• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

2 Gigabit LAN through Teaming

Meltdown

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
157 (0.05/day)
Likes
26
Location
West Coast USA
System Name Dads Toy
Processor amd phenom II x4 955 3.9 at 1.45 nb 2320
Motherboard Gigabyte ga-ma790fxt-ud5p
Cooling XIGMATEK Dark Knight-S1283V
Memory micron 2x2g 7-7-7-20 1400
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 4870 X2
Storage 2x seagate 80g raid 0 2x segate 250g raid 0
Display(s) samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER Stacker 830 Evolution
Audio Device(s) creative X-fi 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W
Software XP/W7x86/W7x64
#1
Well i have new Gigabyte board that has this feature and this what they say it will do

(Teaming functionality enabled allows 2 single connections to act as 1 single connection for twice the bandwidth, improving overall throughput with lower CPU utilization.

Prevents network downtime by transferring the workload from a failed port to a working port.

Receive Side Scaling balances the network traffic load evenly between 2 CPU cores in order to improve performance.

Adjusts power consumption automatically according to your LAN cable lengths, up to 10% power savings.)

1 Has any body used this LAN feature ?
2 My thought is if this works this could help in online gaming with lost packets ?
3 do yo need two ip addresses to make this work?

any insight to this feature would welcomed
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,106 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,535
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
teaming wont do shit for gaming.

Its only purpose is to act as a 2Gb network port, which really doesnt help unless people on BOTH ends have RAID arrays to get the speed up.
 

Tau

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
821 (0.21/day)
Likes
92
#3
Well i have new Gigabyte board that has this feature and this what they say it will do

(Teaming functionality enabled allows 2 single connections to act as 1 single connection for twice the bandwidth, improving overall throughput with lower CPU utilization.

Prevents network downtime by transferring the workload from a failed port to a working port.

Receive Side Scaling balances the network traffic load evenly between 2 CPU cores in order to improve performance.

Adjusts power consumption automatically according to your LAN cable lengths, up to 10% power savings.)

1 Has any body used this LAN feature ?
2 My thought is if this works this could help in online gaming with lost packets ?
3 do yo need two ip addresses to make this work?

any insight to this feature would welcomed

You will notice NO change for gaming... considering most modems are 10baseT anyways... or at best 100baseT (docsis3?)

You wont even use up a single gigabit port unless you have a fairly seriouse raid array on each end (one to read the data from, one to write it to) that can sit in the 100MB/s range.

Teaming is mostly used in the server world, or were failover is needed. When one port dies the other picks it up so you have no down time. Also in cases were you need to surpas 1Gb/s transfer (Fileservers) will use multiple Gig NICs, as sometimes there is enough data trnasfer to max one out... with multiple it makes the pipe coming out of the server that much bigger... assuming the drives in the server can supply it that fast.

For you though you will see ZERO change.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Location
South Africa
System Name Caspar.
Processor AMD Athlon 64Bit 4000+ (939).
Motherboard Saphire Pure Innovation PI-A9RX480.
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Cooler + 6 x 120mm CM Case fans.
Memory 2GB Kingmax - DDR 400.
Video Card(s) XFX ATI Radeon HD4650 512MB.
Storage 2X Seagate Baracuda 500GB SATA - II (32MB Cache).
Display(s) Samsung 19" LCD + Samsung 17" LCD.
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590 (Stock for now).
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio.
Power Supply Gigabyte Superb 500W.
Software Windows XP Pro. SP3.
#4
We use this everyday at work.

We team 2 nics into a single public team and set the team up for Network Fault Tolerance and Load balance. Some times, we set the team up for fail over support aswell.

very handy to have a team on a server that needs to handle massive database/backup operations with out losing connection/packets etc.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,052 (0.33/day)
Likes
597
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer/Server
Processor Intel Core i5 4690/AMD FX 8370
Memory 16/16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW/None
Case Fractal Designs/Dell
Power Supply 800w CM/450w Raidmax
Software Windows 10 Pro
#5
You'd also need a managed router am i right? One that supports teaming, which a linksys it aint.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,058 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,122
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
You'd also need a managed router am i right? One that supports teaming, which a linksys it aint.
Depends on what you want to accomplish.

Failover (NIC or switch) and adaptive load balancing are configured solely on the NIC side. While link aggregation (static or dynamic) is configured on the switch as well. There may be more modes, as well as vendor proprietary modes, but those are the common ones.

I have link aggregation for all servers and switch to switch links here at work. Can do up to 8 links in a team, but I only have 2 per server/switch (we're not that big, 40-seat). Though if we consolidate the number of servers here in the near future, we'd up the links as each server is handling more.
 

Meltdown

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
157 (0.05/day)
Likes
26
Location
West Coast USA
System Name Dads Toy
Processor amd phenom II x4 955 3.9 at 1.45 nb 2320
Motherboard Gigabyte ga-ma790fxt-ud5p
Cooling XIGMATEK Dark Knight-S1283V
Memory micron 2x2g 7-7-7-20 1400
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 4870 X2
Storage 2x seagate 80g raid 0 2x segate 250g raid 0
Display(s) samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER Stacker 830 Evolution
Audio Device(s) creative X-fi 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W
Software XP/W7x86/W7x64
#7
Well i do have raid 0 but its not a big array my other thought was one line would be looking for another path sooner when one failed, So guess this is all big hype or the world isn't ready for teaming

My only purpose is gaming so if there is no improvement i don't want to go through the hassles of setting it up for no gains

thanks every one for comments i am always willing to learn thanks again
 

Tau

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
821 (0.21/day)
Likes
92
#8
You'd also need a managed router am i right? One that supports teaming, which a linksys it aint.
Just need a switch that supports teaming. A managed switch just makes routing/vlans easyer to setup/manage.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,106 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,535
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
Well i do have raid 0 but its not a big array my other thought was one line would be looking for another path sooner when one failed, So guess this is all big hype or the world isn't ready for teaming

My only purpose is gaming so if there is no improvement i don't want to go through the hassles of setting it up for no gains

thanks every one for comments i am always willing to learn thanks again
yeah, assuming that path is in the local area. if your ISP goes down for example - hows teaming gunna save you? it cant.

Teaming is *not* for internet use. its for LAN use.