1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2 short beeps then 1 long beep on start up

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by loganistik, Apr 15, 2008.

  1. loganistik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok heres the thing this has happend to me before and i some how fixed the problem by reseating the card a million times in slightly diferent positions. but now its back and worse than ever.

    i looked up the beeps on google but everything i saw was 1 long then 2 short not wat mine is but if mine is that but just reversed for some reason it is a graphic card issue. I know its not a bad card cause like i said i got it working with this problem before and actually played games with it overclocked. but when i was playing a game my screen started to shake and so i turned off my comp and the problem was back.

    ive tried everything people have said in foums but none of it works. ive fiddled with the ram ive reseated it hell i even asked my friend who knows everything about computers and he didnt know. the only thing i havent tried is trying a different computer cause mine is the only one with PCI-E in it

    BTW: if it matters my card is a HD 2600pro 512mb
     
  2. echo75 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    456 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Denmark
    Explanation: The BIOS is unable to access the video system in order to write any error messages to the screen.

    Diagnosis: This is usually caused by a problem with the video card, or the memory on the video card. It can also be a motherboard issue.
     
  3. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,130 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    806
    Location:
    Australia
    Could also be his PSU causing the card to fail
     
  4. loganistik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    if it was my PSU how was it that i was able to play the games before?
     
  5. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,130 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    806
    Location:
    Australia
    You said that this problem has occured before so The PSU might have been "on the way out". And now it is ready to die totally. I could be wrong but Power supplies can play with you like that. It would be worth swapping it with another to troubleshoot the problem. Was the card artifacting at all?
     
  6. loganistik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it might be the PSU but no it was not artifacting at all just the screen was shaking alot. im thinking it might be crappy PCI-E slot cause it worked when i reseated it all those times...just wont do it now
     
  7. loganistik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ill tri my old 300w PSU to see if it stops...
     
  8. loganistik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    just to be sure i took out my 420w PSU and there was ALOT of dust it it would that have anything to do wiht this problem?
     
  9. Duxx Guest

    Sure would. Take one of those canned air compressors and clean it out. Try that before swapping the 300w
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. loganistik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok i tried spraying the 420w and it still does not work im gona tri my 300w see if that does anything
     
  11. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,878 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    Afaik any combination of beeps following 2 short ones means RAM failure. Try to obtain one RAM stick at least to test it out. Don't use your present RAM.
     
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,358 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,914
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. loganistik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok tried the 300w PSU and nothing...man this is starting to get me mad :mad:
     
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,358 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,914
    Pheonix is award....AMI is the other type! If you look to the left at the listing ...it shows numbers for codes on AMI....like the ABIT readouts.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. loganistik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    mines award im pretty sure but even if it was there beep codes not error codes...
     
  16. loganistik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    and i just look at all the computers in my house and none have DDR2 533 the closest is DDR2 333 but im not sure if it will work
     
  17. loganistik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    im open to new suggestions :(
     
  18. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,878 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    I'm 99.9% sure that as long as it's DDR2 and it's not more MHz than the one you have (hence not more than your motherboard supports) you would be safe in testing it out.
     
  19. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,358 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,914
    DDR2 533 is possible...im pretty sure that if its 333MHz its DDR tho!

    Unless we are talking about 1066MHz and 667MHz ram , then they will both be DDR2.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. loganistik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    right srry 333 is DDR it was a typo but ya i guess the next step is to tri my card in another computer huh?
     
  21. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,961 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,755
    Location:
    Ohio
    I thought one long endless beep was memory failure? :wtf:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. loganistik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i like ur pic^

    anyways could like cleaning out the PCI-E slot do anything?
     
  23. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,961 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,755
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you're out of ideas, it's the best thing you can do right now.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. loganistik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok thx, but wat do u suggest cleaning it with lol
     
  25. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,961 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,755
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well it's not like you can take a bottle of super clean to it. The best thing you can do IMO is take a can of air to it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)