1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

24/7 Recommended Phenom II voltages?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Relinquish, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I have an AMD Phenom II X3 710 2.6 processor that I've had for nearly 1 and a half years. Recently I discovered thanks to a new motherboard that a fourth core has been hiding and has now been unlocked. The processor now reports its self as a Phenom II X4 10 processor and I've overclocked it to 3.65Ghz @ 1.54v stable for the past 3 months, a whoping 1ghz overclock! That may not be much for some but I think its good. Temps don't go over 48c:cool: and I'm going underwater soon.

    What I wanted to know is what would be fine max 24/7 voltages?:confused: to get the current clocks the fsb is set at 280*13@1.54v and I want to get the FSB to around 300. 280 was what I got to one day but I got comfortable at 280 and now I've got this new thing of pushing things as far as possible, and I think this baby has mor powa to give! Also at 280 I've had to reduce the RAM/CPU ratio which puts the RAM @1500 instead of 1600(Not that thats a problem! Apparently anything over 1333 is an overclock). IF my maths teacher tought me right pushing it to 300 will give me a 3900Mhz clock and 1600Mhz ram!

    So what do you think, do you have an overclock over 1.55v?
     
  2. DigitalUK

    DigitalUK

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    510 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    UK South
    thats alot of voltage, most people dont go over 1.5 volts on air with the phenom II's
     
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I kept mine under 1.4v for 24/7 usage, highest it ever ran was 1.48v for a brief benching test
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    So would you say that I should leave it or PUSH IT!!?? LOl
     
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,681 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,550
    Location:
    04578
    1.55v cpu 1.45v CPU-NB* regular NB volts can be left stock or pushed up to 1.2 to help with stability keep the CPU under 60'c max load aka run LinX or Intel Burn test, Prime w.e stability test works for you best to try and keep temps under 55'c for best chance of stability so basically 60'c is max load temp stay under that 55'c for an average heavy load aka folding crunching is fine but 60'c is your barrier.

    *this is the voltage needed to get you North Bridge speeds up and increase bandwidth on the L3 cache and helps with memory 1600mhz ram wont do much good as Phenom II prefers low latency aka 1333mhz cl 6 or cl7 is better then just about anything 1600mhz will give unless you manage cl 7 at 1600
     
    Jack Doph and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,687 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,795
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Usually good rule of thumb, as cold as possible and dont go above 1.53v in combination with 55C max load. You are fine with your settings just expect degrading.

    Listen to crazyeyes,he's really good with these chips.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    24,811 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,077
    Location:
    Houston
    AMD spec sheets say up to 1.55v i have run 1.7v as a 24/7 on an old 945BE ES chip it did not appear to suffer from any degradation in the couple of months it ran
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,681 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,550
    Location:
    04578
    1.6-1.65v on a Xigmatek caused degradation on my 940be CD it really depends on the chip went from 4ghz stable to not being able to push past 3400cpu and 2200nb thus why i traded for a 965.
     
  9. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Well If it helps I have 4GB G.Skill RipJaw CL7 ram. 7-8-7-24 timings

    I have set the BIOS to allow 1.55v but it only takes a maximum of 1.536v(1.54 rounded)

    Hmm 1.7v 24/7 and no problems, tempting. Though I wouldn't go over 1.6v.
     
  10. DigitalUK

    DigitalUK

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    510 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    UK South
    wow cant believe you put 1.65volt into a 940 with air (suicide run).
     
  11. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    24,811 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,077
    Location:
    Houston
    mine was an old RB-C1 chip and stayed at 4ghz stable i was also under water with a DD maze4, BIX240 and MCR320 temps never broke 55C
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,681 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,550
    Location:
    04578
    yea water makes the difference you can push higher with water.

    for the record i had the xiggy running dual fan in a haf 932 with 10+ fans and it never broke 60'c the temps were fine just the chip wasnt voltage friendly still she did 4ghz for 4+ months never shut down or turned off etc lol
     
  13. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Location:
    TX
    I agree. The most I have put mine through is 1.45V @ 4.2GHZ, that's a 1090 BE I settled on 1.4V
    and run it 24/7 @ 4.0GHZ 1.4V. With that much Volts I would defiantly watch your temps. Like previous people said don't let them get to much past 60C for a 24/7 usage. crazyeyesreaper knows the best listen to him....:D
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
  14. DigitalUK

    DigitalUK

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    510 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    UK South
    nice job cant believe it lasted that long. i got mine to 3.9 @ 1.5v didnt have the balls to put any more volts in.
     
  15. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    24,811 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,077
    Location:
    Houston
    i do have a degredated phenom 910 OEM it never really saw high volts but spent its life in a really really hot room with ~55-60C load temps which it ran most of its life.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,681 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,550
    Location:
    04578
    yea that would probably be the situation i for me as well my room has high ambients so idle back then was 48c on average from the old Hardware logs i have and load max was 62c when folding, was running a hot ass 4870x2 at the time tho which didnt help the XIggy was sucking hot air off the backplate of the GPU so didnt help much. Eitherway was a good chip just she got ate up

    as of right now tho 965be been using 1.45-1.55v since i got it hasnt had a hiccup yet and ive had it nearly a year.
     
  17. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I like to keep my temps as low as possible, I think I would have a heart attack at 60c let alone 48c idle. I kid I kid but still. My idle is around 36-37. I think what I'll do is leave the 1.55v Bios limit alone and when I start doing water cooling I'll see how far I go. Personally I wouldn't be comfortable over 1.55v.
     
  18. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    ok so now I'm not so sure if my PC is stable. Originally I ran Prime 95 for 20 mins and if it stayed I thought it was stable but after increasing the FSB by 3mhz I got a blue screen after 30 mins and a bit of corrupt sound after putting it back to 280 on start up. Hmm, recomendations? Northbridge?

    I'm running a 980a Sli Chipset by the way
     
  19. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    also temps never went over 52c, temp too much?
     
  20. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I think this is no CPU problem, I've been running this thing just fine for the past few months without hicups. I think the Heat is the culprit. So I'm going with the advice of not going over 55c and I'll see what happens when I go water cooling.
     
  21. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,657 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    London
    Do we have the same motherboard? If so you should know that it's very difficult to get a prime95 stable overclock on this board because of the massive vdroop; last summer I was running my cpu with 1.56v in the bios, under load that voltage drop to 1.48v; now I have 1.50v in the bios which is 1.47v in windows which is 1.42v under load (OCCT, Prime95).
     
  22. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I hope we do because I know exactly what your talking about:roll::rockout::D

    I have a Asus M4N98TD EVO motherboard. Fantastic motherboard but I wasn't sure about the voltage drop. That will put me at ease if we do have the same:p

    Edit: I just checked the specs and we do!!! I have the same problem, at load my voltage is 1.48. So should I reduce it to 1.5 and then if I need more juice increase the voltage?
     
  23. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,563 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Do any of you guys ever play around and see if you can get a higher overclock with less cores? Currently testing my hexi in quad form, running prime as I type this and running at 4.3ghz....I'm hoping :)
     
  24. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Well I'd be the only one here with the unlocked core, hes got a X4 945. Have you got the same motherboard? I also believe its to do with the voltage drop
    Good luck with the overclock!!!
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  25. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Gonna bring back an old tread to ask a question. Are you saying that you're running at the same speed but now you've reduced to 1.5v so that the voltages are lower but still stable? Should I do the same, reason I ask is because I was stable @ 1.537v with voltages going up to 1.536v idle but I increased it to 1.55 in the Bios which made no difference but I think I did that because of prime.

    And about stability, seeing as prime 95 doesn't work do you use OCCT for stability or how do you check?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)