• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1usmus Power Plan for AMD Ryzen - New Developments

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,870 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Two weeks ago, we released the 1usmus Power Plan for AMD Ryzen processors, which received a ton of attention. Both Microsoft and AMD got involved, releasing fixes on their own. Today, we're taking a look at the improvements these patches bring, and also got a new version of the power plan for you to download.

Show full review
 
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
456 (0.15/day)
System Name Smooth-Operator
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800x
Motherboard Asrock x570 Taichi
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x16GB 3200MHz CL16 DDR4
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB NITRO+
Storage JBOD: 2+1+1TB 7200RPM HDD
Display(s) Samsung S24E370DL 24" IPS Freesync 75Hz
Case Fractal Design Focus G Window Blue
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe x1
Power Supply Corsair HX850 80+ Platinum
Mouse Gigabyte Aorus M3
Keyboard Zalman ZM-K300M
Software Windows 10 x64 Enterprise/Ubuntu Budgie amd64
Kinda related story of mine: recently i did clean install of windows 10 1909 and in comparison to 1903 i'm getting better performance and smoother frametimes in games. Unfortunately before update/reinstall i didn't think i could get such noticeable changes so i can't give you specific numbers. If i remember correctly fps values from 1903 then in some games fps gains are about 10% (this is not exact value so do not quote me on that), all that on regular ryzen balanced power plan. I would like to see any website or youtube channel to perform proper tests and post results.

All that on 3800x with asrock x570 taichi and 2x16GB 3200MHz memory, radeon rx580 8GB nitro+.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
590 (0.16/day)
System Name Fistborkus
Processor R5 1600 3850MHz
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING K5
Cooling TPC-612
Memory RipjawsV 3333CL14
Video Card(s) RX 570 4GB 1435/2100
Storage VPN100 NVMe
Display(s) Samsung UE590
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z623
Power Supply LEADEX II
Mouse Logi
Keyboard Logi
Software 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores See HWBOT
Keep up the good work!
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
362 (0.45/day)
Location
France
Processor RYZEN 5 1600
Motherboard ROG STRIX B450-i
Cooling NOCTUA NH-L9 + 3 NF-F12
Memory CORSAIR VENGEANCE LPX 2x8 GB 3600Mhz ( running at 3200 )
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX 1080Ti OC
Storage SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
Display(s) SAMSUNG U28D590D 4K 28''
Case NODE 202
Power Supply CORSAIR SF600
Mouse Logitech G203 Prodigy
Keyboard Ajazz ak33
Maybe the reason AMD didn't provide 3950X sample to Yuri is because he is doing a better job than their engineers FOR FREE ..... jokes aside keep up the outstanding work man !
 

MKRonin

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2018
Messages
13 (0.03/day)
Could you update the article to explicitly state which CPU(s) you used during your testing? I'm assuming it was a 3900X.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
What exactly in the registry is being changed to the CPU Power Scheme?
 

jamexman

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
5 (0.24/day)
If we have version 1.0 installed, can we just install this new version over it? Or do we have to uninstall the older one first? If so, how do we uninstall it?

Edit: Nevermind, found out how to delete the old one.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
3,215 (1.63/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
S and firmware vendors are as of late changing things far too often with too little documentation.
Sadly this has been a known issue for years. Those that did any BIOS modding had to rely on forums to figure out what been changed.
 

jamexman

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
5 (0.24/day)
Amazing. I just installed it and now I have two cores back boosting to 4616 Mhz on my 3900x (and yes, they are the two best cores!). On AMD's Ryzen balanced they would never boost past 4550 mhz on Agesa 1.0.0.4B (they did to 4625 Mhz back with Agesa 1.0.0.3 ABBA, so I don't know what AMD messed up with on 1.0.0.4 B...).

Thanks 1usmus!
 

1usmus

AMD Memory Guru
Joined
Jul 28, 2018
Messages
55 (0.11/day)
Location
Ukraine
What exactly in the registry is being changed to the CPU Power Scheme?
Thread planning policy used for short-term threads in heterogeneous systems has been changed. Also we force scheduler to use the best cores (if possible) .
By default, the auto option is enabled there. That is, windows may use the best cores, or it may not.
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,870 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Maybe the reason AMD didn't provide 3950X sample to Yuri is because he is doing a better job than their engineers FOR FREE ..... jokes aside keep up the outstanding work man !
AMD didn't give me a sample for CPU review. Yuri is completely separate both geographically and logistically
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2014
Messages
670 (0.36/day)
Hate to be a drag but:
echo - Use "1usmus Ryzen Power Plan", if you have a Zen 2 processor, runnning Windows 10 May 2019, Oct 2018, and earlier.
echo - Use "1usmus Ryzen Universal", with any processor running Windows 10 Nov 2019 Update or later.
Which one to use with a 3900X on a fully up to date 1903?
 

Tahna

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
8 (0.38/day)
Hoping to get some help here. I can't get my 3900x to a speed over 4262 Mhz on my best single core stress, and around 4040 Mhz on all cores. I'm using CPUZ to stress the CPU (maybe i need to use something else?). Like anyone else, I just want to get the best out of my 3900x. Normal use temp (< 10% usage) is around 50 C.

What else can I do, and am I missing something?

Setup/Settings:
  • Ryzen 3900x - haven't touched OC settings outside of the 1usmus instructions, or Ryzen Master settings.
  • x570 Auros Elite mobo
  • 32GB (3200mhz Elite XMP profile) Corsair vengeance RAM
  • Windows Build 10.0.18362 Build 18362
  • F10c BIOS from Gigabyte website
  • 1.09.27.1033 chipset drivers,
  • 1usmus 1.1 power settings and bios settings to match. I know for sure I got the following BIOS settings: Global C-state Control, Low Current Idle, and CPPC Preferred Cores to Enabled, and I set PPT to 0 ( I couldnt find PPC).

1574197810268.png
1574197819406.png


Stressing all cores in following SS:
1574197873514.png
 

jamexman

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
5 (0.24/day)
Hoping to get some help here. I can't get my 3900x to a speed over 4262 Mhz on my best single core stress, and around 4040 Mhz on all cores. I'm using CPUZ to stress the CPU (maybe i need to use something else?). Like anyone else, I just want to get the best out of my 3900x. Normal use temp (< 10% usage) is around 50 C.

What else can I do, and am I missing something?

Setup/Settings:
  • Ryzen 3900x - haven't touched OC settings outside of the 1usmus instructions, or Ryzen Master settings.
  • x570 Auros Elite mobo
  • 32GB (3200mhz Elite XMP profile) Corsair vengeance RAM
  • Windows Build 10.0.18362 Build 18362
  • F10c BIOS from Gigabyte website
  • 1.09.27.1033 chipset drivers,
  • 1usmus 1.1 power settings and bios settings to match. I know for sure I got the following BIOS settings: Global C-state Control, Low Current Idle, and CPPC Preferred Cores to Enabled, and I set PPT to 0 ( I couldnt find PPC).

View attachment 137017View attachment 137018

Stressing all cores in following SS: View attachment 137019
Yo be honest, I’ve never seen Ryzen master boost up to 4600mhz, I don’t think it shows real clocks but a rolling average... you should try monitoring clocks with hwinfo64; that’s the I le app ive ever seen the max boats to 4.6+ Ghz on my 3900x.
 

1usmus

AMD Memory Guru
Joined
Jul 28, 2018
Messages
55 (0.11/day)
Location
Ukraine
Hoping to get some help here. I can't get my 3900x to a speed over 4262 Mhz on my best single core stress, and around 4040 Mhz on all cores. I'm using CPUZ to stress the CPU (maybe i need to use something else?). Like anyone else, I just want to get the best out of my 3900x. Normal use temp (< 10% usage) is around 50 C.

What else can I do, and am I missing something?

Setup/Settings:
  • Ryzen 3900x - haven't touched OC settings outside of the 1usmus instructions, or Ryzen Master settings.
  • x570 Auros Elite mobo
  • 32GB (3200mhz Elite XMP profile) Corsair vengeance RAM
  • Windows Build 10.0.18362 Build 18362
  • F10c BIOS from Gigabyte website
  • 1.09.27.1033 chipset drivers,
  • 1usmus 1.1 power settings and bios settings to match. I know for sure I got the following BIOS settings: Global C-state Control, Low Current Idle, and CPPC Preferred Cores to Enabled, and I set PPT to 0 ( I couldnt find PPC).

View attachment 137017View attachment 137018

Stressing all cores in following SS: View attachment 137019
You have PBO enabled, this may be a problem. On stock, problem also observed?
Which core does system use in the CB15 single thread?
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2012
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Processor AMD R5 3600
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling custom water (240+280 rads) EK cpu and gpu blocks
Memory Corsair Vengeance pro 3600
Video Card(s) rx vega 64
Storage Samsung 850 evo 500g,
Display(s) Benq Zowie XL 2730
Case Phanteks Eclipse p600s
Power Supply CORSAIR HX1000,
Mouse Zowie EC1-b, Glorias model-O
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software WINDOWS 10, 64BIT
what is the power supply low current idle setting about? and is this related to and apply to psu hardware?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
33 (0.02/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-core, 24-Thread Unlocked Desktop Processor
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 AORUS XTREME AMD Ryzen 3000 PCIe 4.0 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.2 AMD X570 E-ATX Motherboard
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB PLATINUM AIO Liquid CPU Cooler,280mm,Dual ML140 PRO RGB PWM Fans,Intel 115x/2066,A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 64GB (4x16GB) DDR4 3600 (PC4-28800) C18 1.35V Desktop Memory
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2080 TI GAMING X TRIO Video Card
Storage Samsung SSD 970 PRO 512GB, Samsung SSD 860 EVO 4TB, 2x12TB Seagate IronWolf Pro, 2x10TB WD Red, 6TB
Display(s) ASUS VW266H Black LCD 25.5" 2ms
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro TG PH-ES614PTG_BK
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1000 Titanium SSR-1000TR 1000W 80+ Titanium Full Modular
Mouse Logitech G603 LIGHTSPEED Wireless Gaming Mouse - 12,000 DPI
Keyboard Corsair Gaming K70 RGB RAPIDFIRE Mechanical Keyboard, Backlit RGB LED, Cherry MX Speed RGB
Software Windows 10 Build 1903
You have PBO enabled, this may be a problem.
I have a similar spec'd machine and I'm curious what the PBO setting should be set to as well. I too cannot boost passed 4.2Ghz with the power profile, and my temps hover in the mid-40s under 10% load with my AIO Corsair H115 Platinum for cooling.
  • Ryzen 3900x - haven't touched OC settings outside of the 1usmus instructions, or Ryzen Master settings.
  • x570 Auros Extreme Mobo
  • 64GB (3600mhz XMP profile) Corsair RAM
  • Windows Build 1903
  • F10c BIOS from Gigabyte website
  • Corsair H115 Platinum AIO
  • 1.09.27.1033 chipset drivers,
  • 1usmus 1.1 power settings and bios settings to match. I know for sure I got the following BIOS settings: Global C-state Control, Low Current Idle, and CPPC Preferred Cores to Enabled - I also couldnt find PPC).
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
2,258 (0.42/day)
Location
United Kingdom
Thanks for all your hard work @1usmus - while I can't benefit from it, it's evident that your thorough and exhaustive testing has lit a fire under the collective a**es of AMD and Microsoft and the motherboard manufacturers, and that's made things better fro a lot of people. I don't understand why AMD hasn't hired you yet...
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
846 (0.26/day)
On Ryzen Univeral power plan, this thing constantly keeps the CPU core voltage at around 1.45V. Even in 2129Mhz. This is bullshit.

Even the balanced plan of windows itself nicely puts the CPU into 0.890mv instead of 1.45v. Are you kidding me? If you make a power plan please test it properly and dont cram this up your system without monitoring it's abilitys. Ryzens are proned to suffer from degradation fast and having it in idle on 1.45V / 2129Mhz (CPU-Z, Ryzen 2700X) is just asking for problems.

Windows balanced is proper enough for me.
 

Tahna

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
8 (0.38/day)
You have PBO enabled, this may be a problem. On stock, problem also observed?
Which core does system use in the CB15 single thread?
Thanks for the response! I'll try with disabling the PBO, I must have enabled that in the BIOS.

I just ran Cinebench 15 single core (got 194 pts), and it primarily ran on C 02, with some bouncing to C 01. The highest C 01 got was 4278 and C 02 with 4282.
1574223350159.png
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
36 (0.24/day)
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock X570 Taichi
Cooling Kraken X62
Memory Gskill Royal Silver 15-16-16-16 @3733
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Strix OC
Storage NVME Samsung Evo 970 Plus 2 TB, Samsung Evo 860 4 TB
Display(s) LG 4K
Case Thermaltake View 71 RGB
Power Supply EVGA 850G+
Mouse Steel Series Sensei 10
Keyboard Steel Series Apex 150
Software Win 10
I keep getting this error, not sure why though.

"Please extract all files from the downloaded .zip archive, not just install.bat"
Press any key to continue . . .

Yes ive unzipped all of the files to a separate desktop folder, and on the desktop itself, no joy.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
846 (0.26/day)
I keep getting this error, not sure why though.

"Please extract all files from the downloaded .zip archive, not just install.bat"
Press any key to continue . . .
Put all files in a folder and execute from that folder, not from a zip.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
36 (0.24/day)
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock X570 Taichi
Cooling Kraken X62
Memory Gskill Royal Silver 15-16-16-16 @3733
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Strix OC
Storage NVME Samsung Evo 970 Plus 2 TB, Samsung Evo 860 4 TB
Display(s) LG 4K
Case Thermaltake View 71 RGB
Power Supply EVGA 850G+
Mouse Steel Series Sensei 10
Keyboard Steel Series Apex 150
Software Win 10
Put all files in a folder and execute from that folder, not from a zip.
Did that, still same message, and all 3 files are there, wonder if its something else, very strange. Nothing in the bit-defender logs, weird.

Ok even stranger, went back to the original folder i unzipped to, and it worked. Thanks for the help though, now to test a bit.
 

Tahna

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
8 (0.38/day)
So I've switched to Hwinfo for monitoring my speeds and i'm getting closer to the 4.6 than I thought. Still nothing over 4466 Mhz with my 3900x though. I've tried with PBO both on and off (doesn't make a difference). This seems pretty good but really I'm not sure what to expect tbh.

1574228698293.png
 

Attachments

Top