• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

2 or 4 Dimms?

Hugh_Mann

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2007
Messages
23
Likes
0
Location
A London Overspill Town, UK
Processor AMD X2 3800 @ 2.6ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty Expert
Cooling Water
Memory G.Skill 2gb
Video Card(s) ATI Readon X1950XTX
Storage 2x250gb Samsung Spinpoints
Case Silver Stone
Power Supply Hiper 580w
#1
I am looking to get 4gb of ram for my new rig but unsure if im better of going for two 2gb or four 1gb modules.

I remember reading that having four dimms affects the timings and your overclock potential but i am not 100% that is why i am asking.

Also any suggestion as to what i should buy i have been looking at some nice Muskin and G.Skill ram.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,508
Likes
459
Location
Texas
#2
well first of all, are you going with a 64 bit operating system?
if not don't bother with 4 GB it won't be able to see it
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#3
4x1GB should be cheaper but will also lower your memory OC. Not that it matter for A64 since it's not anywhere near being bandwidth bottlenecked. 2x2GB is too expensive IMO, go with 4x1GB value sticks and use a divider.

And as stated already, you'll need a 64bit OS to gain from 3GB+.
 

Hugh_Mann

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2007
Messages
23
Likes
0
Location
A London Overspill Town, UK
Processor AMD X2 3800 @ 2.6ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty Expert
Cooling Water
Memory G.Skill 2gb
Video Card(s) ATI Readon X1950XTX
Storage 2x250gb Samsung Spinpoints
Case Silver Stone
Power Supply Hiper 580w
#4
nflesher87 said:
well first of all, are you going with a 64 bit operating system?
if not don't bother with 4 GB it won't be able to see it
Yes i was going to go 64bit Vista but im not sure if any of the software i use have a 64bit version yet so i might just go with 32bit for now with some high end 2gb modules i can always get 64bit vista and another 2gb at a later date.
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#5
I'm on Vista 64bit atm and preparing to install Vista 32bit as I type.
If you get my drift...
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,936
Likes
5,044
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#6
Some have had good luck with Vista x64, I personally use x32. I guess if they forced us to use Vista x64 by only releasing it, then they could spend more time making it better. I just don't have the patience for messing with it. I'd say get 2x1GB high performance stuff, OC your system (if you have good cooling and decent airflow in your case) and enjoy! But if you must go with x64 you would probably get more OC out of a 2x2gb kit, but you will PAY for it, like stated before a 4x1gb (or 2 kit's of 2x1gb's) would be the cheaper route. It depends on what you want out of your system, if you want to OC far then it's better to only use 2 DIMMS, using 4 DIMMS is not harmful, just requires the power to be spread across 4 DIMMS and can cause more stress while OC-ing. Just kind of depends on your overall goals with your PC for which route you should take, and what route you want to take.

Keep researching and you'll find the decision you do make from it will be the one you're content with! Hope that helps! :toast:
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#7
Also to add what Kursah stated, 2x2GB kit may give you better performance due to being able to go into dual channel mode. Hope this helps!
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#9
You can do that with newer 4 dimm boards? ... Now there is something new I learned ... oh well I take back that statement, do not listen to me. :roll: Can I get a "your an idiot" sig made?
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,936
Likes
5,044
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#11
Yeah. 4 Dimms uses 2xDual Channel Modes where-as appropriately placed 2x1 Dimms is 1xDual Channel Mode or something along those lines from my understanding. Either way if he goes 2 or 4 sticks, dual channel is guarenteed with modern technology (hell my old AS8-v 775 board could do dual channel with 4 DIMMS if I recall, it was 865 based). The main questions at hand Hugh needs to answer are:

What kind of a budget do I have set for this choice?
What do I expect out of what I purchase?
What will I be using this ammount of memory for?
Will I be using x64 or x32?
Do I plan to OC some or do I want to OC higher?

Answering those and researching will net him a good decision. That and the helpful folks at TPU of course! :toast:
 

Hugh_Mann

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2007
Messages
23
Likes
0
Location
A London Overspill Town, UK
Processor AMD X2 3800 @ 2.6ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty Expert
Cooling Water
Memory G.Skill 2gb
Video Card(s) ATI Readon X1950XTX
Storage 2x250gb Samsung Spinpoints
Case Silver Stone
Power Supply Hiper 580w
#12
I would like thank you all for your kind help, I have decided to stick with a x32 system there is not enough x64 support for what i intend to use the pc for.

At the moment i am still looking at which board to get but i have decided on the ram a nice set of 2gb Mushkin, if i go x64 at a later date i can always add some more.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,936
Likes
5,044
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#13
I would like thank you all for your kind help, I have decided to stick with a x32 system there is not enough x64 support for what i intend to use the pc for.

At the moment i am still looking at which board to get but i have decided on the ram a nice set of 2gb Mushkin, if i go x64 at a later date i can always add some more.
I think you made a good decision and that you'll be happy with it! Keep us posted on your build and of course, if ya need help, let us know! That's what we're here for! :toast:
 

Ehstii

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2007
Messages
607
Likes
33
Location
The Shore, New Jersey
System Name Betty
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz @ 3.16(weak i know, waiting on better HSF)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA69G-S3H AM2 690G HDMI
Cooling Standard heatsink
Memory A-DATA 2GB(2x1GB dual channel) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 7900GS 256MB
Storage 2x250GB Seagate SataII, 2x250GB Maxtor SataII, 1x120GB Maxtor SataII
Display(s) 22" Widescreen Acer LCD Flat Panel Monitor
Case AMS CF-6129BKS Black w/Silver bezel Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) OB
Power Supply Rosewill RP550-2-S ATX12V v2.01 550W Power Supply
Software Windows XP SP2, Adobe Master Collection CS3, WoW, COD4, Cubase LE, Office 2007, Bit Comet, & more...
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 4710
#14
dual channel.
 
B

bassmasta

Guest
#15
>.> i have two pc's running vista 32 using 4 gig ram {it's actually very easy to enable}, but it slows down your ram a bit, and increases the chances of damaging it, although I don't remember exactly what kind of damage that was supposed to be...