000/500Mbps
For a commercial price they will. EDIT I just looked it up wow the 1000/100 is now 1000/35 for $500 a month
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
206 (1.47/day)
Processor 3700x @ 4.3
Motherboard Crosshair 7 hero
Cooling Kraken X62
Memory 16GB Trident-Z 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX2080 XC Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 evo 500gb NVME
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift PG348Q
Case NZXT H500
Audio Device(s) Phillips SHP 9500s.....Audio Technica AT 2035 microphone.....Scarlett 2i2 audio interface.
Power Supply EVGA 850W Supernova G2
Mouse Model O
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software Windows 10
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
1,105 (0.42/day)
System Name desktop
Processor i7-4770k
Motherboard Asus z87-plus
Cooling Corsair h80
Memory 32gb G.Skill Ares @ 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC (ACX 3.0)
Storage 2x Samsung 1tb 850evo SSD, 3x WD drives, 2 seagate
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU 27inch IPS G-Sync 165hz
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster x-FI Platium, Turtle beach Elite pro 2 + superamp.
Power Supply OCZ Z Series 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Keyboard Logitch G710+
Gee you guys have some whack upload speeds any reason comcrap aren't offering 1000/500Mbps
Most residential area's still use 4 channel upload docsis3 and can't offer more then that. As for business side getting more that would be fiber to the door.
 

johnspack

Here For Good!
Supporter
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,451 (1.26/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1680v2 Xeon
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB, EVO 860 500GB
Display(s) 24" LG 24GL600F 144HZ, 23" Asus VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky One 2 RGB
Software Kubuntu 19.04
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Man, why are our ping rates so high here... I get lowest pinging a server in the next province over:
 
Top