• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1st Timer NAS setup - Any Suggestions?

System Name No Clue
Processor i7-6700k OC-4.59Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z-170 Gaming Titanium Edition
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory 32Gb G-SKill Ripjaws V Series DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980ti G1
Storage SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 256GB / Seagate 1tb
Display(s) 34" Ultrawide 21:9 Dell U3415H
Case NZXT H440
Power Supply Corsair RM850X 80PLUS GOLD
Mouse Wireless Dell Mouse
Keyboard Corsiar Strafe RGB MX Silent
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 16,754
So within the next month or so I will be moving into my new house. For the first 6 months or so it will just be me until I get married to my awesome girlfriend. Anyways, I'm wanting to setup NAS. I've done a little research into it, but being that I have no hands on experience with it, I cant decide on what setup i should get. I will also be getting a new router too. Any suggestions or recommendations on what I should get? Luckily, I don't have a specific budget I'm sticking too, but I obviously don't want it to cost more than my house(which wouldn't be hard).

System Name Gaming Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard asus rog alpha
Cooling H110i
Memory Corsair Dominator 16gb DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage EVO 840 500gb, EVO 850 500gb, Perc 710 Raid WD RED 4tbx4
Case Corsair 500r
Power Supply Antec 850
Mouse Logitec G502
Keyboard a cheap dell
how much storage are you needing on the nas?
does it need to be independent of your main desktop?

System Name No Clue
Cooling Corsair H115i
Case NZXT H440
Software Windows 10
how much storage are you needing on the nas?
does it need to be independent of your main desktop?
I would guess 2Tb+ and I would prefer it to be separate but don't have a good reason as to why. I'm open to any suggestions

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
System Name All the cores
Processor 2990WX
Motherboard Asrock X399M