• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2 3870's in Xfire or X2?

2 HD3870's or 1 HD3870X2


  • Total voters
    39
  • Poll closed .
Status
Not open for further replies.

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,121
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#1
Help me decide people!:)
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.50/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#2
i say grab the x2 ddr4 because:

-less space, power, heat, etc.
-only takes one slot --> ability to expand to quad fire, whereas you might not have a quad x16 board.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,121
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#3
X2 DDR4 isn't released yet. I'm making the purchase tonight.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#4
Hate to say it, 3870x2. For same reasons as above!

EDIT: Even if it isn't DDR4.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.50/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#5
get the x2 even if it isn't the new one..

though i've heard the new one is gddr4 & pci 2.0
 

Bytor

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
1,051 (0.27/day)
Likes
105
System Name "The Dark Spider"
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 @ 3.0
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T
Cooling Water: CPU and GPU's, 2 pumps, 2 BIX Rads, D-Tek Fuzion v1, 2 Swiftech MCW60
Memory 4 gigs Crucial Balistix Tracers (1066 @ 1256)
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870x2
Storage WD SATA 640 Gig HDD
Display(s) Acer 24" beast...
Case Modded Rocketfish
Audio Device(s) Onboard (only use head phones)
Power Supply 700 watt
Software a bunch
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06: 9859 on 2-X1950 pro's Xfire 3D Mark 06: 12794 on 1-3870 3D Mark 06: 16484 Xfire
#6
A pair of 3870's..
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,121
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#7

Bytor

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
1,051 (0.27/day)
Likes
105
System Name "The Dark Spider"
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 @ 3.0
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T
Cooling Water: CPU and GPU's, 2 pumps, 2 BIX Rads, D-Tek Fuzion v1, 2 Swiftech MCW60
Memory 4 gigs Crucial Balistix Tracers (1066 @ 1256)
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870x2
Storage WD SATA 640 Gig HDD
Display(s) Acer 24" beast...
Case Modded Rocketfish
Audio Device(s) Onboard (only use head phones)
Power Supply 700 watt
Software a bunch
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06: 9859 on 2-X1950 pro's Xfire 3D Mark 06: 12794 on 1-3870 3D Mark 06: 16484 Xfire
#8
Mainly GDDR4, and they clock up well. I would like to see more bench's on them. Mainly bench's on AMD rigs since thats what I'm using. I would like to see if one X2 runs better than my pair of 3870's. A pair of X2's would be nice, but that would only work in Vista and I have no plan's on moving to vista.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.50/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#9
trying to find some benchies of x2 vs CF
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.50/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap

Sh00t1st

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
371 (0.08/day)
Likes
25
Location
Austin,Texas
System Name Battlefield 3
Processor Phenom II x3 715 heka unlocked to x4 3.3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE ga-ma785g-ud3h
Cooling arctic cooling freezer 64 pro
Memory 4 gig ddr2
Video Card(s) saphire 5770
Storage 60gb mushkin ssd,120 and 160 gig ide
Display(s) 1 19" crt, 2 17" crt
Case 30 dollar gaming case with fan grills removed
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 450 corsair
Software windows 7
Benchmark Scores Plays battlefield 3 well enough that i was ranked 1st globally in vehicles for november and december
#11
i would say look up reviews of the two cards, in here or in other websites :p, try to find one with the same motherboard as your using, its what i do when i look for hardware, kinda gives you an idea of what its going to do performance wise.
that being said, the x2 unless you can find 2 3870's for cheaper than the x2, if you can than i would go with that, seeing as its not 2 video cards sharing 1 16x buss like the x2 would be if you bought it, i would think you could net better bandwidth/performance with the 2 3870's seeing as you would have 32 pcie lanes instead of just one 16 lane for the x2.
i might be totaly wrong but its my opinion and i think the logic is somewhat sound who knows tho :). :roll:
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
1,925 (0.48/day)
Likes
274
Processor Intel C2D E8500 @ 4.25GHz (1.36V)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6
Cooling (Temporary) Tuniq Tower 120
Memory 2GB Transcend aXeram 1200+
Video Card(s) HIS HD3870 CF Volt modded
Storage 3 Seagate 320Gb Barracuda in an Intel Matrix Raid array
Display(s) Sony GDM-FW900 24" Widescreen CRT (a.k.a "The Shiznotch")
Case Ultra Aluminus Full Tower
Audio Device(s) onboard Intel HD audio
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750
Software XP MCE + Vista (HP) dual-boot
#12
Crossfire two cards.

I'm hard-pressed to explain why, but I am still a little dubious about the X2.

Just like the "luck of the draw" on CPUs, no two chips clock the same. You will be "locked" into the speed of the lesser chip. Althought the arbiter PLX chip seems to do a good job at linking the cards, I like to be able to mix and match.

Again, the downside is two slots (or more) are covered.

Just me though...
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,121
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#13
I'm leaning towards two HIS 3870's. (yeah, I know about the aluminum, but it works great with the heatpipe) Two of them are cheaper, plus I have a spider platform besides my Maximus that I could throw both of them in plus my 3850! But keep the comments coming, I figure I'll make the purchase in an hour.


*Dr. Spankenstien, if I do get two cards, you'll help me get em workin.. right!?:D
 

Sh00t1st

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
371 (0.08/day)
Likes
25
Location
Austin,Texas
System Name Battlefield 3
Processor Phenom II x3 715 heka unlocked to x4 3.3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE ga-ma785g-ud3h
Cooling arctic cooling freezer 64 pro
Memory 4 gig ddr2
Video Card(s) saphire 5770
Storage 60gb mushkin ssd,120 and 160 gig ide
Display(s) 1 19" crt, 2 17" crt
Case 30 dollar gaming case with fan grills removed
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 450 corsair
Software windows 7
Benchmark Scores Plays battlefield 3 well enough that i was ranked 1st globally in vehicles for november and december
#14
HIS isn't really a bad brand its just people don't see them as being mainstream i guess, so they tend to shy away from them. me on the other hand, ive owned saphire and HIS, i like them both. and from what ive seen the aluminum doesnt hinder it, and it releaves the stress of weight that the copper coolers put on the cards. you have a link to the site your using hehe, i wana see them :)
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,121
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#15
HIS isn't really a bad brand its just people don't see them as being mainstream i guess, so they tend to shy away from them. me on the other hand, ive owned saphire and HIS, i like them both. and from what ive seen the aluminum doesnt hinder it, and it releaves the stress of weight that the copper coolers put on the cards. you have a link to the site your using hehe, i wana see them :)
Absolutely!:) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161218

I still own a HIS x1950pro with basically the same cooler. Plus blue really goes nice with my case.:D
 

Bytor

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
1,051 (0.27/day)
Likes
105
System Name "The Dark Spider"
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 @ 3.0
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T
Cooling Water: CPU and GPU's, 2 pumps, 2 BIX Rads, D-Tek Fuzion v1, 2 Swiftech MCW60
Memory 4 gigs Crucial Balistix Tracers (1066 @ 1256)
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870x2
Storage WD SATA 640 Gig HDD
Display(s) Acer 24" beast...
Case Modded Rocketfish
Audio Device(s) Onboard (only use head phones)
Power Supply 700 watt
Software a bunch
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06: 9859 on 2-X1950 pro's Xfire 3D Mark 06: 12794 on 1-3870 3D Mark 06: 16484 Xfire
#16
My pair of Vistiontek 3870's clock pretty much the same, but I have found that one card does take a little more clock speed than the other. With that said I can clock each card to the settings that I want at any given time. I have never used a x2, but I do think you clock them both together. If I'm wrong on that please let me know.

I have looked around and was even tempted at buying a x2 just to test with, but what a purchase just to test eh...
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
1,925 (0.48/day)
Likes
274
Processor Intel C2D E8500 @ 4.25GHz (1.36V)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6
Cooling (Temporary) Tuniq Tower 120
Memory 2GB Transcend aXeram 1200+
Video Card(s) HIS HD3870 CF Volt modded
Storage 3 Seagate 320Gb Barracuda in an Intel Matrix Raid array
Display(s) Sony GDM-FW900 24" Widescreen CRT (a.k.a "The Shiznotch")
Case Ultra Aluminus Full Tower
Audio Device(s) onboard Intel HD audio
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750
Software XP MCE + Vista (HP) dual-boot
#17
I'm leaning towards two HIS 3870's. (yeah, I know about the aluminum, but it works great with the heatpipe) Two of them are cheaper, plus I have a spider platform besides my Maximus that I could throw both of them in plus my 3850! But keep the comments coming, I figure I'll make the purchase in an hour.


*Dr. Spankenstien, if I do get two cards, you'll help me get em workin.. right!?:D

You KNOW I will! :toast:

You bring up a good point to consider: You have multiple platforms that could utilize single or multi-gpu. For me, it seems more logical (for you) to go with the two card route.

Plus, people that only have one rig and no backup graphics card could benifit from this arrangement also.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,121
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#18
Alright 2 HIS 3870's it is!:D
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
1,925 (0.48/day)
Likes
274
Processor Intel C2D E8500 @ 4.25GHz (1.36V)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6
Cooling (Temporary) Tuniq Tower 120
Memory 2GB Transcend aXeram 1200+
Video Card(s) HIS HD3870 CF Volt modded
Storage 3 Seagate 320Gb Barracuda in an Intel Matrix Raid array
Display(s) Sony GDM-FW900 24" Widescreen CRT (a.k.a "The Shiznotch")
Case Ultra Aluminus Full Tower
Audio Device(s) onboard Intel HD audio
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750
Software XP MCE + Vista (HP) dual-boot
#19
Methinks you made the right choice!

Another thing, I think you'll have and easier time selling them off when you want to pick up your R700 card!

You are gonna be pretty happy with your results!

BTW, if you need to "make way" for that Phenom, I'll gladly take that E8400 off your hands!
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.55/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#20
2 3870's

the HD3870X2 is more like 2 overclocked 3850's on one chip since it uses DDR3 vs the 3870's DDR4.

so the 3870's all the way
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,121
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#21
Methinks you made the right choice!

Another thing, I think you'll have and easier time selling them off when you want to pick up your R700 card!

You are gonna be pretty happy with your results!

BTW, if you need to "make way" for that Phenom, I'll gladly take that E8400 off your hands!
No, no 2 systems for me! Mabye I can start running Phenom dedicated server for TPU gaming! :D
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (1.99/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#22
i don't know if you purchased them or not but i would go 2 x 3870's

if one fails you got another, if one x2 fails ya got nothing.

they perform almost the same so i again say 3870's
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
1,925 (0.48/day)
Likes
274
Processor Intel C2D E8500 @ 4.25GHz (1.36V)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6
Cooling (Temporary) Tuniq Tower 120
Memory 2GB Transcend aXeram 1200+
Video Card(s) HIS HD3870 CF Volt modded
Storage 3 Seagate 320Gb Barracuda in an Intel Matrix Raid array
Display(s) Sony GDM-FW900 24" Widescreen CRT (a.k.a "The Shiznotch")
Case Ultra Aluminus Full Tower
Audio Device(s) onboard Intel HD audio
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750
Software XP MCE + Vista (HP) dual-boot
#23
That's using the old noodle!!!

I'm pretty sure that is the route he's going.

G/L, man!
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,121
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#24
I've got 2 HIS HD 3870's on the way!:rockout:
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (1.99/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#25
i want to see your results in my 3k thread erocker! no exceptions
 
Status
Not open for further replies.