1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2.8GHz celeron to 1.8Ghz pentium-m upgrade or downgrade?!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by stupidbiznitch9, May 23, 2008.

  1. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Ok, so i had this hp pavilion ze5730us and it had this 2.8Ghz celeron with 128kb L2 cache, 8kb(i think) L1 cahce, to a pentium 4 mobile 1.8Ghz processor with 512kb L2 cache, and 32kb L1 cache, the temps are a little high, b/c the celeron had a metal mini-sink built-on to the proc, so i used artic silver adhesive and a piece of metal to offset the hieght, and it runs 45C idle and 70C full CPU, i need to add some goop in between the heatsink and the self-made mini sink and i think that will lower my temps, but my main question is did i upgrade after all this or downgrade, the computer itself seems more responsive, but battery life wasn't affected still only delivering 40 min of battery (old, needs replacing anyways...)



    EDIT: will add photos on request, and i did not check the temps of the celeron, but the air coming from the fan was hotter before the swap.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,405 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,082
    Location:
    Ohio
    The temps are fine for laptops. IMO I wouldn't give up a GHz for a little more cache...

    I would overclock the P4 if it was me. You need to use software overclocking though, I don't think there are even any laptops in existance with an overclockable BIOS.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    even though its from a celeron to a pentium 4, you must agree that the p4 is better then a celeron tho, and it is a BIG jump however from 2.8Ghz to 1.8Ghz, i see your point.....

    A DEBACLE!!

    P.S. its not a little more its 4X the cache....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,922 (5.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,104
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Yeah, I don't think the extra cache will make up for the 1GHz speed loss.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,405 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,082
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah a Pentium 4 is much stronger than a Celeron 4. Its kind of like having two trucks that run slightly under half the speed of a different single truck... which one gets more work done?

    The two trucks are too slow. You might want to upgrade the engine... AKA overclock that sumbitch!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    but which to OC???
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,947 (9.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,514
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    suprisingly the P4 is faster. Laptop chips arent the same as desktops, laptop chips were what the core architecture was based on.

    For a simple test, compare the two with superpi
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,405 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,082
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you want to oc, use the P4 and overclock it since it has a stronger arcitecture. However you could also overclock the celeron...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,947 (9.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,514
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    oh and yes, do what you can to lower the temps before OCing. Superpi is still your best bet to compare them... that may be hard if you've already swapped them over, however.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,922 (5.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,104
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    That isn't true, the old Pentium 4 Mobile and Celeron Mobile were netburst based, just like their desktop counterparts. From the sounds of it he has netburst based processors, not core based processors.

    He mentioned the Pentium-M in his title, but that isn't actually what he has. He actually has a Pentium 4 Mobile, which is netburst based, and very weak by todays standards.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ok thanx all, will get some goop and hopefully that will lower my temps about 10C, because there isn't any on there right now, lol, a little left over from before :p THNX!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,947 (9.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,514
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    Ok, because he said pentium M, i assumed it was the newer kind. superpi is still the best way to see which is faster, and 4x the cache definately makes a difference
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    what do you think my limitations are as of upgrading?!??
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,405 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,082
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hmm... you might not have to, actually. There might be some pin mods for voltage.
    If you buy a faster chip, it's just the same thing you have with different numbers stamped on the core really... just with a higher multi and a higher voltage to feed the MHz/GHz :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, how do i do that 0.0!?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,947 (9.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,514
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    pin/pad mods are done to the CPU, you can use conductive paint on the pin-less chips (such as socket 775) or you can use thin wire wrapped between the pins on older models (such as 478)

    Generally there is a mild risk there, as mistakes can fry a chip - and if you OC via that method, you need to know the board and CPU can take it.

    Using my CPU as an example
    266MHz (FSB) x9 (multiplier) = 2.4GHz

    There is a pin mod to go to 333Mhz FSB
    333x9 = 3Ghz

    The trick is, the motherboard needs to support that FSB, and the CPU needs to overclock to that ON STOCK VOLTAGE.
    If you want higher volts you need a seperate vold mod - but those tend to be drastic (most pin Vmods i've seen required rather good cooling as the voltages went up high or not at all, and a laptop is not the place to mess with that)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i dont want to volt mod here, but if i wanted to buy a CPU for upgrade,what do you think the max is for this lappy?!


    it uses the older 478 socket proc...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    and a question....70C is really a normal temp for older p4 laptops~!!??!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. P4-630

    P4-630 The Way It's Meant to be Played

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8,469 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,105
    Location:
    Vinewood
    I used to have a NEC laptop once...

    It came with a mobile intel celeron 2.8..
    After about 2 years or so I had overheating problems with the mobile celeron, it would run up to 80 degrees and it would shut down obviously.


    ALso I had a thermal pad between the sink and die of the cpu, that sucked a bit because actually you can't re-use that piece of thermal foil, but I did that with some thermal paste and I found a used pentium 4 mobile 1.8 bought it, and it did run for a half year and after that i sold it, it probably still works but someone had to replace that thermal pad sometime..

    For the performance, it was worth it;)
    I would say that the P4 1.8 is faster than an old 2.8 mobile celeron.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    if my mobo limits the FSB to 400mhz, which it probably does, it supports up to a 2.6GHz pentium4m with 512kb cache, u think i should just go for that lol....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,922 (5.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,104
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Yes, that is a normal temperature for older laptops. The old netburst processors cranked out heat like crazy, they should have never been used in laptops.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    heat!? CPU?

    even though these CPU's use netburst andcrank out heat, idk if the CPU or my videocard is cranking out theheat!?, when i started the computer the temp were only 43C, i started 3 different programs (that didn't use the video that mcuh) and my temp stayed around 53C, but when i opened IE and start to scroll... the temps went up 65C!????? so which is producing the heat!? My CPU or MY video card!???
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. stupidbiznitch9 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    245 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ok i slapped some articsilver 5 in and BLAM drop of 10C, lol i think that's pretty good...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,947 (9.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,514
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    the CPU will probably throttle if it gets too hot. Realtemp might show that, and CPUZ should show the clocks slowing down.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)